April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny Island Adventure

by AdventureIslands - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Tiny Island Adventure tells us a story about young, girl mechanic Lydia, who once build her house on a floating island, but for her misfortune, it one night suddenly flew to the sky with her and her house on it!

Ever since she has been stuck high in the sky.. until one day another floating island appears next to hers. Lydia decides to explore the new island, in hopes that she could figure how to escape from the tiny floating islands.

Read post-release thoughts:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/04/23/tiny-island-adventure-post-mortem/

---
Controls:

Use Arrow Keys to move, Z to Jump, Up arrow to enter doors.
Enter to advance text or start the game in main menu
P to pause, - and + to adjust sound and 0 to mute.
Esc to skip the intro.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#24Graphics4.29
#57Overall3.79
#75Mood3.48
#131Fun3.40
#160Theme3.55
#162Audio3.16
#308Humor2.48
#623Innovation2.54

Comments

DeathBySnail says ...
Apr 22, 2012 @ 8:50pm

Lovely graphics. The jump feels a little uncontrollable to me however.

ToxicLogic says ...
Apr 22, 2012 @ 9:45pm

Beautiful, and extremely impressive for 48 hours! I really liked how you designed each level, so that you had to take a different path when you went through it backwards.

onefineline says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:00am

Very charming. As the others have said, the graphics are great. That said, the controls are really touchy and unforgiving — especially the jump. Too much gravity. But I really liked it! And I agree that it was fun having to go through the levels via a different route when backtracking.

I'd love to see this explored further. Great job (especially for 48 hours!)

CappaGames says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:41am

Cool game, I played it till the end. The overall mood of this game reminds me of Terraria for some reason.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:53am

Beautiful!

Dzarg says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:49am

Very nice. The controls were ok, but took a bit of time to get used to and I died like 6 times in the first dungeon.

Great job in making such a complete looking game.

MuisYa says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:05pm

The game looks awesome, for 48 hours really beatiful!
For me the controls are working great too. Gravity might be a bit too strong, but better too strong as too weak.

Really awesome!

Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:25pm

Thanks everyone! The post-release thoughts journal entry is available here in case you are interested:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/04/23/tiny-island-adventure-post-mortem/

chocanto says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:52pm

Very nice level design ! :)

Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:07pm

Dem graphics! :O I also liked how you designed the 'dungeons' to be played forward and backward. Really great looking game! ^^
The only thing I could suggest is maybe heighten the friction so you float a little less :3
Oh, and I loved the little islands concept :)

Lotsa says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:51pm

Really well rounded game, I guess charming is the perfect word.

keenblaze says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:54pm

Nice!

marudziik says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:57pm

Awesome graphics. Feels polished and I love the "flying islands" topic. :D

KevinZuhn says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:20pm

Reversible dungeons are neat, there's a lot of good stuff in just a few small areas, and the overworld especially was fun to navigate.
I felt at times that the moving objects were unfair. They ganked me without warning a few times, and their collision boxes seemed unforgiving. They could use some indicator for when they're about to spawn!
Otherwise, though, solid graphics, sounds, and designs!

orgarus says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:20pm

In 48 hours? Awesome!
The worst part maybe is the control of the player, the holes with brown stones and pikes in the middle had kill me thousands times.
Congratulations!

Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:21pm

Love that it's a female main character. Great game. Tough as nails in some parts, but I kept trying and I made it out! Felt really compelled to finish the game just to see her make it off the islands. Beautiful graphics too. Really outstanding work. I was really excited looking at your screen-shots through out the competition and I wasn't let down at all. Thanks for this game.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:55pm

I loved the atmosphere that you created with this game. The visuals are great and the whole adventure tells the story well. My only complaint is that jumping was quite slippery.

deepnight says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:21pm

Wow! Such a long game in such short time :) Very very good job here!
And the sounds are great too, which is rare ;)

galman says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:28pm

Amazing game! The graphics are really charming and the levels are really fun. It's hard to belive that such game can be made in 48 hours :-)

vigrid says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:07pm

Wonderful graphics and well designed levels. I really, really enjoyed your game. The only thing I would change is the entrances to caves - these were not obvious enough - a darker shade of gray would help with these.

the8donut says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:44pm

Charming graphics, very polished and fun game overall. Definitely one of my favorite entries so far! Great job!

ncannasse says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:54pm

I really loved the cute colored graphics !

JaJ says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:55pm

(almost) flawless!

Johnicholas says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:46pm

Lovely graphics and an impressive amount of level design.

Kvisle says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:29pm

A very pretty, complete, fun game. Wouldn't be surprised to find this with a overall and/or graphics medal.

yosh says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:21am

Nice graphics! I think your idea is more or less inspired by Bastion (floating islands, kind of narration describing the main character actions and so on). I would have been nice to do not have to retry at the very beginning of the zone when dying. Good job !

saint11 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:03am

Really polished and complete :) I like it! But the jumps and the lack of checkpoint make the game too hard!

23 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:42am

Nice graphics, and I really like the floating islands as an adventure environment.

Only criticism is I'd agree with others that I wish I had more control over the jump.

free_napalm says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:58pm

Great graphic style, tough gameplay. Took me some time to beat, but I enjoyed it :)

johanp says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:17pm

Really nice and complete entry. Controls were a bit slippery but interesting level design made up for it. Thumbs up!

karnakgames says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:22pm

This kind of comment is almost irrelevant for your game already since everyone is saying this, but amazing graphics and polished game!

Also amazing what Stencyl can do. I think I may consider it for my next jam after what I played here (going with Unity/FlashPunk/etc still requires to focus too much on the programming and not on the game content).

emveyh says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:18pm

Nice graphics and cool setting but somehow the jumping physics felt a bit weird. Because of that it's quite hard to actually get through a level without dying alot which is a bit frustrating. But nevertheless impressive what you did in only 48h. Congrats :)

Lacutis says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:11pm

Great graphics, nice sound. The controls where a little loose though and the jump button especially felt like sometimes it didn't register.
Nice entry though!

AlwaysGeeky says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:10am

OMG, this definitely wins the award for the cutest game I have played this LD... well done! :) love it

Lidfrid says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:23am

Great job with level design!

hungyg says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:32pm

the best game I've seen so far this year

chinchang says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:59pm

gr8 level design...missed checkpoints at some moments. had fun playing it but kinda repeating.

Raptor85 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:02pm

The graphics are amazing, the jump skids too much though, all the surfaces feel like i'm landing on ice making it frustrating on the smaller jumps. pushing is a bit unnatural too as you have to bakc away and walk back into it. Still good though!

Jhelle says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:30pm

Great pixels and a overall enjoyable game. Awesome job!

jonnopon3000 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:36pm

A pretty solid entry, nice work! The general aesthetic and audio bring the package together nicely and vastly improve the overall mood of the game, which excuses the tiny annoyance in the speedy and over-sensitive jump.

Lythom says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:58pm

Had fun playing this, game progression in well balanced in various environments.
Sounds and music are not legendary but still ok.
Graphics are simple and good.
Good job there, thanks for the game !

lucars83 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:25pm

Wow that was really good.

seagaia says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:00pm

It was a cute platformer! I found the controls quite difficult to use though as I kept slipping and dying easily. PxTone for the music? :)

blob says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:29pm

Clever level design.

Misfit says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:44pm

Beautiful graphics and great gameplay. Good Job!

davidllanos22 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:04pm

My favourite so far! Nice graphics, nice gameplay, nice story! Well done :)

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:11am

Really cute! :)

Valeour says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:10pm

Fantastic entry, really fun.

ahm99 says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:33pm

This was fun. It had great graphics, the sound was nice, and I didn't find any bugs. I have to say that this is one of the best games so far that I've seen.

Codexus says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:24pm

Nice little platformer, the graphics are cute and the controls responsive. I gave up at the donkey kong stage.

Ranoka says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 2:54pm

Congratulations for getting this done in 48 hours! This is one of the most complete games I've played so far, it even has end credits! I think the length of the game is just right for Ludum Dare.
I think the level design was a little frustrating at times, there were lots of tiny platforms to land on, I think the player slid too much for that. Having a mid checkpoint may have helped on a couple of the frustrating deaths. I liked the graphics, it's very bold and easy to read!
Great job, I'm sure your game will do well!

BenW says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:44pm

Each area could have used a second checkpoint and there were a few weird collision things when switching from wood to stone tiles.

strega says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 4:24pm

Nice art! The controls were a little bit too slidey for me. I kept dying. Starting over at the beginning of the dungeon was a bit too harsh. Maybe some kind of mario style health would help make it less punishing.

Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:55pm

Lovely little jump'n'run!

But why (WHY) do you have to begin this otherwise brilliant thing with so many clichés? "Spunky Mechanic Girl"? That has an own (massive) TVtropes-page. It's not even necessary to the "story". Slow and boring wall-o-text-intro? I skipped over it without a second glance. Jumpin on the Z-key? We've been over this, german keyboards place this one differently, -> warped and painful hands.

Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:44pm

I didn't know that about german keyboards, will keep that in mind in the future.

I threw the mechanic girl part there just because I though it would be weird of little girl otherwise going around building rockets. No other reason really. Though in the sequel her mechanic skills will be in bigger focus and important plot point.

Evil Cult says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 9:59pm

[Comments and ratings from this account come from various team members]
The movement was a little different but once you get used to it it worked quite well. There was a couple of collision problems when walking along the ground or pushing boxes. Other than that this had great graphics, music, and level design. Quite fun to play and great to see that you got a complete game with a proper ending!

AD-Edge says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:02am

Very nice! Also played it right to the end. Im not much of a far of 2D platformers, but this one had some charm.
Character controls were spot on, and I really liked the graphics style. Level design was nicely done as well, I appreciate the fact that the mini levels were designed to be a challange to get though from both directions. You obviously did that to get more mileage out of the game, and it worked!
My only issue is that there is no timelapse, would have liked to have seen your development!

ehtd says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 3:48pm

Very good game! I loled when lydia screamed.

Lydia! Y u can't swim?!

ericdpitts says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 9:29pm

Great job on this! I loved it. Graphics were great, your character and her animations were really nice. A nice, succinct little story.

jwolf says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 12:15am

The game (or possibly the genre) is a bit too difficult / frustrating for my taste, but it's a really well put together game. The graphics and audio are pretty good. Well done!

Angerus says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:15am

A tiny adventure with a lot of charm and ingenius graphics! I love the simple gameplay platform !

kato9 says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 12:40am

Pretty good entry but the one hit deaths are pretty brutal. This girl can't stand in two foot high water without dying? Very nice work otherwise!

Fireblend says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 2:37am

Very nicely done; loved the polished graphics!

Datamosh says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 3:30am

Beautiful little game! Seems like it has a lot more work than 48 hs. The cave with the water was great. Congratulations!

armornick says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 6:24am

Very nice to see a Stencyl game. The art looks wonderful and the music fits. Nice little platformer!

tr33top says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 6:53am

I really enjoyed the game. I thought that each area was challenging enough and had just enough checkpoints.

kddekadenz says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 10:44am

Good graphics and mostly fair checkpoints (except water island, it pissed me off).

firstrowgames says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 7:06pm

nice art style and cool plataformer.

rhaasken says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 7:21pm

Great graphics, good level design, and neat interpretation of the theme. It was fun to play, and I beat it, but like others have said, the controls and lack of checkpoints are a bit unforgiving. Otherwise, highly polished, fun game!

ratboy2713 says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 3:12pm

The controls are a little floaty but I like the art style and the idea of floating islands coming together.

jim3wg says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 8:22pm

Very nice game !

summaky says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 6:35am

Like the others, I found the art excellent but the controls a little unforgiving. I am also not particularly found of "text sequences", but I guess this was a trade-off given the development time (I still can't believe you could do that in just 48 hours; this makes the game even more impressive). The level design was very clever and well thought, and I liked that in the lighthouse you've changed a little the mechanics with the barrels, because just jumping still obstacles was becoming a bit repetitive.

All in all, a very nice game.

ratking says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 5:42pm

Wow, very polished platformer game!
The collision had some problems sometimes, getting stuck at an edge e.g.

envy3d says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 7:08am

Fun game, though there were some collision issues where two different floor types meet.

Hume says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 10:01pm

A solid platformer. Lots of polish; the character seemed really well animated.

KevinWorkman says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 2:31am

I don't play games on kongregate, as their forced ad video and "join now!" spamming got to be a bit much for me this Ludum Dare. Looks like it would have been fun though.

Will Edwards says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 6:22pm

Gorgeous as so many have said, bit hard to actually control though as others have said, but very high scoring :)

Keirua says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 8:01pm

I really liked the story and gameplay (even though its unforgiving). I also loved that you took your inspiration from old snes games (in the graphic style, the tile stuf, and even in the credit screen...).
However i'm really not fond of the story. "A new Island" "another new island" "now I can leave". Ok... but why??? Why are they appearing ? why did the original island start moving ? how comes she can build a spacecraft/a plane ?

That's the only detail. Gameplay could be slightly improved yet your already did something really great.

machinas says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 9:25pm

nice sprite sets, levels were fun, tho the resets were a bit harsh. death sound was the best sound. awesome that you had music, tho it was a bit repetitive / flat. great story and delivery. i think the cross fade should be a bit faster. you notice how it's not interactive while text is slowly animating in / out. also, you left your '~' console toggle in there and i bumped it accidentally. took me a second to figure out how to get the game back to normal. nice job.

jfroco says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 9:25pm

It's amazing what you did in 48h. Congrats.

Tifu says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 2:25pm

Pretty good. I occasionally got stuck on the floor (pressing directions didn't make me move, had to jump to get unstuck), not sure what was causing that as it seemed to happen on random flat surfaces, not just transitioning from wood to rock as others mentioned.

SonnyBone says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 11:09pm

Solid platformer with a great use of theme! Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]