April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Disastronaut

by Jeffalisk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

**BY POPULAR DEMAND - I've uploaded a version without an installer. All code and assets identical, just more rating-friendly!**

My first ever LD48 entry!

Stranded on a tiny planetoid far from home, you must collect space debris to build a ramshackle ride back to Earth.

Supports keyboard (WASD / Space) and joypad (left analog / A button)

Windows only, built in XNA Game Studio 4.0

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#136Audio3.23
#156Humor2.91
#208Theme3.46
#210Fun3.22
#292Mood2.94
#317Overall3.17
#449Graphics2.85
#503Innovation2.76

Comments

bms says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:25pm

Installers hurt my eyes :) nice little game.

uprightpath says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:41pm

Simple game, simple story, still pretty good.

Dakota says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:44pm

Love the music

lasseastrup says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:44pm

Installer... ewww ;)
The music and the gameplay worked really well together. Not the hardest game in the world, but I had a good time playing it :)

jacobalbano says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:29pm

At first I didn't realize you had to bring each part back to the asteroid before picking up another, but once I figured that part out it was a lot of fun. I loved the flavor texts and the music is quite good...kind of reminded me of Firefly. Nice work. :)

Ace says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:45pm

Oh god, the sound hurts my ears. Nice music though.
Apart from that, the graphics are nice and the fuel mechanic makes it hard enough to be enjoyable.
A few more parts to collect might've been nice but it's quite well made as it is.

Naouak says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:46pm

Couldn't install the game. It was saying that it was missing files.

invaderJim says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:48pm

Great name and good little game :D

edg3 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:55pm

I quite liked the premise and the game play, though it got frustrating trying to place some of the items on the asteroid (the on caution blob thing wouldnt go anywhere) and I ended up running out of fuel twice because of that. Otherwise, solid game.

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:05pm

@Naouak - That's annoying, I only went for an installer because I thought it included all the dependencies you need. And I know how much everyone loves installers :)

I'm looking into whether I can do a web port - not the easiest thing to do with XNA but might be possible in Silverlight.

Alink says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:44pm

It was very fun chasing stuff with this fuel mechanic. I would prefer the camera centered on the player. The music makes it very relaxing.

blob says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:14pm

Hehe, fine little game. I wish the ending was done as a simple, little visual cutscene. Could have been hilarious :)

kelp says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:13pm

I'm afraid it crashed out on me :(
This is the error report it gave me (which probably isn't very useful):
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: CLR20r3
Problem Signature 01: ld48.exe
Problem Signature 02: 1.0.0.0
Problem Signature 03: 4f9495f3
Problem Signature 04: Microsoft.Xna.Framework
Problem Signature 05: 4.0.0.0
Problem Signature 06: 4e60120e
Problem Signature 07: 516
Problem Signature 08: 51
Problem Signature 09: System.InvalidOperationException
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1043
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:20pm

Gah, sorry but that doesn't mean much to me.

Sorry to hear it crashed though :(

Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:36pm

Loved your little guitar tune but the hiss hiss of my jetpack got a bit annoying. This had the upside of making me use it less and doing better at the game though! Nice mechanic and I like the inertia or momentum whatever it's called. Also really like the style you got going on!

zorf says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:02pm

Really nice and fun to play.

pythong says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:33pm

would be great to have an executable :/

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:42pm

:( why do people make installers for games that won't last longer than ten minutes? One star rating for the installer. The game, however gets significantly more stars. It's a small and short game, but it's got a neat mechanic that gives it its challenge, because you can't hold in the direction you want to go like a lot of games, and instead have to try to put yourself in the direction of the target and stay there so you don't run out of fuel. I liked the little tune it had in the background.

Arkazon says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:59pm

Installers :-( I understand wanting all the dependencies there but it would have been nicer to include a separate executable as well so those of us who already had xna didn't need to rummage around in control panel trying to find the game afterwards!

Anyway, the game itself was pretty good, I especially like the ending. Would have been nice if the "0" digit didn't look more like an "8" - I kept getting confused thinking I'd lost fuel when picking up a can! Music was good too, nicely done.

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:31pm

Honest answer? This is the first game I've published using XNA, I'd been working for 15 hours straight and only had about half an hour to upload it - went for the option that sounded most likely to work. But I hear what you're all saying and will put an installerless version up. Thanks for the feedback.

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:45pm

YOU ASKED, I LISTENED. There's a new installer-free version that you can just unzip and run (provided you have all the XNA/.NET dependencies).

Valeour says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 4:33pm

Very cool fuel mechanic, I enjoyed this, and I liked the music in the beginning too.

xillix says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 4:15pm

Simple yet fun. I like it.

kddekadenz says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 4:15pm

Doesn't start on Linux using Wine.

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 9:07am

Hence the phrase, "Windows only". Perils of XNA I'm afraid.

Raptor85 says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 9:23pm

uses XNA4 so can't test under WINE

cltatman says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 9:24pm

Can't play - no XNA or admin rights on this machine. :( Looks nice though, congrats!

vigrid says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:47pm

Reminds me a bit of "Jet Pac" from C64 / ZX Spectrum, in a good way. I liked the mechanics of limited fuel in your jet pack thrust. Hint: the camera should be showing what's ahead of the player, not what's behind the player. It is a good execution of the theme, and has quite satisfying graphics.

DaveDobson says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:55pm

Really fun, and nicely complete - tells a fun story. I like the visual style, too - very nice. There's not a ton to do other than fly around and keep an eye on fuel - it might be cool if there were more complexity. Very nice work! I lost once, then did better with fuel and won on my second run-through.

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 11:03pm

@vigrid \o/ Jetpac was a big influence! Glad you spotted it! I'm going to be developing the game a bit more post-contest, and the camera issue is one of the things I'll address.

ericdpitts says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 11:24pm

Great job, I loved this entry! My favorite part was definitely the music, and it was fun floating through space looking for parts. My only complaint is that the sound effect for using the jetpack was a little bit annoying. I think it would have been better if it was a little quieter, it clashed with the music.

Andrew says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 12:25am

Wasn't longer or more complex than it needed to be. :)

Jacic says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 2:59am

I LOVE the music. Great work! :)

caranha says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 12:44pm

Oh no! I wiped out the human race!

Very nice little game, although a bit on the easy side. But I really like the idea of assembling the ship from the broken pieces.

One thing that bugged me a bit is that every time you picked up a fuel can, your fuel was set to a given value, and not added to the current fuel -- once I was at 1800 fuel, and by picking a fuel can, I got down to 1100. While there was enough fuel for the entire game, it still bummed me a little.

Also, awesome music!

naufr4g0 says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 1:23pm

A pleasant pastime with a more than suitable music. :)
Nice story, too!

Robert Swan says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 10:21pm

Played it until the end and I actually wanted to as well! I enjoyed playing it and the ending cheered me up!

rvmook says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 11:12am

Had fun playing the game. Would've been cool to get new abilities with every new object or something.

GreyShock says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 5:18pm

Nice game concept. Loved the feeling of debris and the fuel shortage. Congratulations :D

robcozzens says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 5:00am

I would try it if you had a Web or OSX version.

JellyFame says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 6:47pm

don't have windows

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]