Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Soul Searchin'

by MaximSchoemaker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Soul Searchin' is a game about a man called Benjamin. Benjamin is feeling a little 'meh', so he's decided to enter his own brain in order to go soul searching. Inside he uncovers the ugly truth about his mental well being.

The game's main mechanic is that you can shrink down to 1/5th your previous size. Each next level is located in the current level at 1/5th its size, so when you shrink down you can enter the next level. Inside which you'll find another smaller level, and so on and so on.
In short you continuously enter smaller and smaller worlds :3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme4.69
Coolness84%
#4Overall4.31
#6Innovation4.42
#9Fun4.00
#17Mood3.90
#52Humor3.44
#66Audio3.55
#429Graphics2.89

Comments

matt says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:44am

This is great.

bugninja says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:12am

Excellent!!!!!!

Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:54am

This was truly amazing. At first i was like, oh well, generic platformer.. But then it went deeper, and deeper, and deeeper. Seriously good stuff!

Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:35pm

Thanks guys ^^

gammabeam says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:25pm

Yay! Loved every minute of it! :D

karnakgames says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:25pm

Amazing! This is the kind of game that came in mind when I first thought about "Tiny World"! Good work.

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:52pm

Agreed, great job! I love how the entire rest of the game is on the screen at all times, but you don't how long it's going to go.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:29pm

I'm just glad there was an end to all the shrinking ;) very nice

chinchang says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:04pm

amazing concept and mind blowing level design! perfectly themed.

icefallgames says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:10pm

This is the best game I've played yet in this compo. Great job!

bms says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:37am

One of the most innovative game I've ever played!

bms says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:37am

One of the most innovative games I've ever played!

KevinZuhn says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:53am

Woo, this game is loaded with neat size-changing tricks and clever moments. I like to jump'n'shrink, it's very satisfying. I'm glad that this game has a proper ending, running for your life back to full size was a great way to get perspective on the whole game!

I did run into collision issues whenever I hit space in a corridor that was too small for me, but it didn't really break the game.

GreyShock says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:26pm

Charming. My brains exploded with the tiny tiny tiny tiny tiny world you created :D Nice ending ;)

Transmit says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:26pm

Amazing.

Daniel says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:27pm

Awesome idea, I really like this thing of controlling the power of shrinking.

Mago says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:30pm

One of the best I played so far in this LD
Best use of 'Tiny World' theme

yosh says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:55pm

Bravo :D

Eelfroth says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:44pm

Surprising and clever interpretation of the theme, the innovative mechanics kept me playing to the end. I also enjoyed that the story-texts shrank with the levels.
The minimalist black/white art style works pretty well, but in my opinion the sprites don't quite fit in. That being said, this game is good enough to not even need fancy graphics. Good work!

Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:22pm

This was really cool! loved how the world and the text kept shrinking and shrinking. I was a bit disappointed that there wasn't really an ending for the story.

the8donut says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:53pm

Yo dawg, I heard you like platformers, so I put a platformer into a platformer, so you can shrink while you shrink. Shrink-ception!

No but seriously, very clever and original concept, definitely one of my favorite entries so far! :)

Mesene says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:14pm

Bitch you are fabulous

dx0ne says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:14pm

And we have a winner! 5/5

Mesene says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:17pm

Bitch you are fabulous!

0x17 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:55pm

Dude best game in this Ludum Dare for me so far. Really enjoyed it. Hope you get a high score!

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:23am

THE SCALE OF THIS GAME... OH MY GOD. The ending sequence is pure genius. Amazing use of the theme... and SUPERB execution!

soy_yuma says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:56pm

Perfect! My favorite!

bytegrove says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:23pm

WOW, what an awesome game! Clever interpretation of the theme and really well executed! Brilliant level design, and the ending was a really nice touch. A winner is you! :D

kroltan says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:50pm

Awesome game! But I saw this concept months ago in a game site called Game Jolt. Not sure the name of the game though... Something with phantom miner or whatever.

Zillix says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:54pm

Whoa, great idea and execution. The mood was amazing, and the recursion was well implemented.

tequibo says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:56pm

Very cool concept, but part under "Would this be answer to his Soul Search" was terribly frustrating, I could not beat it.

Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:01pm

@Kroltan, it does quite resemble Spectre Spelunker Shrinks indeed :P I suppose you could say it was an inspiration for Soul Searchin'. Not that I actively thought about that game while making mine, but I guess coming up with the idea could have been catalysed by the fact that I knew Spectre Spelunker Shrinks beforehand :3

Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:01pm

@tequibo, that is the game's trickiest jump indeed :P I'm sorry you couldn't get past it :/

Tomalla says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:19pm

I freaking love the concept! As @KevinZuhn however said, there was quite a lot of collision problems. Deep inside I was hoping that Benjamin would get pancaked when enlarging in a small corridor :D That'd be even more fun. Emm ... I mean, entertaining. Damn, it still sounds like I'm a kind of a sadist. Ah well.

Great job mate!

marudziik says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:43pm

One or two very hard jumps, but I played until the end. Awesome, just awesome.

rvmook says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:02pm

Had real fun playing this

bompo says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:11pm

Awesome use of the theme! Well done!

moop says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:41pm

Brilliant concept and well executed.

Nora Shishi says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:02pm

Making such a nice game 48 hours is miracle! Awesome work!

vigrid says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:36pm

Well done - I got hooked and completed the game, and had a lot of fun :)

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:50am

Lie some others, I thought this to be bland and generic until it started spiraling in on itself. Quite clever, and very well done.

stigmawall says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:53am

It´s a good concept, but I got bored. The puzzles are not enough to entertain me but the plot, the history are.
Good work.

keenblaze says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:28am

Great idea!!

Orni says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:13pm

omg - you really wanted to win this competition, didn't you ?

such a brilliant concept

wow - graphics/audio aren't anything special but the mechanics of the game are simply amazing - this must be one of the best uses of the theme I've seen, possibly the best one

you're going to rock the innovation and theme categories with this

mipi says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:43pm

Sometimes annoying platforming, (Near the core I dropped down and had to do a lot again..) but still superb!

seigenblues says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:24pm

one of the best i've seen so far! Must've been fun to do technically as well ;)

spooks says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:27pm

Well that was the best LD game I've played so far...

Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:57pm

First of all, great concept and superb execution!

It really felt like you took the time to explore the mechanic and it was fun and interesting all the way to the end.

There were some parts which I personally found annoying though...

such as places where you were forced to jump and shrink in the air to get into. It felt like I was jumping and falling to quickly and it just became a kind of jerking motion trying to mash the buttons to get in. It wasn't satisfying at all. If it had taken more time to jump so that you could get some time to time your shrinking I think it could be immensely satisfying. Or you could make it easier to jump into the "groove" at the edge when you are bigger.

The box jumping at the end where you could shrink while you jumped was totally awesome the first time I tried it. Then I realized you had to go back to press a button and when I tried to jump on them again I just couldn't get past them, it kept me there for at least 5 minutes. I think if there had been a little more room between the boxes and ceiling then it would have been easier and making it easy to jump on them I think would give more players that awesome feeling I had of jumping and shrinking all the way through. :)

Finally the part of the game that is on your left smaller screenshot got me stuck for a long time as I couldn't figure out what to do. It wasn't until a friend showed me where to look that I saw the red button at the bottom.

Anyways, I totally loved the game, especially the narration and the twist at the end was great!

Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:34pm

@Jesper thanks man, very in-depth feedback ^^ this is really useful for if I want to expand on the game later :3 Cheers!

Gabriel says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:05am

LOVE IT! Congrats man, I think you got one of the strongest entries! The mechanic really talks to the theme, and the fact that the whole game is contained in the first screen is indeed a technical feat! I just didn't enjoy precision jump too much, but I know that's the kind of thing one doesn't have time to test, detect and fix in 48 hours. Awesome man :)

GFM says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:14pm

This game is simply amazing!!!

Pixelulsar says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:52pm

It was fun and captivating. Interesting music and story. Only thing is it could have used a background or wall texture. One of the best games I've played so far!

summaky says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:21pm

This is good. Very good!

chambers says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:28am

Oh wow!!! This was incredible!!!! Too bad that from the screenshots alone the game doesn't seem so beautiful and innovative. I loved the text and the story (and the hat). I wonder how the hell did you program that.

Jhelle says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 1:35pm

Great story/game/mechanic/music. one of the best and most finished entries I have played so far. Loved the ending too. Awesome job!

Apr 29, 2012 @ 9:56am

Awesome! Great job in such a short time. Really like the shrinking and I GOT A JETPACK!!!!!!

onehandclap says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 5:03pm

Mmm... well, how can I put this... mmm... no, I'm speechless: this game is just too cool. Great job! =D

olav_st says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 8:32pm

Wow, I could hardly notice that this was made in 48 hours. It felt like any other high quality flash game. Great interpretation of the theme and good work :)

Thotep says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 9:01pm

Specter Spelunker Shrinks! Not very original, but nicely done.

azurenimbus says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 9:28pm

=O

I hope this wins. That's all.

May 7, 2012 @ 12:04pm

Great stuff -- love the seamless control & size transition.

Dr.Pingu says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 2:42pm

A great idea. An innovative application of the theme.

Great work :)

ncannasse says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 5:16pm

Yes ! Could make it to the end !

Tifu says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 2:36pm

That mechanic is so awesome =o
Great job

tacograveyard says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 10:36pm

Absolutely loved it!

TyrusPeace says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 11:11pm

Really slick, and a great implementation of the tiny world theme! I was a bit frustrated by touchy controls at times. I'm not sure if the intent was to switch sizes mid-jump to make landing on small things easier, but that was the strategy I settled on. It's a bit disorienting and difficult, but things got better for me once I was used to that.

Fun finish, too :).

Benjamin says ...
May 14, 2012 @ 11:36am

Great game ! Really good idea for the ending run :)

csanyk says ...
May 14, 2012 @ 10:07pm

Challenging, but the jump-shrink puzzles got a bit repetitive. Still presented enough challenge that I stuck it through and completed it without getting bored. Very nice! I thought the music was a great enhancer and fit the mood of the game perfectly.

poohshoes says ...
May 15, 2012 @ 12:32am

Just gotta say, this game is WAY better then the game that got first.

May 18, 2012 @ 3:03pm

Thanks everyone for your wonderful comments! ^^
I'm very pleased to have earned 4th place in this wonderful LD! In fact I've decided to finish this game and to try and publish it :3

Right now I'm looking for play tester! If you're interested email me at maxim at sir-realism dot com

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]