Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Le Petit

by Pixelulsar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare entry! Sorry for all you Mac and Linux users but I have no idea how to port it over to other operating systems. If anyone can tell me how it would be greatly appreciated. I know it's a bit early but I feel that if I start to add other stuff, it will loose that sense of completeness that I think it has now. I'm happy with it and I like the little "gimmick" it has. Arrow keys to move, and you can double jump. A quick tip is that this game is majorly about saving your second jump for the right time. Hope you guys like it and good luck everyone. This game is quite hard, sorry but I didn't want to ruin it by making it too easy, and I used to making hard games.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#118Graphics3.76
#160Overall3.45
#165Fun3.31
#272Humor2.57
#333Mood2.83
#367Audio2.62
#636Innovation2.51
#782Theme2.22

Comments

binary_girl says ...
Apr 22, 2012 @ 11:56pm

like the graphics and sound but cant for the life of me get over the 1st jump hehe.. the double jump doesnt seem to work right at the edge :(

Pixelulsar says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:48am

if you walk of the edge the second jumps doesn't work. You need to do the first jump while you are still on solid ground, you must have been walking off the edge before you jumped

Fireblend says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:40am

It's as frustrating as it's good-looking, it's a good thing it has checkpoints, but some of the jumps are maddeningly hard, I'm not sure if I even made it half way through before quitting in frustration! :)

Endurion says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:47am

The controls nearly kill this game. The level design does not help much either :)
After finally making the first jump I gave up on the bit with the yellow rings and the spikes. I was not able to survive the small gap in the middle.

Designed too tough, try a bit more friendliness towards the player ;)

Endurion says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:01am

Phew, finally made it. This is so frustating, I gave up before.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:58am

Nice idea! .but it is ridiculously hard and punishing. I also like how the terrain-cubes vary in shades.

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:16pm

Damn that was so hard, i ahve seen my own soul flying away so many times xD Awesome design though, really cool style.

jami says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:41pm

And little angels fly everywhere... Really hard!

YMM says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:42pm

I think the spike hitboxes are a bit too unforgiving (are they just the full image?)

ReddogStone says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:44pm

Quit, when I actually made it to the top at the IMPOSSIBLY HARD line up of the yellow circles just TO DIE AT THE TOP SPIKES... phew... phew. Rage over. The game is very nice! I like the idea of seing your dead bodies scattered all over :D That's motivating...

ComaToes says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:50pm

It is very hard (or maybe I'm really bad ;) but I'm happy to say that I've tried.

blob says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:59pm

Excellent jeu ! :)
Great design, and very mean difficulty ! I had to take a small break before the final challenge to lower the pressure. Finished in 66 deaths.
The music did try to drive me crazy but I survived.
Lastly its not very close to the theme, great game anyway.

robbiehunt says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:05pm

Okay, the graphics and the sound and the cuteness all work really well together so major props there. BUT:

Really really punishing from the get go - BUT there are a lot of people who like that kind of thing - I'm just not one of them.

Overall though, I think you did a great job, even if I'm not a fan of the punishing platformer genre.

Dakota says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:07pm

The only thing it was missing was a death counter haha.

Nice game managed to get a good difficulty.

JaJ says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:13pm

Looks good and nice audio, but it gets too hard too quickly, mostly because when you fall down the double jump doesn't respond quickly enough. I didn't finish the game.

Pixelulsar says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:24pm

@Dakota there is a death counter...

the8donut says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:24pm

Aw god this game is flipping hard! But other than that, it's a really nice platformer. good job!

firstrowgames says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:30pm

nice game kinda rememides me of super meat boy

sirpalee says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:32pm

I second that, the game is haaard. But otherwise it would have been very nice.

Mach60KAS says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:16pm

The game is punishingly cruel - it honestly reminds me of IWBTG with the double jump mechanic at times. I liked the graphics (which are strikingly similar to my own game...), and overall I found the game maddening but enjoyable. :)

bms says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:30pm

This is the single most demonically beautiful game I've ever played! 533 dead babies piled up at the end.. that hi pitched music.. that big halo at the end.. You sir, are a twisted person for making this game. All 5 stars! congrats!

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:40pm

Really enjoyed this. The simplicity and the great graphics kept me focused despite how challenging it was. Unfortunately the bit with the spikes and the hoops was to hard for me and I couldn't get any further :(

Pixelulsar says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:00am

@ bms you are amazing! You got 533 deaths to beat this game, it's awesome! P.S. they are not babies, they are like pink blob monsters.

Terra says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:56am

This was great! I found the difficulty to be very good; it's hard (very very hard), but it's fair.

The graphics and the sound were lovely too!

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:29am

UGH SO HARD! But fun. BUT HARD. But fun.

Good work!

johnfn says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:16pm

This game is insanely hard. The graphics are beautiful, but wow is it punishing. You practically have to be pixel perfect with some jumps. I would really really like an 'easy mode' that gives you a bit higher jump height (or maybe slows down the game).

It's a good game, I just suck at it ;-)

fatSquirrel says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:34pm

I made it to the spike room! I like the frequent respawn points along with the fast pace between deaths. I like the art style too.

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:37pm

Argh! I suck at platformers, so after dying a few hundred time on the first two pits gave up. But overall a pretty nice and polished game, especially for the compo

Danvil says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:37pm

I tried like 348 times to come up the S shaped spiked corridor with the yellow jump pads and then quit in rage *hrgh*
The game should be a bit more forgiving. Also I missed the relation to the theme and did not hear sound/music.

youdonotexist says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:32pm

Can we get a Mac/Unix/Web version of this? I'd like to play, but I don't have a Windows machine.

samwoakley says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:33pm

So hard!! But I love the art and the idea behind it all. I'm too much of a quitter to get all the way to the end, but the premise of having to die countless times is really quite cool (god that sounds sombre)
Like it :)

desmarkie says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:33pm

This is brutal! Managed to get to the second star, but that s-bend (3rd screenshot) is just EVIL!! :D

Evil Cult says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:35pm

[Comments and ratings from this account come from various team members]
Wow! That was a hard game but I got through to the end and with only 135 deaths! This was one of those games where I just had to keep going even though it was insanely frustrating. It reminded me a bit of super meat boy which is a big compliment in my book. Good graphics, music could use a bit of work. Level design was great, movement worked well. Would have liked to see WASD controls for those of us that prefer that. Loved the deaths stayed there a little bit as a reminder of my past failures. Very polished. Could go on and on about the features I liked but I'll just say it's one of my favourites so far! Great work :)

Jack says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:38pm

beautiful game with goddamn amazing mechanics. The absolute best kind of difficult - the kind where you know exactly what to do and it doesn't feel like the game's cheating you. The feeling of victory when you complete a difficult jump is brilliant

Nightsjester says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:53pm

Its a very nice little game but there are a few things I feel are worth mentioning. Its difficulty curve is rather insane, I feel it would have felt a bit more fun if there was more of a chance to actually learn the timing on the various jumps, etc. Also alot of the reasons you die is because you can't really tell whats going untill its too late. Overall good job but pacing needs some work.

natpat says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:08pm

Blimey that was hard. Too hard for me, but I liked the sweet graphics :)

geekygenius says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 6:08am

Wow. This game was great! The level design was really good. It reminded me of my philosophy where you teach the player how to use a skill, then have them use it. The ambient strange audio worked very well. It might have been me playing it half asleep at 11pm, but the second the audio started, I was pulled into the game. It was literally the only thing I could think about. I've gotta try that in one of my games! That S thingy is pretty hard though, I had to give up and get some rest, but WOW great work. Best rating I've given so far. The graphics were a little lacking, for next time, I would recommend using the tile system in Game Maker, to add more artistic depth as they demonstrated on with the platformer on the keynote. That's all above and beyond polish though. I would be happy to see this game place. Great job!

elektron says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:11pm

Nice game! My only complaint is how annoying the music is.

BlackDogg says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:07pm

WAY too hard for me, I sucks at plateformer :), but still a great entry with a very nice art style that fits well ! At first I was annoyed by the character sounds but it made me laugth in the end and it didn't bother me anymore. A great entry, but not really my kind of game/difficulty :)

robcozzens says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:16am

Didn't play because I'm on a Mac, but I watched the video and that looks brutally difficult! I love that you can see the dead bodies from your previous attempts though.

Kendja says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:35am

Uh, so many spikes.
The game very well done.

Ranoka says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:03pm

I got to the part with the square disappearing blocks. This game is incredibly hard, but in a pixel and timing perfect way, which can get quite frustrating. I think the learning curve could have been a bit more gentle, like a sign showing to double jump and some easy spike parts before the crazy spike tunnel. Essentially it was 'If you can't get over the first wall, you can't play this game' :D for the masochist platform player only. That said, this is a very good one of those, I like the jump rings it's a nice mechanic. I kept forgetting you die from height (might be nice to point that out with a sign the first time). I might try again to see if I can get all the way through! Also, I liked the sound effects, but the music loop was a bit too short.

Rex Peppers says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:35am

Any chance for a mac/web version? Would like to play this game...

Tourgen says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:24pm

pretty good game. the controls need some work. up arrow for jump is maybe not a great choice. I liked the sprites and the tiles though quite a bit.

Make A Game says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 1:45am

Cool art-style. I had the same problems with the controls that other people talked about before, though. Controls felt bugged and I had to read your first comment here to learn about how it actualy works. I like the challenge but it gets a bit frusting :) Keep at it!

Make A Game says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 2:05am

Aaaaand after more than 300 deaths I got to finish it. Every checkpoint is a victory. :)

deejorg says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 2:06am

Yes, it is hard but after 311 deaths i managed to finish it and i must say... i loved it. The graphics are amazing and the controls easea bit after a while. Seeing as it's so challenging i'd like a better finish though hehe. Congrats!

Knighty says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 8:54am

I finished it with 75 deaths :p
It's hard, but it's a good kind of difficulty I think. It just requires very precise movements.

May 12, 2012 @ 5:04pm

That was a really bloody hard game! o.O But I like it!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]