April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

The First Frontier

by Nickardson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The efforts of my first Ludum Dare! Gravity, rocket-powered semi-bald pale-faced spacemen, quick-moving stars, and UFOs!

Since it's made in LOVE, it should be compatable with Mac. Please send me a message if it doesn't work.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#127Theme3.63
#140Graphics3.67
#214Fun3.21
#286Innovation3.25
#377Mood2.75
#392Overall3.04
#446Humor2.19
#736Coolness42%

Comments

Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:39am

The game seemed to run faster than it was supposed to for me, everything was sped up. I like the concept though :)

Fireblend says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:07am

This is fun, although I kept trying to use the arrow keys instead of s and d, and it wasn't very clear to me how I got past the first level at first (although maybe that was my fault :P)

nihilocrat says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:09am

It also ran super-fast for me, but I was still able to beat it by carefully tapping S. I like the idea as well, makes me think of some part of Super Mario Galaxy.

When you do any time-sensitive stuff in a game, such as moving things with velocity, always multiply the velocity by the amount of time that's passed since the last game tick (I forget what LÖVE calls it, maybe timedelta or deltatime). This should make stuff move at the same rate on all computers.

PacifistGames says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:10am

I like the idea of launching off of planets and onto others, but the physics are off, it's pretty much impossible to know where you'll land. However, my fiancee and I thought it was really funny.

RandomOutput says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:14am

Dig the mechanic. Something about charging up the little spaceman and launching him about is really endearing. Feel like the puzzles need some kind of limiting resource though, maybe time, fuel, or number of launches? Also took me until the level where each planet has a start to realize the gravity mechanic. I feel like that's one of the core strengths of the game and would love to see what you'd do with more levels that utilize it.

Nickardson says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:39am

If the issue was only with the velocity, and not with the other elements of the game, I believe it should be fixed now. If not... I'm not sure.

AlwaysGeeky says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:01pm

I like the simple graphics...

oldtopman says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:20am

I cannot play on linux 64bit with love 0.8.0:
Error: main.lua:1028: Incorrect parameter type: expected userdata.
stack traceback:
[C]: in function 'setFont'
main.lua:1028: in function 'draw'
[string "boot.lua"]:410: in function <[string "boot.lua"]:373>
[C]: in function 'xpcall'

free_napalm says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:47am

Had fun playing it, even got used to the physics. Music, maybe a way to lose ("death" stars?) and more levels would have improved it a lot for me.

Zoomyzoom says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:29pm

Fantastic :D Most fun ive had yet! and ive played my own game..

orgarus says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:27pm

Hi!
Good looking game. It take me a few minutes to know what I have to do, in some levels I started to spin and spin and spin and then ¡I won! but don't know why, although is clear when you have to hit stars and UFOs. Despite this last comment I like it.

Congratulations!

Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:49pm

Pretty cool game. I think some audio would have really made a difference. As well as maybe some other gameplay elements to keep things interesting.

Awennor says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:46am

Cool game xD best one so far, cool-ish mechanic!

Tifu says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:59am

Awesome! Wish there had been more levels :D

vrld says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:43pm

Great fun! I liked the levels with multiple planets. Wish there had been more of them. Some simple sound effects would also have done wonders.

Muhiz says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 2:27am

Had same error as oldtopman but in Arch Linux 64bit x64 Love 0.8.

robcozzens says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 9:12pm

The OS/X link downloaded an exe.

davidwparker says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 1:32pm

Didn't work on OSX.

evilseanbot says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 8:08am

Game opened okay but the graphics wouldn't load (at least I don't think the game was supposed to be about white boxes).

Whoosy says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 5:51pm

This was *sort-of* how my game was supposed to be like originally, but it passed through so many revisions so they are barely like anymore.

Anyway, I love it! Really cool idea, graphics and what not.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]