April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

OSC: Dawn

by crhallberg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

OSC:Dawn is a scientifically-plausible, physically-implausible space game. You play as the remote pilot of the real-life, ion-cannon-driven spacecraft DAWN, trying to help the recently discovered race on the drawf planet CERES; by dragging the planet with you.

HTML5. Made in and for FIREFOX (seems to dislike other browsers, actually. :/).

~*~*~*~

WAIT DON'T GO JUST YET! My friend made a game and couldn't upload it so I'm linking it here. You'll be judging this game, but my friend deserves credit for making such an awesome game himself. He just got screwed by a registration glitch.

~*~*~*~

Game With A Fantastic Title by Brett Taylor (aka BATzerk) - http://brettataylor.com/ld23/
MAC: http://mobiusflip.pbworks.com/w/file/52991236/application.macosx.zip
PC: http://mobiusflip.pbworks.com/w/file/52991231/application.windows32.zip
SOURCE: http://mobiusflip.pbworks.com/w/file/52991228/GameWithAFantasticTitle%20-%20SourceCode.zip

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#204Innovation3.41
#431Humor2.21
#475Mood2.62
#479Theme2.96
#596Fun2.52
#602Graphics2.56
#709Overall2.52
#713Audio1.43
#736Coolness42%

Comments

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:22am

Not sure if it's just my crappy machine, but every time I played at a few seconds in the screen stopped redrawing properly (the ship, planet and text were essentially stamping continuously on the background).

crhallberg says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:47pm

Are you playing in Firefox? Try as I might, I couldn't get any other browser to clear the canvas properly. I'll try to get it to port better to other browsers.

crhallberg says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:56pm

Is that better? Works in Chrome for me now.

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:22pm

It seems to lock up for me after getting it in the landing zone. The action freezes, anyway, but the shot meter is still blinking.... I'm on Firefox.

Sorry I can't play your friend's game, I'm on Linux! :)

greg20man says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:59am

I'm not sure what I just did but it said I saved the day, yay me! haha

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:22am

yeaaaa!

racarate says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 2:01am

Whoa, I played this on Chrome on Ubuntu and man, it crawled! It took about three minutes to get to the asteroid. I tried on Firefox and it was much better. It ran nice and smooth until the "stop in the landing zone" sequence and it just slowed down again. I liked where you were going with it though. The slow introduction of game elements was spot on. The concept of towing a planet is powerful, and the mechanic of action-growing corn by towing your planetside into the sun is hilarious. Too bad no music though, it's so hard to get into a silent game even in space.

racarate says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 2:03am

Also, a bystander noted "It looks like a science teacher made this game!"

May 2, 2012 @ 3:22pm

Ha, this is great.

Shigor says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 7:53pm

Firefox (on mac) tends to get very slow, chrome works better. Both stop responding after parking in the zone.

mneubrand says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 5:29am

Interesting concept. Just seems very short. Played through in like 30 sec or is there supposed to be more things happening after parking in the zone.

crhallberg says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 9:35pm

Thanks for all the great comments guys! Wish I could've gotten the final level working, spent too much time on the tutorial, I'll post the finished version when I fix the math!

Zener says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 9:48pm

Short but I love the idea!

lorancou says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 10:32pm

That was quick :) I love your graphics!

lorancou says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 10:41pm

And you friend's game is great, to bad he couldn't register for ratings. Very nice music, the graphics are fresh, and the gameplay is fun. I give it a 5/5! If I was him I'd go get the admins so they give it the place it deserves, even if it won't get a proper rating now.

Jedi says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 11:05pm

I felt a little lost but I bet I would feel lost in space anyway. Was something supposed to happen after I parked the sphere? I didn't rate the audio because it wasn't working right on my computer

masterhyjinx says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 11:08pm

Fabulous concept and use of the theme. Nice to see someone use HTML 5 too. I really liked the set up and the mechanics (Use of the sun). I didn't get very far because when I get to the first goal of putting the planet in a zone performance drops significantly and I can't seem to move the planet at all.

(It seemed to malfunction in Chrome with colors painting everywhere)

johnfn says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 11:29pm

Cute. The controls could be a little better, but I understand that there's some attempt at physical reality going on here :) Too bad it's so short, because the concept of the planet giving you resources is super clever.

Make A Game says ...
May 14, 2012 @ 12:21am

What a bizarre idea, certainly new for me!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]