April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Deconstructorium

by GreyShock - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are an evil scientist seeking for the world's destruction. If you get stuck you can go outside the lab to breath some fresh air and get some ideas.

The scientist can travel inside common objects molecules and extract special atoms. Combine them inside de Deconstructorium (the room to the right) in order to obtain new powers.

This is meant to be a mixed platform/puzzle game, so be patient and write down the formulas you discover for making it easier. I hope you enjoy!

-----------

Update May 2nd : I'm considering to develop a proper and more complete version of Deconstructorium. If you are interested you can follow our team development journal at http://www.deconstructeam.com/

The blog is only avalaible in spanish, but is going to get an english version soon. Sorry :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#55Innovation3.89
#76Humor3.31
#137Fun3.39
#138Overall3.51
#295Mood2.93
#335Graphics3.08
#354Theme3.18
#746Audio1.27

Comments

V0ID says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:57am

This is the best LD Entry I played so far!
It lacks sound but the rest is really nice. Going to fresh air to read some humoristic and some helpful phrases is a great idea. I could advance this list a lot but people should play your game to find the other great stuff out ; )

andrebeton says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:09pm

Definitely the LD game I spend the most time with until now.
Really polished game with some good ideas.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:19pm

fun game overall, but the mini games can get repetitive, especially since you have to grind some of them to get the powers up. The cats levels can get really fiddly to beat, since the gaps you have to jump through are so precise, so perhaps lowering the hit areas on those walls. Good entry though!

arhpositive says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:19pm

Great game. :) Haven't finished it yet but I definitely will. Hooked me up immediately. Too bad there's no sound, it'd be awesome.

Tumaini says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:53pm

Very well made game that goes well with the theme.
The end was a little weird, but it was interesting figuring out the combinations.

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:19pm

I don't know if it was just me, but it felt like the game was extremely difficult and that I couldn't get anywhere. Everytime I went into an object, I would just be in a stuck environment where my options are to run into a wall or fall off.

That being said I really liked the art style for it and the concept seemed really well thought out. It's probably one of the more original games I've seen on LD this round.

yosh says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:26pm

Good game ! However I got a bug: while going through the purple matter, my character was not able to fly anymore.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:33pm

I like the combination of platforming and combining/crafting.
Control is a little fiddly when you get the higher speeds.

Danik says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:51am

Good game, just gets a little tedious after a while.
I like the idea of getting some fresh air when you are stuck, that's really cool.
The theme connection is really good and it's quite innovative.

spacerumpus says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:14am

Lots of fun dolan! I enjoyed this one a lot. Felt quite polished for the 48 hrs, and I enjoyed the combination mechanic.

Shigor says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:37pm

Excellent piece, best so far for me. But I wasn't able to finish as I just found no way to get through any adamantium level. Even with speed and force on max I can break only through one level variant and after leaving the purple field my characters gets stuck vertically...

ncannasse says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:38pm

Enjoyed it, quite funny to combine platformer and crafting together this way :)

piterlouis says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:47pm

Good game with good ideas. the mixture of platform and crafting games.

GreyShock says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:51pm

Thanks every one! I probably will develop this game with proper art and gameplay to overcome all that crappy gameplay and repetitive levels.

The adamantium thing seems to stuck most players. It's not a bug, it's a part of the puzzle.

I don't want to spoil the solution... but the scientist might have something interesting to say about the adamantium issue at the garden :)

Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:04pm

This game is brilliant! Polish it and make mad cash! Amazing.

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:48pm

Very neat idea, I really like the way the powering up by combining things mechanic makes the game work. Part of me wishes it had more levels to make the platforming more used, but another part of me feels that that would get too tedious. But there has to be some way to make the game have more different types of levels without making the amount of grinding for combinations skyrocket. I also felt like the flying mechanic sort of broke gameplay a bit. A lot of the appeal of the early game was the platforming, but once you could fly you just kind of went straight towards the molecule with no regards for anything, repeatedly, until you had everything you needed. Still, great concept for a game. This is definitely one of the better polished ones in here.

chinchang says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:28pm

how to clear those levels, I cud do only one? m i missing something?

davidpeter says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:25am

Very nice, one of the best games I've played so far! Wish the the old guy's move speed was faster, it took like 15 secs to get from one end of the house to another.

johnfn says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:25am

This is a really clever game with a neat mechanic. Nice work :)

Catman says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:08pm

Really innovative, great idea!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:12pm

sorry, I just couldn't get very far in this. It looks very charming

tacograveyard says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:10pm

Solid game. A bit tedious, but nothing that can't be polished away.

Evil Cult says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:15pm

[Comments and ratings from this account come from various team members]
Wasn't initially aware that I could venture right to combine materials. After I found that out the game made a whole lot more sense and I found it pretty enjoyable to the point where I had to play right to the end. I think the speed of the scientist in the lab itself could have been increased as I found it frustrating to have to walk across the room. Also I would suggest adding a list of combinations you have already discovered to the game. Overall though, good work!

racarate says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:20pm

Very Mega Man, I love it. I wish you would have added sound and music, though. I particularly liked the mechanic of "stepping out for a breath of fresh air", that's hilarious. Also, the way you themed each element-based level was very simple yet effective. I played about ten minutes then ran out of ideas for formulas. I look forward to playing again! This seems to be the most repayable of all the 30 LD games I have played so far.

PabloAM says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:27pm

Great game! I love it!
Just I dont know what do after get all the coffe :S hehe

Good job with the ImpacJS ;)

Keep it up!

midgard says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:40pm

Great Work!! Continue with ImpactJS!

schizofunky says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:15am

I've played about 70 odd entries so far but none of them for as long as this! The game fits the theme perfectly and i love the joint platform and puzzle mechanics! It's a brilliant idea and i had to stick with it to the end (which was comically rewarding :D ) Shame there was no sound, but it's a brilliant job nonetheless!

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:40pm

This game fits the theme the best so far I think. It's also really fun.

ratboy2713 says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 1:37am

Very nice, seems to be a bug with adamantium and flying in which when you exit it you don't fall down any more, meaning I have to lose flying to finish. Some way to keep track of what combinations make what would have been nice.

GreyShock says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 7:56am

Thanks everyone for playing! :D

I know the bug with adamantium :( but I debugged the game a few hours before concluding the compo and.. well, you know :P

You also need to be BIG (Small = no) to have enough strenght for trespassing the purple matter.. and that's not a bug, just part of the puzzle.

Thanks again and sorry for the bugs!

Mesene says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 1:07pm

Buen trabajo, he disfrutado todos los conceptos de juego: plataformas, combinatoria, incluso el "farmeo" de items y la pincelada rpg con los atributos del personaje. Los graficos también estan genial. Suerte!

Good job, I enjoyed every game concepts: platforms, combination , including the "farming" of items and the stroke rpg character's attributes. Good Luck!

kibertoad says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 7:21pm

Now that was great!

ilo says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 11:15pm

I lost track of some of the reactions I had already tried, and it got a bit grindy, but nothing a checklist and a greater variety of levels wouldn't solve. :)

Overall, it's a great effort though, and I thought the way you make progress in the game was very clever.

KevinWorkman says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 12:19am

This is pretty awesome. I couldn't get through any adamantium level (I get stuck in the pink stuff even with full strength) so I couldn't finish it, but the idea is a great take on the theme. With some variety and some help (like a list of things you've combined and what they did), this could be a really addicting full game.

Hume says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 3:02am

I really like this idea. A lot. I want to play more.

I had an issue jumping reliably though. I don't know if it was key combinations, or maybe you're not allowed to jump on a slope, or what. But I died a lot and cursed a lot because I hit the key to jump and didn't jump.

But yeah, this is an awesome idea. I will be back. If you have a website where you intend to post updates, you should edit your entry to add links. It's allowed -- just be sure you indicate that it's a post-competition version!

Keirua says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 11:07am

Great game ! The concept of crafting in order to modify one's stats is really good. I really enjoyed playing your game.

Some things though:
- We you are small, there is one adamantium level where you can't jump, but you can walk vertically.
- the player is sloooooooooooow in the lab room.
- the level randomization is not good. I played 3 times in a row the same level. It would be nice to avoid this in other to keep the player entertained.
- Maybe the great scientist could have a notebook with the list of recipes he found ? and of the reactions he already made ? I was small, then big, and had to get some catonium and forgot how to get small again, and didnt feel like starting again to look through all the reactions, and quit.
I'd love to see a more polished version (maybe with more levels ?)

Congratulations anyway !

rvmook says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 12:20pm

Fun game, nice way to get through the levels. The outside hints were exactly what I needed when I got stuck. With a bit more polish this can be a great game!

deepnight says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 12:24pm

Very interesting metroid-like concept :)

johanp says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 7:20am

Nice idea! It is a bit too repetative sometimes as grinding the levels over and over again isn't really fun in the long run. But the core idea is really nice!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]