April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Nanobot Rescue Team

by Hegemege - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here, behold the first Ludum Dare entry of mine.

In Nanobot Rescue Team you are on an (endless) mission trying to rescue the organism you are in from nasty parasites and virii it has caught!

Choose your favorite from 3 different ships with unique gun setups. Blast out the baddies, pick up power-ups to aid your journey and try to get rid of as many of them as fast as possible.

Be careful though, you can't let 5 or more of them to pass you, or your host organism fails!

-------------------------------------------------

It was one tough of a compo, took me nearly 9 hours from the beginning to get an idea(after sleeping a few hours), but it was well worth it. The code is full of makeshift solutions, which I believe is the point of this compo :D

I was going to add a final boss for each level, but time was really short. I am normally a programmer, so making all the sprites took quite some time.

The soundtrack was made with autotracker, SFX with Bfxr, graphics with GraphicsGale Free, IDE was Sublime 2 + cmd.

If you spot any bugs/crashes, feel free to email them to hegemege@gmail.com. To compile the game you need at least pygame and numpy. I used python 2.7 for compiling the .exe, other versions might not be supported

Also, follow me on twitter! https://twitter.com/Hegemege

--------------------------------------------
KNOWN ISSUES
*Mute doesnt work for sound effects
*The game can be very hard at times(read: inevitable gameover), due to the random nature of powerups,
*The Squid is underpowered
*The sounds aren't well balanced.

FUTURE ADDITIONS:
*Level ending boss
*better audio environment to match the blood vessel
*Score
*Slight tweaks in some sound effects
*more to come...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#108Graphics3.80
#142Theme3.59
#292Overall3.20
#312Mood2.89
#354Fun2.96
#374Audio2.61
#539Humor2.00
#735Innovation2.23

Comments

Vertigo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:44pm

The game has some pretty slick graphics for sure! And the world of bacteria sure is something small(at least from our point of view), so it fits the theme well. The gameplay isn't exactly innovating, but it's nicely implemented.

The only thing that irritated me a little was the music, for me it's a little too sharp and high-pitched(I'm thinking more subtle sounds dripped in blood). There's not really any space for humor, and since the music is a little too happy for the setting, the mood rating gets a little kick too.

But overall, a great game!

anulith says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:31pm

Great minds think alike?

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-23/?action=preview&uid=11464

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:37pm

Awesome game! the graphics are clean, Lots of particles, wich i like :) only a score would have been nice. sounds were cool too.

De10ter says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:43pm

Pretty good.
These top/side scrolling shooter things arn't really my favorite genre but for me this one seemed like a good start, if a bit difficult. Agree with Vertigo though, the firing sound was unquestionably going to be the most common sound the player hears and it's about as pleasent as jamming an icepick in my ear repeatedly.

Hegemege says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:54pm

Alright, thanks so far for the feedback! I dunno, I like how the shooting sound is repetitive pewpewpew all the time in scrolling shooters, maybe that's just the way I am :P

SpaceToaster says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:57pm

Nice, clean, and tight.

runsintowalls says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:47am

Nice particle effects.

emveyh says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:01pm

Really awesome graphics. I like this clean / minimalistic look :D The song was also one of the best i've heard yet. Keep it up!

whitetigle says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:40pm

well done ! It's a good shooter :)

devwil says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:43pm

***I'm posting this on all non-browser games I bring up in an attempt to encourage folks to make browser games next time around. Do not take it personally.***

When hundreds of people make non-browser games, that means that, to play all of the entries, I would need to download hundreds of games to my computer. I typically use OS X, so Windows-only entries are particularly inconvenient.

Please consider making a browser game next time.

Fireblend says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:41am

Really great! The music was a bit repetitive and the sounds maybe a bit annoying, but the controls were really tight, and the animation and general gameplay fluid as hell. Good job!!!

jfroco says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:48pm

Solid gameplay, nice gfx... Congrats. I didn't know about pygame2exe... thank you!!!

Monkey Armada says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:42pm

good job! I like shooters, and I like the twist of being inside a body.
The shot sound is terribly annoying, thanks for implementing the mute feature hehehe.
I liked it a lot, kudos!

Hegemege says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:15pm

I should probably patch and fix the mute button, I wonder if that's possible :D

Next version will have much better balanced sounds, I promise :)

AirRider3 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:26pm

It looks great, but no Mac version to try :(

Hegemege says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:28pm

Need someone with a mac so I can build a native app :( or try running the Linux version, installation of the dependencies is a bit harder though

Morgawr says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:30pm

The game is pretty good, too bad for the sound which is really really annoying. Sick graphics too, a bit more polish on the spaceship would've helped maybe.

Also thanks for having a Linux client, not many games have it, I appreciate it :)

Nidjo123 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:37pm

Neat graphics and particle effects. It's quite challenging which is good.

scgrn says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:00am

A solid, challenging shooter. Very nice!

Jezzamon says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:26pm

:C Unfortunately I cannot play this on my mac.

Good luck for this Ludum Dare though! I hope whatever happens you're happy with your game!

dr_soda says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 2:04pm

I like your audio loop, and am impressed with the graphical effects you have for the explosions. Very nice!

I think the game would benefit if the levels were just a little shorter, and if the user could carry over their powerups from level to level. I was sad when I realized that I was starting over from scratch once I reached level 2.

The steering mechanic is interesting, but makes it such that you really can't make large motions across the screen in the horizontal direction without completely ruining your aim. Other shooters let you strafe dead on, which helps you. This one makes strafing impossible.

samoojamies says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:43pm

Nice use of the theme and game looks nice. Pew pew sound is quite loud compared to music.

R3ason says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:17am

Fun! Feels like a solid shooter! Thanks!

uberneen says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 2:12pm

Great music, most annoying shoot sound ever. I think it's the pitch.
Overall a solid game, good work!

tcstyle says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:57pm

The concept of this game works well. Balancing could be better. It's quiet difficult at the moment. Sound, music and graphics are very good. The particle effects are great.

ahm99 says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:21pm

Cool game, cool graphics, and cool sound. It is fun and didn't seem too buggy. I had fun playing it. Good job : )

pighead10 says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 4:51pm

REALLY DIFFICULT! I could not get past the first level in 10 minutes of playing.

Apr 30, 2012 @ 6:02pm

Neat art style and concept with some fantastic music. The laser sound does get annoyingly repetitive, but it's a very well-done entry.

Nick Cash says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 1:56am

Fun and difficult. Loved the art style :) I really got a good sense of motion, and the flying red cells in the background were a great touch. I did find it a bit difficult to kill anything if a line of enemies made it to the edge since where I shot was based off of my direction instead of my mouse, but maybe I should just be better :P

May 3, 2012 @ 11:01pm

This was actually really fun, and the graphics were awesome! For some reason, I couldn't here audio (if there was any). Overall, I loved this game as it was set in the microbial tiny world. It also really fit well with the theme.

asfdfdfd says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 8:44pm

Good. Only sound is a bit repetetive.

Dr.Pingu says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 1:54pm

The game is a bit tricky, you should balance :
- the damages and the resistance.
- speed : enemies/ship. There is a lack of response on the controls

BUT

Really well made, nice first entry !
Graphics are great.

Good job :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]