April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Something Movable

by YSelf Tool - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I provide a packages version and an installer, for the packaged version you need both .NET-Framework 4.0 and XNA 4.0 (if they are not already installed).

The installer should install both automatically, but I recommand to use the package.

Links:
Download XNA 4.0:
http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=23714

Download .NET-Framework 4.0:
http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=17851

What is a 'tiny World'?
In this game you will find yourself imprisoned by a crazy AI on the moon, where you should establish a base.

On your way out of the base (is there a way?) you learn the AIs point of view. You partied because you found the moon - but (even if you add the earth to it) this is nearly zero compared to the entire universe!

The AI - it's name is GiDOS - can't understand why you don't use silicium processors like it does, because it's intelligence and your brain is like the universe and the earth.

But - maybe you will find out?


The game I called "Something Movable" is a platformer/Jump-'n'-Run.
At the beginning you can just move your MaRv1n (Magnific airsupply Resistancesuit version 1 n), but on your way through the space station (which looks more like hell) you find some upgrades. Sometimes they will help you - make you faster, let you jump higher, or you will even find a jetpack - some of them make you slower.

The levels are interrupted by story sequences with GiDOS talking to you. Each level is randomly generated and will never be the same - even if you just restart your level ('R') it will be different.

The levels consist of different layers you can move through, but it starts with just one.

You always start left, your goal is to get to the right side.

The menu works like a console, and from there you can play custom levels (each level is generated from a text - for custom levels you need to write the level into a txt-File - help: Type in 'HELP').

It is inspired by Portal, maybe a little bit Minecraft and not much Mario.

If you like to comment or criticize - always appreciated.

For this game I used my own XNA-Front-End (it was a mess to write all these models in .xml-Files, sorry, but there is not much animation).

Because of the use of XNA it should run on every Windows, but you can try to use Linux/Mac with Mono too (never tested, on your own risk).

I have made all the textures, models, sounds, songs and texts on my own in the last 48 hours.

- YSelf Tool

P.S:
The tools I used are:
Microsoft Visual C# 2010 Express (code, build and models)
Paint.net 3.3 (graphics/textures)
Microsoft Paint (visualising ideas)
Microsoft Editor (for planning)
Subversion 1.7.3 (version control system)
Minecraft Note Block Studio (for the music)
sfxr (sounds)
Microsoft Snipping Tool (screenshots)

P.P.S:
The help does not say that, but you can type in "CREDITS" too ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#200Humor2.78
#206Audio3.04
#396Mood2.73
#549Graphics2.67
#592Overall2.72
#615Fun2.48
#741Innovation2.21
#762Theme2.30

Comments

devwil says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:33pm

***I'm posting this on all non-browser games I bring up in an attempt to encourage folks to make browser games next time around. Do not take it personally.***

When hundreds of people make non-browser games, that means that, to play all of the entries, I would need to download hundreds of games to my computer. I typically use OS X, so Windows-only entries are particularly inconvenient.

Please consider making a browser game next time.

omaha says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:33pm

XNA doesn't run well in linux+wine environments :( I'm sad, I want to check out more of the 3d title from this LD. This one looks really cool, reminds me of the lava in quake

Naouak says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:36pm

I loved the mood of you game eventhough it was very portal-like. The controls need a bit of tweaking as the jumps are hard to predict.

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:54pm

I liked the play on the GladOS :P I got to like level 9 or 10 or something before I hit ESC trying to skip the blue screen (toooooooo many zeros :P) and it took me back to the start, (I tried START but it took me to level 1) so I just gave up...

Let's just say it took me a while to get to whatever level I did hit :P Pretty cool job (BTW: are those levels just generating randomly? It seemed like they were changing between each spawn)

(Also: tip for anyone playing...you might find it easier to just hold down forward+jump to make it to the end of the level and then try to be precise there..:P)

YSelf Tool says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:06pm

john:
Thank you :)
"BTW: are those levels just generating randomly? It seemed like they were changing between each spawn"
Yes, the levels are generated completely random and there is always a new level when you die. I just like random levels :)
btw: Your pro tip is right, it is the best way to win ;)

Naouak:

Some of the items you get at the end of levels change your speed/jump height.

danlthemanl says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:33pm

It was alright. If stuck on a wall, the jumping sound is REALLY LOUD

KungPhoo says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:54pm

crash with CLR20r3. System.IO.FileNotFoundException.
Sorry for that.

LukeRissacher says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:09pm

Ha. Pure deranged madness. :) Nice to see some 3D graphics. Controls were too sensitive though, given that you couldn't see too far ahead with the camera angle.

YSelf Tool says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:41pm

danlthemanl:
Yes, that bug is the most annoying one. The problem is my collision test. Always try to land at the top and will not hear it :)

KungPhoo:
Some file has to be missing, but I don't know which :(

Luke:
I thought about implementing more cameras or a wider angle/bigger distance, but this way I always ran through the levels :) This way you never know where you will arrive.

Rex Peppers says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:49am

Cant play it on my mac. Screenshots sure look interesting though.

Jack says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:11pm

Can't run it on XP, exits with an error report dialogue and no error information

matt9837 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:31pm

Jump physics are very wonky, easy to just jump your way through levels as well. Collision needs work. Other than that, I had a blast playing this game!

Kitch says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:17am

Needs moar douglas adams references.
Pretty fun little game. Took a while to adjust to the physics of the game... and quite suprised to see that levels seem to change on me. But overall, a good time. Good job!

invaderJim says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:52pm

Nice little puzzle platformer. And the GiDOS dialog is great :D

Jungorend says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:09pm

The walljump is a bit hard to pull-off, but when you get it down, the game becomes a lot more manageable for people like me who are bad at platformers. Also, if you jump vertically, and then move, it seems easier to predict where you'll land. I think that's because of how the camera moves?

YSelf Tool says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:46am

Jungorend:
Not only the camera, if you already move and then jump you are somehow... faster.
Walljumps are not easy because the game does not differentiate between normal jumps and wall jumps.

Valeour says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 1:26pm

The controls annoyed me a bit, and the music is quite cool, although does get annoying. Collision seems a bit funky at best though. Interesting entry!

moop says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 11:04am

Jumping and presence of collision was very hard to judge. :(

toadd-y says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 5:28pm

Sadly... even in indie game dev, so much games are not playable on UNIX environment... i hate xna!

Raptor85 says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:40pm

can't test due to xna dep

angrygeometry says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 9:41pm

few problems with controls and camera, but overall pretty cool!

robcozzens says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 5:47am

I would try it, but I am on an iMac.

Endurion says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 7:06pm

Unfortunately you chose the HiDef profile, so I can't test it.

JellyFame says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 3:51pm

Unfortunately cannot play, don't have access to windows box.
HTML5 :)

barigorokarl says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 7:45pm

Cool thing with the text and speechthing. The controls are a little bit too wobbly.

YSelf Tool says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 9:20pm

So... next time in WinPhone-Mode / not in C# / not on Windows? Sorry, I like Windows & XNA. OpenGL/Java might be an alternative, but I will not use HTML 5.

ghRibacki says ...
May 14, 2012 @ 12:28am

Bad accuracy on the controller, gave up on level 6 (too hard!!). The dialogs are funny and reminds me (for obvious reasons) of Portal. Good work nonetheless. =)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]