Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Nineties Holywood Hacker

by Casino Jack - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hack like in a cliche nineties Holywood movie, with sweet rigs, bright colors, lasers, and apparently some sort of spaceship!

First you need to build a link from the entry point (white( to the access (blue), then when you're ready, fly your program to the access through the link and destroy any rogue programs, anti-virus and firewalls you come across.

My first entry to Ludum Dare and it's been heaps of fun and swearing. I've decided I love Flixel, as it would have taken me so much longer to do this with anything else. I did have trouble with the theme and it does occur to me that this probably would have been perfect for 'Build it then use it', but I swear I came up with it while brainstorming for TinyWorld!

The general idea came from wanting to do something top-down in Flixel, but randomly deciding to mash it up with Pipeline. This part was going to be an actual game with a timer, but I ran out of time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#84Innovation3.77
#231Overall3.32
#257Fun3.14
#272Humor2.57
#479Graphics2.80
#499Mood2.59
#555Audio2.16
#664Theme2.54

Comments

keely says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:24am

The hacking part was too difficult. I wish I could go back and forth between hacking and Hacking :) (can I?)

I totally love the humor and the retro graphics are very pleasing.

YMM says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:48am

A really good start. The shop and survival aspect was pretty cool. Some random thoughts:

-Health recharges should probably be cheaper. Like maybe $1 for one health. Coins also "die" pretty soon after they're dropped without warning.

-Mouse aiming might be better than having 8 input keys, and would probably allow you to try some more interesting enemy designs

-There's gotta be a way to make the level building more intuitive. Right now I just have to wait for the piece I want and place all the garbage pieces in random squares off in the corner. There's enough empty space that I never have to really worry about running out.

Kane says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:48pm

Not sure about the "Tiny World" part, but it's a fun game, I like it :)

hulahulahest says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:49pm

Neat concept, but too slow-paced for my tastes. The game has a tendency to spawn enemies on top of you when you enter a room, and it's sometimes hard to tell where enemies are located.

Zed says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:53pm

Pretty cool, but the bullets are too small...

Madball says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:55pm

Good idea, bad implementation. You should try changing something about it.

uberneen says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:59pm

This was fun. Once I figured out how the tile placement went in hacking mode it became much easier. I really like how you travel your 'hacked' path and the upgrades were unexpected, but very welcome.

Kvisle says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:00pm

Conceptually, quite cool. I wish it didn't care if a tile did fit with adjent tiles or not, as in Pipes and similar games. Giving me access to the map in game would also be cool for deciding directions :)

Dracir says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:39pm

:( Not fun when you start on an enemis and you have 0 life.
But it was REALLY fun :)!
Nice graphics, fun and all :)

De10ter says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:12pm

Quite a fun concept, but I failed to understand the route building stuffs :/

orgarus says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:15pm

An excellent idea!
I think is awesome the fact that you have to "design" the way to the other link and then follow it to go to the goal.
I put this to my "play later" list (later = 20 days of testing and voting)

A great one, congratulations!

Cheers!

Darien says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:15pm

There's a lot of promise here, to be sure. The basic concept of building your "hacking route" and then flying through it is quite interesting, though I found that many of the mobs take far too many shots to kill, which gets a bit dull after a few rooms. The time before the coins despawn could do with some lengthening, too; if you kill a mob at long range, it's sometimes not even possible to collect the coin even if you fly straight towards it.

kratorspore says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:15pm

This is more like the 'build it then use it' theme than tiny world. You've created a lot of game here hats off to you! I didn't like restarting on 1 life and this was really off-putting but otherwise a very nice game, the control scheme was very interesting! being able to put pieces anywhere and not have them connected to the map made the level building feel a bit weak as i could just place pieces anywhere and wait fro the right one to come up.

Jack says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:17pm

really clever idea with the building pipes and then fighting your way through it, interesting take on the pipe dream-style games

schizofunky says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:18pm

Very nice idea, I like the idea of creating your own maze to fly around in! The enemies were quite tough tho!

castor says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:27pm

I'm a big fan of what you did here. Cool concept. I wasn't quite sure what I was doing at first, but then it clicked. Nice.

Sodaware says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:13am

I really liked the idea of building the level you were going to play. Would have liked more powerups, but otherwise is was pretty solid. Very impressive for your first try!

jimmypaulin says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:45am

Enjoyed the two-phase approach, clever idea! Nice colourful art, clear what was going on and what was supposed to do and nice difficulty/interest curve. For some reason I couldn't get sound (safari/mac)

Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:37am

Okay I really think this is a brilliant concept. Forming a maze of your own in a challenging thinking game then going in and traversing it as an actiony game. However I fount it very confusing. A lot of times I kept clicking and the tile wouldn't be placed on the grid. Is there any limitation on when I can and cannot place a tile? It seemed like the moves that were allowed forced me to make mazes that were not connected and so made it unplayable. Please let me know how this is supposed to work, I'd really like to play this!

Fsmv says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:56pm

Once I figured it out it was really fun. I wish there was a minimap and that it didn't let you go in without building a route to the end. I had to restart like 4 times before I figured out that I had to build a route

desmarkie says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:54pm

I like the combination of connecting the pipes to create the level. It felt a bit slow, but otherwise good fun.

racarate says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:11am

Wow, great concept. "Build a stage, then fly through it"... reminds me of other shooter hybrids like Stigma Star Saga. The game feel for the shooter part fell a little flat, I think it was the lack of any kind of inertia. It was also a little hard for me to visually parse the ship and the enemies(red green colorblind). Thematically, I assume the ninties hollywood hacker was in the ship, right! Anyways, with 90s HAPPY HARDCORE TRANCE and some game feel love on the shooter segments, this would be a really neat puzzle-shmup hybrid!

racarate says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:11am

Oh, also one of the best names so far. (Wish there was a star-rating for that category)

Jezzamon says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:09am

Interesting. I this game was a little too slow for me though. Also, on the screen where you place levels, often I couldn't place levels in certain places. That's what made me quit.

hamburger says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 12:53am

I loved building my map then flying through it. I think if you sped up the gameplay a bit it would be a lot more pleasant to play.

MadGnomeGamer says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:28pm

Brilliant concept!

Lots of gameplay to it, too. I like that in a jam game!

Some points that could use improvement:

1) Was a bit tricky to figure out the tile logic of the world-building part
2)Rather frusturating to build a nice short path and then be killed by those ANNOYING shooting robots

...Hey, wait a minute: Health recharges? Is that what those coins are for?

Chaoseed says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 12:23am

I like this, it has a lot of potential. Here are some of my random thoughts...

It's rather slow paced. It feels less like action than "Line up with an enemy, start shooting, wait, dodge it, wait, wait, dodge it, aim at next enemy". Also, because there are so few enemies in each stage, it feels empty.

It's hard to keep track of where you are. It would be awesome if there were a minimap during the shooting bits.

I got frustrated with placing pieces, but then I figured out, you can't place a piece if it doesn't match up? That does make sense, but with a little work it could be better. How about if the game checks if there's a valid path, and it won't let you place a piece that makes the path invalid? Also, what happens if you run out of room? Perhaps you could place pieces over previously placed pieces to delete them.

I'll be looking forward to later versions! ;)

Fireblend says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 1:08am

Had lots of fun with this entry. Some thoughts:

> Recharging your health should be cheaper, if not free
> Making sure enemies don't spawn too near the exits would be good so I don't get killed as soon as I enter a room
> Some pieces looked like they would fit on the puzzle but the game wouldn't let me put them there... I'm not sure if I was missing some rule.

Either way, amazing job!

Nick Cash says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 3:27am

An excellent combination of puzzleyness and shooting. It was a little frustrating when you'd enter a zone and have no chance to avoid the little sprites that blew you up though. I really appreciated the controls and support for both diagonal movement and shooting.

The only way I see this getting better is to put some music behind it. Well done!

cantorfew says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 10:34am

I like the keyboard aiming. An increase in difficulty over levels would have been nice (more red squares, further apart, etc).

A small issue: health didn't reset after a game over.

ratboy2713 says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 8:34pm

On the grid, I didn't understand why I could place the tile in one place but not the other. I could not connect something directly to the white node, which makes it kindof unplayable in the flying parts.

KevinWorkman says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 1:24am

Great concept, with some polish this could be a pretty fun game. I think you forgot to reset the coin and health counters upon reset though, so it made replaying after dying rather difficult.

otaviogood says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 5:16am

I thought I was 31337, but I couldn't pass the second level. Overall, a great idea.

marudziik says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 4:15pm

Very good idea, but the game is much too hard, at least when I'm forced to build path through red rooms. Other than that, the game feels very complete and fun to play.

summaky says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 8:16am

I am not sure what does this game have to do with "tiny world", but it was very clever and fun. The pacing is a bit slow, though. Maybe if the ship could move a little faster it would make things more interesting inside the "pipes". The door opening sound effect was slightly annoying.

FredericRP says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 8:52pm

Really great idea ! It lacks a way to better link the two parts of the gameplay, I didn't understood the easy/medium/hard tiles before entering the second part.

Tomalla says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 2:46pm

After restarting the player's got 0 health and the number of coins retains. Also, sometimes enemies spawn just where the player spawns, who subsequently loses a life. Instantly. That's just mean. Butoverall the game itself is great, I love the blend. I loved it until I saw this ...

http://imgur.com/FSAcA

No, really?! If that was mean, how should I call this one? Come on.

chambers says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 4:16pm

Yes, what happened to Tomalla happened to me too, in the second level.

Though I must say, the concept is brilliant. 5/5 innovation for sure.

This would be an incredibly awesome game if the gameplay itself was more dynamic. I had more fun in the "puzzle" part and speculating how my experience would be than actually playing the action part, which was slow and became boring very quickly.

you definitely should work more on this and make a full game out of it, it has a lot (and I mean A LOT) of potential.

Congrats!

Keirua says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 4:37pm

Clearly inspired from a quite famous indie game for the action part, however mixing it with another famous game for the building part is very clever and interesting !

Right now it's a bit messy though, maybe the player should have a minimap. And have a faster initial speed. With better graphics, background music, etc, i could be much better game. Right now, something is lacking to make the action part entertaining. There is no really interesting challenge right now. I'm sure all of this can be fixed but this start is already very interesting, thanks !

And to the guys saying "good idea, bad implementation" : thank you, you are being very useful.

mildmojo says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 7:11pm

I played until I hit an impossible map, like Tomalla's screen shot.

I'm not sure if you scale the percentages of red/orange/green squares scales as the player progresses, but you should. The orange/red squares are really difficult with the starting ship.

Enemies often spawn too close to the room's entrance, which doesn't give the player a fighting chance. There should probably be a minimum spawn distance.

It felt like the silver/gold coin drop rate was independent of enemy difficulty. It'd be nice to get more gold coins from difficult enemies so there's an incentive to build through red squares.

The upgrade mechanic kept me playing for about 30 minutes ('til I hit the impossible level). The upgrades felt pretty good.

After a few levels, I figured out how difficult different room shapes would be and I could place them in smarter ways. I liked that second-order strategy.

Overall, nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]