April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Montezuma's Tomb

by recursor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Join our miniature archaeologist as he journeys into the depths of Montezuma's Tomb in search of treasure and the golden statue that is said to lie at the bottom of the tomb. How is this a Tiny World you might ask? Well ... I've managed to fit all of the great Montezuma's Tomb into a 1024x768 box which is pretty small...unless you play it on a 50" HDTV - but then everything is big on one of those.

Instructions: Available in-game

Important Note: Your character can fall roughly twice as far when he jumps so keep that in mind when/if you reach certain areas...

Warning: This game is a bit difficult in its current state... Ease-ification will occur post-compo.

Update #2: I've found a few bugs in the jumping code and have fixed them. V 0.3 is much more consistent with jumping AND you can jump onto adjacent ledges from a standstill. Also added inventory boxes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#349Humor2.38
#468Mood2.63
#502Overall2.85
#509Fun2.67
#511Graphics2.75
#531Audio2.23
#557Theme2.76
#758Innovation2.17

Comments

keely says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:45am

I like how you fit so much into one screen. Feels exactly like a Tiny World with all the stuff going on.

It was too hard, though. There's nothing wrong with giving the player few easy successes first. Now I just quit in rage after awhile. The Game Over is also a bit pointless. It could just go on forever.

But overall it's a nice complete working game.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:59am

barely fit on my MacBook screen. but I liked it! looks a lot like the old Spectrum games ;)

jplur says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:51pm

Love the style and the difficulty, didn't get too far but bookmarked to play on a rainy day!

AlwaysGeeky says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:06pm

Reminds me of lemmings

Danvil says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:42pm

Also like how it fits on one screen like an ant box. Controls are a bit weired. I have problems jumping left and right.

Cambrian_Man says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:08pm

Ahh, super old school. Brutal, though. I might take another crack at it later. A few new-school concessions like infinite lives might've actually made it more enjoyable in the rushed LD context. Still, I keep wanting to go back and play it again so...

Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:12am

It's like my game for the competition! Only waaay harder. I really liked it! Good job :-)

derosa says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:50pm

Cool game, but really difficult (for me). Reminds me of the 8 bit classic Abu Simbel Profanation, the told-to-be hardest 8 bit game.

pgil says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:14am

Looks cool, but I found a bug. Sometimes I get stuck at the bottom of ladders, and the only way to get unstuck is restart.

pgil says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:22am

I keep getting stuck at the bottom of ladders, and the only way to get unstuck is restart. This happens in both the compo and jam versions. The game looks fun, though. I like the sounds and the oldschool feel.

Sestren says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:30am

The jumping controls seem unfairly specific for such an already difficult game. I would look into allowing a person to jump onto an adjacent ledge from a standstill. As it is currently, you have to build momentum first, which can be very difficult on narrow ledges. Otherwise, a decent, albeit brutally difficult, game.

jfroco says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:30pm

It reminded me a single-screen Metroidvania contest ADVA made a couple of years ago: http://www.adva.com.ar/codear/codear-single-screen-metroidvania/ You already know what it's wrong, so I just say that it's a great tribute to a great game. I miss the 8bit music during gameplay. Congrats.

Pixelulsar says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:45pm

I like how the whole game is in one screen, but it is too hard for me. I gave up after 3 game overs, and only got the first key once, but never got to use it. There were jumping bugs, and I see that there is a fixed version, but that is post compo, so I don't want to play it. Adding checkpoints would be very nice.

Milo says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:51pm

The style of the assets is great, but I can hardly play the game, given its difficulty.

blob says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:15pm

I love these kind of games but the controls really killed it for me. The way you slide on the edges, and the difficulty to jump on a platform if you're next to a wall are very frustrating.

orgarus says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:31am

Hi recursor!
An old school platformer! Simple and effective grafics, funny sounds (the door opening... ¿is that you recursor? :P ), a quest for a treasure... and difficult as trying to kill a donkey pinching him :)
I'll give a bunch of tries and to pick the red key is the most far that I advance ¡argh! :(

I like this game a lot and for sure that I'll try again.

Cheers!

PS.-In one of my tries on the platform where the red key is I fall of f beyond the platform when I jump over the skull and theoretically had to fall safely on the same platform again... and was my last live :(

castor says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:35pm

This reminds me of an old game called Pharoah's Curse which I loved, that too was mad difficult like this is.

Zoomyzoom says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:47pm

Pretty nice to see a game like this is unity :D nice bro, shame about te jumping though...

Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:47pm

I love what you did with the theme, and I love that you made it nice and retro. However, it's definitely too hard for me to beat. Great job!

Jeremias says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:51pm

Too hard.... really - too hard :) (I know it is really hard to adjust the difficulty during 48 hours competition, too)

If a game is hard, you need a mechanic to compensate it so it doesn't feel frustrating. Endless lives would be such a thing. Did a rage-quit, sorry ^^

jwolf says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:53pm

I'm not a huge fan of the controls or the fact that you can die walking off ledges that you can survive with a jump, but other than that it's not bad. Good job!

racarate says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:35pm

Nice Donkey-Kong style adventure game... though tremendously difficult due to the game feel on jumps and drops and ledge collision. I liked the sound effects, they suited the visuals. I couldn't quite tell what the white barrels were supposed to be, but they were menacing enemies due to the one-hit kill design. Nice nostalgic game, and it was interesting to see the whole map at one glance. I wish there would have been some music, though. Perhaps one day... I will find Montezuma's treasure.

Apr 29, 2012 @ 2:58am

The only problem I got was dying if I walked of ledges but survived if I jumped, it felt a little of, that's all.
Besides that I really enjoyed it, I love platformers and yours is pretty nice.

jimmypaulin says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:52pm

Great level of detail and a well-rounded experience, good work! I think the controls need a tweak as per your post-compo entry ;)

gohanks says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 5:01pm

Great remake, I loved the version for Commodore 64, and I wish the atari version was complete with ending. :) Brings back memories :D.

zzForrest says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 6:12pm

The sounds and graphics didn't fit together. It was unforgivingly difficult. Often times I randomly slid off platforms. If you fall off a platform, you die but if you jump from a higher height, you live. None of it made sense. So overall, I hate this game.

Datamosh says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 4:37pm

Difficult game! But really good, and the "retro" feel, was really well made. One of the few games I had (but this time, actually wanted) to view in fullscreen. The only thing that really annoyed me was that when you were against a wall, and keep pressing left or right, when you jump it would do it just straight. So, grabbing the knife at the beginning was harder than grabbing the key. Nevertheless overall, really good!

crazyheckman says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 4:42pm

I played it last night on my laptop, having some issues with the unity player on my work mac (would be nice to have a straight downloadable). Lots of fun in a frustrating way, old school feel where the jumps have to be exactly right. The bugs kind of kill it, but it makes it more of a challenge, I feel like I HAVE to beat this now.

BlackBulletIV says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 11:24pm

Very frustrating. It's impossible to get the first key it seems. Falling a tiny height will kill you, and the jumping is very annoying and buggy.

Having the entire world in one screen is quite cool though.

CappaGames says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 5:54am

Pretty cool game, but a couple of tweaks will make it much better. I would say to make a moving jump easier to execute and to kill a person if the run off a ledge.

robcozzens says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 6:27am

I like having the whole level on one screen, but it was much too difficult to control.

May 10, 2012 @ 6:01am

Source doesn't download.

recursor says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 8:23pm

@CherryNukaCola: The source link works fine. I just downloaded it.

RĂ©mi says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 10:46am

An old-school but really hardcore game (the fact that you can die if you're fall from too high is strange for this kind of platformer!)

May 12, 2012 @ 8:40pm

Cool one screen game, reminds me of spelunker very much, particularly with the simply huge nmbers of ways you can die.

kato9 says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 12:01am

For better or worse this game has a real old school challenge. Love seeing the whole game world at once. Nice job.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]