April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Little Sheep

by Alexandre - Jam Entry

Little Sheep is about a sheep living alone on a very small world, until he meets a migrating goose...

Unzip the archive and launch littleSheep.jar to start the game.
Playthrough is about 10 minutes long, with three different "endings" ("end states" may be more appropriate).

The tools and libraries used are:
_ Java / Slick2D
_ Tiled to create the maps
_ Paint.net and Gimp for the sprites and tiles
_ Bfxr and LMMS for the sound and music

I created this with a friend (he did the art/music and I did the coding). This was both our first game, and a very instructing one. What we would have improved with more time/experience:
_ Put a few more elements in the storyline
_ Use the paths tool in Gimp instead of Paint.net's curved lines
_ Improve the bass line in the music

An updated version is available, which fixes framerate issues on the third world, a collision bug, compatibility issues with MacOS/linux and some typos.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#72Mood(Jam)3.21
#99Audio(Jam)3.08
#101Theme(Jam)3.12
#107Humor(Jam)2.50
#127Graphics(Jam)3.27
#132Overall(Jam)3.00
#137Innovation(Jam)2.85
#172Fun(Jam)2.56

Comments

kutuup1989 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:38pm

I can't find an executable in the folder :(

Alexandre says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:43am

I forgot to put a readme file in the archive, thanks for the notice!
You have to launch littleSheep.jar to start the game

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:13pm

I really dig the spooky fable vibe. The third planet ran dog slow for some reason.

DaveDobson says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:46pm

Neat game - but I had trouble figuring out what to do. Very whimsical; using the platformer format for an artsy fable-style story is a cool idea, and I like the way you used the planet theme.

tlaine says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:37pm

I agree with Dave in all aspects. My sheep got stuck in the roof of the bunny cave though, that wasn't cool :/

Apr 29, 2012 @ 12:45pm

Nice, restful game, glad I explored to find the extra bits. Music and sfx add to the general flow of the game. Nice ending also, yay!

Sanguine says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 12:46pm

Played it and liked it, a bit short though

SFBTom says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 2:10pm

I really really enjoyed this game, thanks so much for making it!

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 6:12pm

Nice atmosphere in this! As others have said, something very restful about it.

ragnister says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 6:30pm

I was liking, but like tlaine, my sheep got stuck in the roof of the rabbit's cave!!!

Apr 30, 2012 @ 6:54pm

Hi I really like the graphics they're really cute and the world is laid out nicely.

Andrew says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 7:58pm

For some odd reason the game was really laggy on my machine, but I assume that's my laptop's fault. It was a cute and clever little game.

ChrisWhitman says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 8:45pm

I also suffered from the ceiling bug. Cute little game, and the music was nice. Bounding boxes seemed a little mis-sized, which made some of the jumping a little tricky. The conversation system could use some visual/usability improvements, but it's nice to see an LD game with a little more narrative.

Jezzamon says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 8:49am

Oh no! When I tried to run it on my mac, it didn't work! I got this error:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(ClassLoader.java:1758)
at java.lang.Runtime.loadLibrary0(Runtime.java:823)
at java.lang.System.loadLibrary(System.java:1045)
at org.lwjgl.Sys$1.run(Sys.java:73)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.doLoadLibrary(Sys.java:66)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.loadLibrary(Sys.java:95)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.<clinit>(Sys.java:112)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.<clinit>(Display.java:135)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer$1.run(AppGameContainer.java:39)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.<clinit>(AppGameContainer.java:36)
at test6.LD23Main.main(LD23Main.java:55)


...does that mean I have to download LWGJL to run it? If so, that's a bit annoying.

BlackBulletIV says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 8:56am

Quite short, but interesting. I did like the peaceful chiptune music in the background.

There were some issues with the conversations; for example, when we'd migrated the bird indicating we were still migrating when I asked where we were going.

Finally, there's a typo in the main screen. It says "press espace to interact;" I thought it meant escape at first.

Alexandre says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 11:22am

@Jezzamon Thanks for the bug report! You should not have to download anything to run the game, I'll try to look into it!

@BlackBulletIV Thanks also, I did not realize that! I'll correct it in the post-compo version soon

spiral says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 12:24pm

super cute

DainVadda says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 12:29pm

It does not seam to work for me (Mac OS X 10.7.3)

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: //littleSheep/jar
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: ..littleSheep.jar
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:202)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)

Beerman says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 12:49pm

Very nice. Really chilled out and relaxing, the way the night/day transitions follow you around the planets was really effective :)

jeffz says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 2:09pm

novel idea, nice little story.

netmute says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 6:58pm

Crashes on Mac OSX :(

moonkid says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 10:57am

Adelaide?

cantorfew says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 8:22pm

I also got Jezzamon's error at first. I think its because java doesn't add lib to its classpath by default. I tried copying the base littleSheep.jar to lib and running it from there but got a different error now.

I'm not well versed in java but will be back if I figure out how to make it work (I'm on Linux). Leaving this unrated for now.

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: org/newdawn/slick/state/StateBasedGame
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(ClassLoader.java:632)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:616)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:141)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:283)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:58)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:197)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:307)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:248)
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: org.newdawn.slick.state.StateBasedGame
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:202)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:307)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:248)
... 12 more

cantorfew says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 9:01pm

I figured it out. There were some .so files in lib/native/linux. So running

export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=`pwd`/lib/native/linux

before the usual

java -jar littleSheep.jar

worked. I'm assuming Mac users would need to somehow use/link to the files in lib/native/macosx/

I'm out of time now and will play and comment on the actual game at some later time.

cantorfew says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 2:54pm

Nice atmosphere, though it was a bit short. I didn't find anything on the second planet (but I assume I'm supposed to?). So I only found two end states.

Also, the rabbit came with me even our conversation suggests that it would not (I don't know if this is a bug).

someone says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 4:01pm

Interesting game.
You can also get it to work by defining java's library path:
java -Djava.library.path=./lib/native/linux/ -jar littleSheep.jar

Alexandre says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 3:58pm

The updated version should run on linux and MacOS without special manipulation. Thanks for the bug reports!

Nehmulos says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 5:57pm

This is amazing! The music, the atmosphere, especially the characters! Also some very nice graphics for the sun and a cool way the different planets feel (gravity, day/night shift aso.) I surely enjoyed it.

I'm on Linux and it didn't run using the graphical (open)java launcher but it worked by starting it from comandline with:

java -jar littleSheep.jar

(using openjdk java)

jfroco says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 6:25pm

Not my kind of game, sorry :( but it looks great and have a nice music.

free_napalm says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 6:31pm

Great mood in this one, every planet was different in its own way, so I was quite excited where I'd float next.
More events would have been nice though.

Datw says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 7:39pm

Pretty Graphics & Sound, they made up to a great "mood". The game itself isn't that much fun (well, at least for me), but besides that it is quite good :)

Jedi says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 10:47am

Graphics, sound and mood are all really good. The gameplay, however, is almost nonexistent but almost in a good way. The lack of risk seems to fit the mood but at the end of the day it barely feels interactive.

caranha says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 1:04am

I really liked the sound effects, and the graphics are not bad either. The minimalistic planet + the spooky music made me expect something sinister to be going on in the background :-) Controls were nice too.

That said, for a "story" game, it feels a bit short in content -- suddently "your journey ends here!". Also, there are a few bugs in the script - the rabbit on the third planet told me he was not coming, but then he showed up in the sheep planet. Uh, ok.

hamburger says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 9:51pm

Nice atmosphere :)

crhallberg says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 10:23pm

Adorable! Nice concept, good exploration and maps.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]