April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Conqueror

by Hume - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Everybody has their traumas. Some people withdraw into themselves. Some people push themselves to get better.

Some people take over the world.

This is a game of knowledge. It starts easy, then it kicks your butt. For higher levels, you will need to look this stuff up.

** UPDATE ** I've moved the game off my tiny web server onto a CDN. I hope that from this point forward, everyone gets to play.

** UPDATE 2 ** Way less frustrating post-comp version posted. You know the rules. Rate the comp version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#379Innovation3.05
#556Overall2.77
#566Mood2.48
#573Humor1.95
#593Theme2.69
#593Fun2.53
#668Graphics2.42
#681Audio1.70

Comments

Hume says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:03am

If anybody finds a bug...or finishes the game...I'd love to hear about it.

There are seven levels.

If a level is really annoying you, download the source and remove lines from the CSV in resource/data/csv.

Krisjet says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:30am

Forcing you to restart from the very beginning after failing a level sadly stopped me from finishing the game :P

nihilocrat says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:38pm

Got to level 3. Here I thought Kamehameha was just something from Dragonball Z. I like the "Washington was burnt in revenge" because hardly anyone probably knows about the War of 1812 and the burning of York (Toronto).

laubori says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:43pm

nice game!

ComaToes says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:01pm

Good game. I had to give up at level 2, but that's only a reflection of my terrible geographical knowledge ;P

piterlouis says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:08pm

Funny, It would be better if order of cities were random.

Hume says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:14pm

Piterlouis -- I agree; I wanted to do this. My playtester said no.

Everybody else wants it easier; we want it harder :)

chinchang says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:42pm

m kinda bad at geography..but nice look.

Suese says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:00pm

Learning game, ahhh! RUN! Great game, once I realized there was a second level I was pretty happy about this one. Better graphics and animation / style choices would have improved this game as well as music.

Thank you for this.

kelp says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:11pm

Nice game, tough it gets a bit tedious running from one side of the world to the other, causing me to not want to retry after failing on level 3.

Hume says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:14pm

@Suese Agree wholeheartedly with all. Style took a left turn and I didn't update the sprites. Wrote an .XM for background music but the decoder was hanging my game and I didn't have time to convert the music to something else.

Thanks very much for the feedback.

Mago says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:19pm

Interesting idea, I don't know why but this game scares me in some way. Thanks to you I will now always remember where is Sudan (I was looking for it so long) :)

ReddogStone says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:23pm

Looks like the site is busy... I can't get neither the source nor the applet to load :(

jeffreybiles says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:31pm

Shows a blank screen (after taking a while to load). I'm running chromium on ubuntu linux. I have a java runtime environment installed.

Hume says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:58pm

I think that's my hosting provider letting me down :( sorry. Working for me now.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:34pm

I like it!

Datw says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:19am

Good game, really innovative! But I do find the lack of saving relly disturbing. And, those sounds are really, really annoying hehe.

sharbelfs says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:23am

nice game and great idea, I liked

robcozzens says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:18am

That's pretty brutal having to start over at Egypt every time. Really cool earth though.

marudziik says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:41am

I like the educational value, but damn, the game is hard.

lanoiadimuu says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:56pm

Geography was my worst score while at school, so this game is extremely hard for me. But it's an interesting idea and it taught me where lots of cities are. :D

Hume says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:53pm

Your comments are loud and clear.

I'm going to make a DO NOT RATE THIS version, a less brutal version. Time limits will be raised a little, and you will get to continue from the same level after you lose.

I can't link it here, because I don't want any confusion in the rating process. I didn't spend enough time playtesting. Fair is fair.

Thanks for all the feedback guys. You are all great.

Hume says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:54pm

...one...stupid...line of code...
GameOverScreen:
// context.currentLevel = 0; noooooooooo

Jacic says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:24pm

Unique idea, but hard!

Darkfrost says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:16am

Nice idea :) Sadly, my geography is terrible! And I did badly! :p Seemed like a nice concept though, albeit a tad weird ;)

the8donut says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:15am

Very nice! Turns out I'm not that bad at geography either :D Graphics run very smooth, simple and effective. Good job!

orgarus says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:28pm

HI HUME!
Nice game, you could sell it here in spain so the new generations could be less ass than the pasts.
The thing that I dislikes a little is the color of the map.
Cheers!

spiral says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 12:34pm

My ears hurt!

azurenimbus says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 9:05pm

Really cool idea! The game over sound was driving me crazy. But I enjoyed it overall :)

azurenimbus says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 9:05pm

Not game over, the "error" sound.

Hazematman says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 5:08pm

Very cool idea! Went with the theme very well! Sadly I couldn't get past the second level, need to study my geography more :P
I liked the game ALOT!

Make A Game says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 6:56pm

Edutainment, on Ludum Dare? Hehe, it was fun, but the collision detection on the cities screwed me up a couple of times.

asfdfdfd says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 9:01pm

Love this idea!

Datamosh says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 3:09am

Hard game! Definitely i dont know anything about geography. lol

cobrajs says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 2:15am

Game won't load for me... just an empty frame with a link to download the source. I'm using Firefox, in Linux, and I have a Java runtime installed.

Drabiter says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 4:02am

Wow it's really hard, especially for have to repeat lvl 1 which is tiring. Thanks to this now I'm smarter a bit :)

May 9, 2012 @ 8:13pm

Wait, how do I play this? Game won't load and I just get big white box with blue "download the project source" link on it.

Oye Beto says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 3:26am

I'm SO bad at geography :(

May 12, 2012 @ 4:25am

Beat the compo version, took me several tries, but I did it! The dialogue was a little confusing but I love the concept. Could be a good way of teaching geography if the map was better. :)

orangepascal says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 6:19pm

some better visual effects to show the resetting or finding a city could have made it more clear.. even a bigger font would have done that.. but I like it! could be a great learning-game for kids!

KevinWorkman says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 6:56pm

This is a fun concept, but the game was a little frustrating from having to restart by getting one city wrong. Nice work for 48 hours though.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]