About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 9 days, 10 hours, 15 minutes, 32 seconds
  • October Ends: in 10 days, 10 hours, 27 minutes, 32 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 45 days, 11 hours, 15 minutes, 32 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    In a Lonely Sea of Stars - Ben - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This was my first Ludum Dare entry! I'm so proud to have gotten so far, even though it's not 100% perfect.

    Anyway. I think it's pretty self-explanatory in-game (there is an included tutorial), but I'll explain here, anyway:

    You're the president of a galactic harvesting company. You build harvesters on suns to harvest their energy and ship it back to earth and sell it. (Click the green button in the bottom right corner to build a harvester)

    However, the space commies (you all know the USSR was evicted from earth in '94 after World War III, right?) will do anything to attack your precious, precious energy. They'll send ships to attack your transports. You need to protect them. (Click the purple button in the bottom right corner to build a turret)

    CANCEL BUILDS BY PRESSING 'ESC'!

    There was no time to implement an end goal or a title screen, but I think this is an excellent first shot.

    KNOWN BUGS:

    - Turrets place farther away from earth than where you put them.
    - Game is impossible to beat if you follow the tutorial (ships come too early to build a defense turret)
    - Defense turrets do not aim anywhere.

    Edit: I forgot to mention that you may cancel the current selection (harvester or turret) by pressing ESC at any time. Cheers, and thanks for the feedback!

    View Ben's journal. | View all entries by Ben

    Ratings

    #307Graphics3.14
    #432Theme3.04
    #466Innovation2.86
    #534Audio2.22
    #580Humor1.94
    #618Overall2.68
    #697Fun2.32
    #720Mood2.20
    #824Coolness35%

    Comments

    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:50am

    Very impressive first-time entry! I couldn't get very far into the game, but it seems that you've got a great base for modularly adding content into a very fun game - Cheers!

    Danik says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:57am

    This is very promising, I just wish it wasn't so buggy. I couldn't build harvesters after building a defence turret.

    Ben says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:53am

    I am eager to post a bugfix to make the tutorial beatable and the deselection of the defense turret more obvious. What's the policy on that?

    mess110 says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:17am

    very nice game. was pleasantly surprised

    De10ter says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 9:29pm

    I really wanted to like this. I love the look and the idea and at first glance it looks really polished but its just too buggy:
    - If you move at the pace of the story/tutorial you don't have the resources available when it says to build a defense tower.
    - If you cheat and build the harvester before it tells you, then you can stockpile resources while it waits for you to build a harvester.
    - Even doing this and getting a big headstart knowing where the first wave was going to come from and placing towers in their path I was still severly outgunned!?!?
    It's a shmae, like I say, I like the concept and love the look but find it unplayable :(

    jwolf says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 12:04am

    It's a very nice concept, but the bugs make it extremely difficult to play, even while trying to work around them.

    Still, it's a very impressive entry. Keep at it!

    May 2, 2012 @ 10:05am

    This is a fun idea, but unbalanced and buggy as hell. Iron out the kinks, and it'd be AWESOME.

    Drop the intro. I don't care you're a global space-harvesting-company, nor does it have any impact on the game whatsoever. The tutorial bugs out at the "press this button now"-stage" if you have done anything at all before that. Zooming out first to see the sun is redundant. (this could be a chance to have a sort-of auto-zoom-out combined with an intro, if you really want to have an intro, that is).

    The second buildings "range" stays the same in all zoom-heights. When placed from very high it isn't placed at the drop-point but somewhere around it.

    The 2nd building shouldn't even be placeable, seeing as doing so early will dead-end the game.

    robcozzens says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 12:48am

    I'm not sure if you know what self-explanatory means ;-). I can't make any progress at all. If I build the defense turret first, I don't make any money to build anything else. If I build the harvester first, the pirates keep me from making more than $100... not enough to build anything... What am I missing?

    Ben says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 8:06pm

    ^^ Nothing. It's buggy, I've got a fix in the pipeline.

    johannhat says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 1:20am

    I think with a little bit of work, this will be a lot of fun. It's still a bit confusing from the get and I had some trouble getting started. Still, looking forward to see if you progress on this beyond LD!

    azurenimbus says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 3:59pm

    I have to say, I think you're on to something here. The graphics are lovely. I obviously played only the LD48hour version, but I think with some refinement (I also couldn't get past the initial asteroids) it could be really awesome!

    Great submission!

    icefallgames says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 9:23pm

    Hmm, I can't figure out how to "zoom out". I placed a purple thing, but nothing seems to be happening. Anything but self-explanatory (and I'm playing the "non-buggy" version).

    uberneen says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 9:39pm

    You have a really promising game here, it just needs some heavy balancing and bug fixing. I played the 48 hour version first, of course, but even the newer version had some issues with turret placement and fire radius.
    Keep up the good work!

    namuol says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 11:15pm

    Love the style in graphics/sfx department. Especially the tiny globe. Great attention to visual detail.

    I echo the same basic complaints as everyone else for the most part, so I won't bother repeating them.

    Okay just one: maybe this is an OS-specific thing, but zooming takes *forever* for me in Linux. Like, literally 10-15 seconds of frantic scrollwheeel action just to see the other stars.


    There's potential here for a hit, I think -- now that you have the framework in place, it's mostly a matter of tweaking gameplay and maybe adding some different unit types (or maybe not, I like the simplicity). You should definitely finish this, which seems like it's going to happen based on some of your journal entries, so I'll try to keep an eye on your github repo for updates. :) Cheers!

    yoklov says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 1:44am

    Nice assets, especially the art. Sounds could use a bit of work, though.

    It seems that I sometimes start getting attacked before I have time to buy anything, and even when that doesn't happen it doesn't seem to want to let me place it anywhere useful.

    Interesting game though, keep working and it could be quite fun.

    Oye Beto says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 5:07am

    Looks like a good idea. I only played the compo version and I think it's too difficult. I got desperate when asteroids wouldn't let me get more money so I got stuck.

    I liked the graphics and it has a great color palette.
    I think it needs something like a stars background that serves as reference to know how near or far is my zoom.

    Ados200102 says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 1:24am

    Good game

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]