April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Cereal Prize Astronaut

by MutagenMan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The idea is you're an astronaut that got sucked through a wormhole, and awakes in a strange large man made building with huge metal spheres and holes on the wall. After some exploration the building turns out to be a free ball bearing puzzle toy inside a cereal box.

The story was pretty much built around the concept of doing a 2d little ray tracing light/shadow system. I'm pretty happy with how that turned out, but it cost, as basically none of the rest of the game is finished, the collision detection and keyboard controls are terrible, and i didnt get round to adding any sfx or narration.

I would have liked to do more with this but in the end I only really got about 8 hours to work on this, and unfortunately I cant do anything tomorrow, so I cant put it into the 72 hour one, kind of a bummer, but oh well, I know next jam I'm gonna put way more time into it. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#263Graphics3.26
#486Mood2.61
#492Audio2.32
#567Innovation2.63
#595Theme2.68
#748Humor1.50
#840Overall2.16
#851Coolness33%
#894Fun1.37

Comments

MutagenMan says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:12am

whoops, forgot to say use 'w''a''d' to move!

oddgoo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:18am

Well, it is as you said, the light system is cool but that's pretty much all there is. Still! I really liked the premise of being inside a cereal box toy =)

Darkcoder says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:22am

Yeah the controls and collision detection ruin it. I like the lighting, but otherwise there isn't really much to do.

Orni says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:54am

I have to agree - the controls are annoying
(the lightning is brilliant, looking at your source code now)

Ace says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:28pm

The light system is quite amazing, I'm definitely going to "borrow" the idea for use later.
The controls sort of ruin the gameplay but at least the music is nice.

edg3 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:29pm

Cant say much for gameplay, but the idea is quite innovative and the graphics and theme are pretty much spot on.

Would have been nice to see the final product.

Miltage says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:34pm

Slow movement speed frustrated me to no end. It reminded me of that Magic School Bus mini game where you have to collect the stars in space but can't move around for shit. Made me so angry as a kid. Cool lighting though.

pbackx says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:37pm

I couldn't really find a game in there. Did I miss something? It looks like an engine that could be built into a nice game, if only the movement was made a little more fluent.
Overall, a good start, but not a game yet :)

pbackx says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:38pm

oh btw, I had to install the VC++ 2010 Redistributable Package to get it to run: http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=5555

devwil says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:37pm

***I'm posting this on all non-browser games I bring up in an attempt to encourage folks to make browser games next time around. Do not take it personally.***

When hundreds of people make non-browser games, that means that, to play all of the entries, I would need to download hundreds of games to my computer. I typically use OS X, so Windows-only entries are particularly inconvenient.

Please consider making a browser game next time.

scottychips says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:33pm

I really liked the shadowcasting algorithm, nice work

01101101 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:38pm

Like it's been said already, loved the ray traced shadows, didn't like the rest... Movements and collisions are really annoying. But still, nice lights ;)

Arkazon says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:19pm

As others have said, lighting is nice, controls and collisions not so much!

Apr 28, 2012 @ 2:01pm

I like what you've done so far, graphics are really good particularly the light

BlackBulletIV says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 9:53am

Damn it, the slow controls and buggy collision detection were driving me insane. The lighting was pretty awesome though.

Also, it when moving to the left the character sprite doesn't flip, and it looks really weird.

AD-Edge says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 10:00am

As others have said, the controls are a bit of an issue, very 'sticky', but the lighting is very nice. Would make for an interesting game with a bit more work!

Super Soul says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 3:02am

Nice atmosphere but trying to move the astronaut was frustrating. I would love to see the lighting and graphics implemented into an exploration game!

robcozzens says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 2:58am

I would try it if you had a Web or OSX version.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]