About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 8 days, 19 hours, 13 minutes, 23 seconds
  • October Ends: in 9 days, 19 hours, 25 minutes, 23 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 44 days, 20 hours, 13 minutes, 23 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Beyond - ben - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Floating fragments gathered together to form something of a world

    A first-person game about exploration. There are 15 Golden Orbs floating around the Islands for you to find. If you enter one of the blue tubes it will become you're waypoint should you plummet into the endless void.

    You can play the game online, on Windows or on Mac here > www.benswinden.com

    View ben's journal. | View all entries by ben

    Ratings

    Coolness56%
    #64Graphics4.00
    #130Mood3.29
    #402Theme3.10
    #410Overall3.00
    #450Audio2.44
    #649Innovation2.49
    #693Humor1.69
    #723Fun2.26

    Comments

    kylerhoades says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:18am

    Hi, I don't see a link to play this?

    ben says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:28am

    You can play the game here : www.benswinden.com

    kylerhoades says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:28pm

    Thanks ben. I like the atmosphere of your world, especially how it is fragmented and confusing, but still beautiful. Good job! More goals and gameplay besides just exploring would have made it more engaging for me.

    Lidfrid says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:22pm

    Yes more goals would get this adventure better!

    mattchu says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:23pm

    The audio was a bit irritating, but otherwise, it was a solid platformer with a really neat art style.

    My only gameplay-related complaint is that some of the terrain near the beginning could be fallen into, and then took quite some time to escape.

    JaJ says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:25pm

    I loved the visuals but didn't think the soundscape was really fitting. I also had a hard time getting out of some of the pits in the terrain.

    HeuGamer says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:55pm

    Confusing yet cool.

    Toast says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:56pm

    Your website made it unclear that you had to scroll down, because of my low screen resolution.

    Obligatory props for 3d, but I would have better more gameplay over fancy schmantzy visuals.

    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:57pm

    Really dig the geometric terrain style. Exploring is fun, but the controls feel a little sluggish for a game that requires so much precision to collect orbs.

    Rybar says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:58pm

    Interesting graphics, love the fragmented world idea. It really doesn't have much more than that, I'd love to see this developed further. Mouse look was way over-sensitive IMO, and it was far too easy to get stuck in a crevasse or hole that didn't restart the game (like falling off the world).

    Hume says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:06pm

    I'm confused by this. Mostly in a good way. The world is confusing in a fascinating way. It does invite you to explore. I would have liked to have a reason to stay longer.

    Mostly I want to know: What's the story with this strange place? Will the golden orbs tell me?

    Final note: the mouse is really sensitive on OSX, and I really wish I could invert the Y axis too.

    ratking says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:08pm

    Interesting experience, but overall too frustrating. :-|
    The art style is nice, would be even cooler with more feedback (like particles).

    Syntaxide says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:17pm

    Nice clean graphics. Movement seemed a bit slow though.

    True Valhalla says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:08am

    Loved the visuals but like others have stated the requirement for precision controls is really vital, at least for me! With some work and more engaging content this could be a cool little experience - good work! :)

    bms says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:17am

    Really cool visuals & level design! You should definitely add some more gameplay to this..

    ben says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:21pm

    Thanks guys! I definitely will keep working on this game at some point. I wish i could have added in some more engaging gameplay elements i just ran out of time : [

    FrederickK says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:20pm

    I liked the world, but it is hard to control your character.
    More interactivity would be nice.

    Gremlin says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:31am

    Like the aesthetic. Very Zarch/Virus vibe. Retro in a very slick way.

    I kept falling off of things. If you keep working on this, I'd like slightly more solid controls, where I do less sliding off of things...

    Tourgen says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 1:54pm

    I like the idea and the visual style. I like the exploration gameplay. The sliding, floaty movement isn't fun though. inverted mouse look option would be nice too.

    Oye Beto says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 6:23am

    I liked the colored polygon style of the graphics.

    The acceleration feels uncomfortable for me and I'd like to see more gameplay or maybe a story.

    Jiggawatt says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 9:22am

    Moody and graphically interesting, but you've seen it all quite fast and are left with an impression of pointlessness. I also don't like the over-responsive mouse look common to Unity games.

    May 12, 2012 @ 9:42am

    Lovely graphics"

    But even as "explorative" game this need some balancing. I often couldn't make out the polygons of the terrain, wondering how it actually looked. The majority of angles were un-scaleable, making me use bunny-hopping, which felt like I was exploiting a bug. And the bridge-parts feel strangely out of scale.

    onehandclap says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 1:27pm

    Lovely, and quite the technical showcase. Gratz!

    Angerus says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 6:39pm

    The main idea is interesting but the control are a little "weak". I find the graphics particuliar, great and i'm pretty sure that they would be splendid with a little more time! A good job for a First Ludum Dare!

    kato9 says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 11:40pm

    I wanted to like this game more due to the cool visual style, but I kept falling into pits that I couldn't get out of which sort of killed the experience and my motivation to play.

    Daniel says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 2:46am

    Pretty cool graphics :) could have more gameplay elements though.

    Nidjo123 says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 6:59pm

    I like the style of the game, it's really unique. Only view movement with mouse is a bit clumsy.

    AirRider3 says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 9:14pm

    Loved the visuals. Kind of hard to get back to the top after going down. Or kind of impossible ... D:

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]