April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Flight of the Ladybug

by robcozzens - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Click on the 'Web' link to play the game. If the frame rate is choppy, try the 'Web (simple graphics) link.

This is my first Ludum Dare. I just barely got it finished in time. I hope you like it!

Press space to make the ladybug fly. Try not to hit the vines. How far can you make it?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#152Graphics3.61
#214Fun3.21
#377Overall3.07
#414Audio2.52
#518Mood2.56
#538Humor2.03
#605Theme2.66
#839Innovation1.95

Comments

matt says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:50am

Simple, but well made. Maybe something could be added to make it more interesting. Good job though.

robcozzens says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:55am

Thanks for the feedback!
I agree that it could use some more elements and I have a lot of ideas for things to add... I just didn't get it all in yet.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:58am

I've played countless games like this; the 3d is extremely well done though. Wasn't able to finish.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:20am

I love a simple game! Awesome job! The only way it could be improved is with some music really.

chartinboy says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:01am

A well done version of helicopter, though some sound would have been appreciated :)

True Valhalla says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:40am

Visually attractive, and overall very simple. But, I liked it. The sounds effects helped build a little mood at least. Good work! :)

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:57am

Simple but cool, always fun to play such games. Moving vines would have been fun ;p

aaronsnoswell says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:00pm

Simple, but well done - good job. I like how the slant to the camera gives a sense of anticipation :P Not too sure about how it relates to the theme, but still - good job.

vigrid says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:36pm

Release it for Android. NOW! :)

Fun, simple, one-click gameplay. Very nice graphics.

cadin says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:56am

Cool! Simple gameplay, but I really like the perspective, and the feeling of the control is really nice. Great work.

angrygeometry says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:03am

although the concept isn't new, you pulled it off smoothly and i really like the style of the 2D/3D aspect. nice submission.

robbiehunt says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:58am

Would seriously make a good kids game for an android tablet! Obviously the game's been done, but this is a fun implementation, and well executed!!

Good graphics, I didn't hear any sound but perhaps they were faint? I keep my volume down past 50%.

Good job!

robcozzens says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:25am

Thanks for all the great feedback! There should be sound... maybe I didn't have it loud enough--I didn't want it to be overpowering.

emongev says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:33am

Typical helicopter mechanic, but very well made. Loved the graphics, and the way the camera returns all the way on restarting. The audio was almost inaudible. But still great work guys =)

DaveDobson says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:29am

Neat game - very nice looking. As others have said, the gameplay is too simple to be engaging for long (although things like Temple Runner aren't much more complex), but it's really well-made and very polished. The music is cool, too.

cakemonitor says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:42am

Congratulations on your first Ludum Dare! This game is a lot of fun and always leaves me with a strong desire to play again and see if I can get that bit further :) The sounds were very feint but otherwise I think it achieves everything it tries to do very well.

callidus says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:51am

Solid entry with nice graphics and sound, but the game play is quite simple. Overall good though :-)

johanp says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:20am

Simple and well executed but a tad boring. Would love to see some power ups. Nice graphics!

umwgmc says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:35am

Very nicely executed. Simple but entertaining.

derrickdool says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:11am

Nice take on this genre. Great cam use, especially on the retry (like how it flew back to start).
Small Bug: High Score starts at 1000

My HighScore was 1571 - Welcoming challengers.

30dogs says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:14am

A nice crisp remake of the classic worm/helicopter game everyone loves! Would have been nice to see a little something added to the gameplay like others have said, but the controls are perfect and the graphics are charming.

johnfn says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:18am

derrickdool: 1589! :D

I'm a big fan of helicopter-style games, so of course I'm drawn to things like this. Nice charming graphics, too.

R3ason says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:24am

Haha! This is great! Finally, a one-button entry! Sometimes less is more! A great game to switch up all the other entries. Thanks!

bms says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:43am

Quite nice! Add a few more elements and you've got yourself a great mobile game ;)

Kharza says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:05am

one hand on each end of the spacebar like the pencil across the buttons on track and field back in the day! :D

Thotep says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:34am

Good graphics, fun gameplay, but it could use something more!

GIB3D says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:29pm

1437
@Kharza
Lol yea, I had to keep both hands on the spacebar or I couldn't really "feel" the motion right. Simple but great game ;)

Mesene says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:41pm

Nice graphics and floating menus, just wish it was random generated :)

Raptor85 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:08pm

Looks cool but can't play the unity web player ones, they still don't have a plugin for linux.

the8donut says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:02pm

Simple and sweet, fun to play. And very nice graphics!

KevinWorkman says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:43pm

Cute take on the helicopter genre of games. I wonder how it ends!

Nolan C says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:56pm

It's a typical helicopter game but I really think the 3D adds a nice touch and was very well executed. I especially like how it zooms back to the start when you die. The only problems I had were no sound and after dying pressing Enter instead of Space to restart (maybe it could be Space after a slight delay to see the score?).

Hume says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:14pm

Polished! Responsive! Great graphics!

I'd have played for longer, but my browser keeps popping up "webpage is not responding" prompts with Unity player. This happens to me too in Java if I don't do threading right, but I suspect it's out of your hands with Unity, which is frustrating.

spooks says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:21pm

Simple gameplay but well done! Played this a bunch.

fatSquirrel says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:20am

I like how you setup the camera, nice mix of 2d and 3d. Also good work on menus, congrats on your first dare, well done.

m4c0 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:36am

Great game! Loved the camera movement - just perfect. I hope you have a Android/iOS Unity license! :)

seagaia says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:33am

Nice implementation of the helicopter game. I think the 3D looks really good, too.

Also I took the ads off my game, give it another shot!

Toast says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:13am

In a way it's a shame that this is an even simpler version of an extremely simple game. But I like helicopter so much this is still fun.

Tifu says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:13am

Agh, it's just like those Donkey Kong Country Returns levels I hate so much, except this has better controlling, so way to go! :D I really like how when you die the camera points back to the start showing how far you've come, nice touch.
1623 was my best score!

tacograveyard says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:03pm

Simple, fun, well rounded. Nothing revolutionary, but there doesn't need to be. A joy to play.

AlwaysGeeky says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:53pm

Simple but nice. a solid concept that follows through well :)

Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:04pm

Nice little flying game, there wasn't really anything mind blowing but it was very well done.

Jhelle says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:44pm

A polished version of the helicopter game we all know and love. The music could use some more volume but otherwise it was good.

dray says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:30pm

I'll repeat all the good things said earlier,
strong entry,simple but well done

Pixelulsar says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:58pm

like a 3D version of copter, would be really cool if it was randomly generated, and maybe had bees attacking you or something.

chinchang says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:24pm

osom mini game der. really cool graphics and smooth gameplay!

jeffz says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:57pm

1206. Is that music original?

robcozzens says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:38am

Thanks very much. I hope to add more elements to the game after the voting is over.
@jeffz the music is original. I used cgMusic to generate midi and then Garage Band to render it out to an mp3 with decent instruments.

Evil Cult says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:01am

[Comments and ratings from this account come from various team members]
1633! Simple but fun. Took a couple of deaths to get used to the controls but they fit really well with the ladybug! Quite a solid game. Simple, yet effective.

eburn184 says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:25pm

Fun take on helicopter. I enjoyed the camera transitions back to the beginning upon death.

Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:10pm

Addicting little runner. Nice work!

liger13 says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 2:51am

Fun variation on helicopter. I think it would have worked better in straight 2D, though.

Apr 29, 2012 @ 9:58am

Well written game. A bit boring after first 500 points, with some other kind of obstacles like enemies or bigger spikes could be more fun.

dokidoki says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 5:02am

Nicely done gfx. (retry camera is cool) I usually expect this kind of game to be randomly generated, but I guess this way comparing scores is more meaningful.

smvilar says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 6:00pm

Surprisingly good!! Not innovative but very well made. Nice job here.

Apr 30, 2012 @ 8:12pm

Brilliant graphics and well made. Controls are nice, would well on a touch device

davidllanos22 says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 8:33pm

Very simple but addictive! Well done :)

samoojamies says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 6:31am

Nice solid looking and feeling game :).

Miltage says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 4:26pm

I enjoy these kinds of games, I remember playing one with a helicopter. The concept is great, and the ladybug and thorny vines are beautifully depicted. I also love the camera movement back to the beginning. Great job!

Shadow says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 4:37pm

Simple but fun game! Well done.

Fireblend says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 5:27pm

Fun, neat and very simple! I guess some mechanics could be added to make it a little more complex such as obstacles, but the consistency of what you got made make up for that. Good job!

Jigxor says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 5:06am

That was really fun! Nice graphics, simple game mechanic, well polished and a lot of fun. My highscore was 1521.

Overall, really nice game :)

Yapikom says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 9:01am

Simple and fun, although not terribly original. Could use some more variation in the map. Nice graphics and looks polished.

robcozzens says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 9:10am

Thanks everyone! I hope to add some more to it soon.

ratboy2713 says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 2:50pm

Classic game with modern graphics. Not something I'm into, but very nicely done.

amodo says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 7:08pm

A complete package! I liked the overall impression. Get this to Android and iOs, I heard ppl like 1-Button-Games :)

May 3, 2012 @ 11:56am

Simple and well-made. I loved how forgiving it was with its hit detection. Graphics were effective too. The main sprite is awesome as it should!

tcstyle says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 12:15pm

This rather "simple" idea works pretty well. I liked the controls and the progressing difficulty. The visuals are also pretty great.
Some sound would have been good.

azurenimbus says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 3:03am

Lots of fun, very addictive! Also, the game feels very smooth, great job with that.

schizofunky says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 10:53am

A simple but very entertaining control mechanic! Nice work!

Make A Game says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 12:31am

It has charming visuals and merry-go-round soundtrack. A simple yet very competent one-button game that provided challenge! Well done!

j0n says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 2:57pm

Excellent game.

derosa says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 9:36pm

It took me 3 tries to get used to the controls, but once done, I enjoyed it a lot. Very smooth movement and great camera setup and following. Thanks!

Muhiz says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 10:23pm

Simple, yet fun. Lovely music.

MrBarnslig says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 1:52am

Nice job on making a really simple quick game. Super fun for about a minute or so. Would have loved to see something that extended it or made it longer, but I thought it was well polished.

robcozzens says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 1:52am

Thanks again for all the feedback everyone.

Drabiter says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 4:11am

1133! Fun game. I can only suggest to put scatter some coins for challenge :)

Madball says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 9:25am

Nice and polished. You should have been made the variable Z coordinate so it looks like real 3D. Or just real 3D.

netmute says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 12:02pm

I have to say I'm impressed. The game feels complete and polished, and is fun to play. Great first LD :)

Datamosh says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 1:55pm

Nice little game! Graphics are good and it's very polished! Good work!

castor says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 4:41pm

Delightful visuals. Nice simple game.

robcozzens says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 6:37am

Thanks!

May 9, 2012 @ 8:21pm

I can't play your game because I don't have Windows nor OS/X and this means that I can't install Unity player. Perhaps another member of my team will find and rate your game.

- Inês Almeida from Evil Sandwich Studios

Jonny D says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 4:50pm

Lookin' good. Simple design, not that themey, but nice.

Pavel Dlouhy says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 10:35am

I like it! I played few times and made score 1203. ;) Good job!

gavin5564 says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 10:25pm

Really well done. The art and animation looks great.

caranha says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 1:24am

Very nice little game, I liked it a lot. It is fun to play, and quick to get into. Loved the small graphic tricks you did, like the transition from game over to new game.

A few things you could make to improve the game: Add some background! Maybe some leaves, some animal cameos -- maybe if you make a huge tree model and make the "track" go around it -- would make a big difference to the game.

Cheers, and thanks for the game!

tomhunt says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 1:59am

Very nice! When's the iPhone version coming out?

kato9 says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 5:11pm

Fun little game - would've benefited from some element of randomness though.

ghRibacki says ...
May 14, 2012 @ 12:56am

Nice game! Very simple, but funny and doesn't need a lot of thinking (which is very good sometimes). I just wished you had time to put on some power ups or something. Anyway, good work! =)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]