Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Inlander - Darkwater - 48 Hour Compo Entry

== IMPORTANT ==
1. The all-in-one .exe requires no other files, but seems suspicious because it has no publisher signed to it. THe .zip looks safe, but ofcourse they both are.
2. This is a fixed version. In the original, a map did not spawn enough iron ore to craft the required iron bars for a boat. More updates coming soon.
======

A little Minecraft-ish game.

You spawn on a tiny island and need to find a way to escape.
On a day when there was almost no fog, you could see the mainland over to the west. Now you need to find a way to get there.

Use WSAD to move and the mouse to interact. You start with a wooden axe, use it to chop down some trees.

Because I didn't have enough time, some features may be buggy or even missing. I'm planning a lot of updates for after the compo. Stay tuned!

There are a minimap and an FPS counter left over from development stage. Hold the right mouse button to view it.

There are no enemies or ways to lose health. There isn't even health. You can only win the game. I might add those later.

Made with LOVE (www.love2d.org) using Lua. Graphics created with Photoshop CS6. No audio included because time.

Perlin Noise generator snippet: http://pastebin.com/QadsmgcM


PS. This is my first Ludum Dare, please be easy on me ^^

View Darkwater's journal. | View all entries by Darkwater

Ratings

#571Overall2.75
#625Graphics2.50
#659Fun2.40
#714Mood2.21
#748Humor1.50
#797Innovation2.05
#837Theme2.00
#851Coolness33%

Comments

Gemberkoekje says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:04pm

It would probably have been better if you'd just put a zip or rar there instead of a self-expanding exe. Check mine as well: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-23/?action=preview&uid=5952

Gemberkoekje says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:07pm

argh, can't run it on my work computer; I'll check it once i'm home!

Darkwater says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:25pm

Yeah, added a .zip.

whitetigle says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:00pm

I could not test your game since it does not work on my netbook :( Poor me :(

Chtulhu says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:25pm

Good game but you should have made some music or sound effects.
Plus, I tried to make a boat but this is too costly!! 50 iron bars = 200 iron minerals. I think there is not enough iron on the map to build the boat ^^

trylle says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:36pm

Wait, what? There's two mouse cursors! How confuzzling.

Also, was kind of confusing to figure out how to chop trees. Didn't realize there was a slider on the right hand side showing that the action was being performed, so I kept clicking on stuff expecting things to happen. Also didn't realize the mouse wheel did anything, or that the crafting screen could scroll either except by accident. So, some more instructions would be appreciated. :)

No position indicator on minimap (or indication of what's there) sucks a bit? The map also seems a bit hueg for what the game is (definitely not a tiny world). As an ld entry, it could have been smaller, so people could finish it faster and get the gist of the game. Map generation looks fairly natural. Couldn't figure out where the iron ore was, so I didn't build a boat and win. :( Cool stuff, though.

Darkwater says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:25pm

I couldn't add sound because I didn't have enough time. (Also, I haven't worked with sound before with this framework, so I had to figure that out, too.)

And about the iron? The map generates 50-80 iron ores and you could previously craft 2 bars with 2 ores... Fuuuu...
I'll change that and re-upload right away. (To generate 100-150 ores a map)

Thanks for reminding me.

Darkwater says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:20pm

And about the minimap, it was a left-over dev tool, forgot to remove it.

Mach60KAS says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:45pm

I was entirely unable to find any stone materials on my island. Still, I like the overall style of the game :)

Darkwater says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:00pm

No stone at all? Weird.. Try starting a new world.

caranha says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 1:06pm

The premise of the game is interesting. The controls are smooth, I specially liked the transition to the crafting menu by sending the mouse to the right hand side.

That said, as others mentioned, the world is a bit too huge, which, given the time for rating and playing games in LD, makes it a bit off putting -- things need to happen a bit faster :-) The two mouse cursors is a bit strange - maybe instead of a mouse cursor, you should have used a square silhouette to indicate the action square?

Thanks for the game anyway!

robcozzens says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 5:14am

I would try it if you had a Web or OSX version.

Darkwater says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 11:55am

You can run the source with www.love2d.org

FireSlash says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 7:05pm

Neat little game. The fun of games like this is continually adding features and bits to them, so by all means work on that post-compo version and see what comes of it. :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]