Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Gum Crisis In Pipe City

by jason.bakker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey everyone! Here's my compo entry. Hope you enjoy!

By:
Jason Bakker ( http://twitter.com/Jason_Bakker )

Engine:
Flashpunk

IDE:
Flashdevelop

Tools:
GIMP 2
Ogmo Editor
SFXR
Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#68Humor3.36
#85Theme3.76
#188Innovation3.46
#257Overall3.27
#273Fun3.10
#305Mood2.91
#460Audio2.41
#546Graphics2.68
#670Coolness47%

Comments

madflame991 says ...
Apr 22, 2012 @ 7:20pm

I was a bit skeptical at first but the 'worms' are sooo cute and the idea is nice also... seeing that even the little one contributed in some way. Nice one!

jason.bakker says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:48am

Haha thanks a lot! It was really fun to make.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:16am

Cool stuff. I was tearing my hair out jumping with that tiny pixel haha

MyFrosch says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:56pm

Nice Game, i search the end... :D

Mago says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:28pm

Very cool and cute game!
Smaller and smaller creatures put smile on my face

AlwaysGeeky says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:33pm

Well implemented, good interpretation of the 'tiny world' theme :)

Keirua says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:01pm

Really funny idea ! The style is really great.

marudziik says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:37pm

Worms are very cute, especially when the worm on the top has the full "device" and says "heart". :) However, some minor flaws are: low friction (this is very frustrating when playing the one pixel thing) and repetitiveness. Other than that, it's a solid entry and a good take on the theme.

Diventurer says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:38pm

Nice game.
However, I can't quite seem to find an end? :P

RevoluGame says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:11am

Nice game !

Pierrec says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:28am

This blue guy has some great friends, I hope he's aware of it!
Congratulation, you almost made me ragequit with the last item to get. It was SO HARD!
Interesting game, it would have fit perfectly the non verbal communication theme, but it fits Tiny World anyway!

gritfish says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:48pm

Low-friction + single pixel landing space = :(
great otherwise, ALMOST stopped before blowing up the pink squares (to be fair, the title of the game should have been a hint) - maybe if the square was more obviously a bomb? Either way, figured it out pretty quick... good fun.

GFM says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 4:12pm

That last part was really hard!! >_<
But I really liked the way you interpreted the theme. =D

pgil says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 4:22pm

Had a lot of fun with this. The sounds and graphics are funny, and it's a pretty original idea. My only complaint is the scrolling doesn't allow me to see where I'm going.

oddgoo says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 4:15pm

5/5 for theme =)

alexlarioza says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 6:33am

I didn't have enough patience for the last tiny worm area because of the difficulty jumps, but overall, it was a cute game. =D

eigenbom says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 7:07am

Lol, that was a crackup, nice work..

Digitalis says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 7:38am

The concept is great, unique but easy to understand
Nice touch of having their 'voices' increase in pitch
Unfortunately, I must admit I gave up on jumping those tiny brown platforms with the tiny red worm ha ha

trylle says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 6:50pm

Oh, God, the jumping part with the tiny pixel was sheer torture. :D Great production, cool use of the theme. :)

Sodaware says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 2:33pm

I thoroughly enjoyed it, until the bit with the tiny platforms. The "speaking" was a nice touch, and even though the graphics are low-fi they have a lot of character. I just hate those pixel jumps ;)

seagaia says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 11:45pm

It was a pretty cool concept, I think, once I started figuring out what was going on!. Sound effects were incredibly annoying though.

johanp says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 7:47am

Fun little game. A bit tedious running up and down in the pipes, but the cuteness made up for it.

SonnyBone says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 9:02pm

Great use of theme! It gets a bit repetitive and could use some music, but this game is really unique. Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]