April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

A Perfect Purpose

by Siewart - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's not done, not at all. I still managed to put a little objective/reward in it. I hope you still like it. :)

To clarify:
The purpose is to sort the blocks. But as I said the game is not done, or anywhere near that. But I know my artist colleagues like the idea behind this game:
Trapped inside a world without knowing, (or wanting to know) what is outside and just doing what is our purpose. And knowing that doing this gives pleasure.
But even this message is hard to find in it's current state.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#171Mood3.17
#222Graphics3.36
#436Theme3.03
#567Innovation2.63
#615Audio1.97
#686Humor1.71
#754Overall2.44
#849Fun1.80

Comments

deneb says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:53pm

Maybe you should explain the purpose on the description page ?
Is the actual goal of the game just sort blocks ?

Siewart says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:29pm

Ok, you are probably right. Done!

the8donut says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:00am

The game itself is very simple, but graphics are really cool and different! Good job.

Beerman says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:12am

Looks great, and movement has a nice feel to it. If there was some actual gameplay in there this would be a really decent entry.

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:16am

I have no idea what's going on but I love his little arms waggling

Siewart says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:12pm

Hey, thanks, this is really the feedback I could only wish for ! Thanks for still being positive :)

strega says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:29am

I liked the art, but overall the game felt really repetitive.

TenTonToon says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:07pm

Quite the concept... Disturbing, in a certain positive way...

Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:21pm

Like the feel of it. Too easy to lose blocks though.

Gabriel says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:53pm

Nice try, a shame it isn't finished! Maybe you should have used more 24 hours and submitted it as a jam entry?
I get the message and I think it's cool. As others said, some actual gameplay would help. This reminds me of another very cool entry, "love in the time of fishbowl" - http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-23/?action=preview&uid=12630
And my own entry as well, which is vaguely related. ;)

MinerCraftGuy says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:09pm

Hope to play this game when it's done. The Ant def. makes it look like a game for Android as well.

deejorg says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:04am

The game isn't complete but i like the feeling of the control and the graphics. I will give some stars for that :)

Kassoon says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:05am

I like the look of it, and it's impressive that you put in a radar. A bug I ran into is if you move a crate into a collector the crate will disappear but it'll continue to play the "beam active" sound continuously.

Evil Cult says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 7:46am

[Comments and ratings from this account come from various team members]
Cool art style, shame you didn't get more time to work on this.

rvmook says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:25pm

To bad you didn't get the time to finish it. Would've loved to see where this was going

Jezzamon says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:25pm

Interesting, but obviously unfinished. :C

Maybe try and focus less on the graphics next time? (Although they are the one part of the game that's done pretty well).

Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:06pm

Lol. I just kept going! Creepy.

graytest says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:23pm

I like the art. But other than that it feels very unfinished.

Waynetron says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:12am

It looks really good. I've seen things that look like that in a microscope :)

azurenimbus says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 2:40am

You've got a ways to go to finish it, but it already looks promising.

dr_soda says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 7:35am

It does have a very pretty presentation, but really this feels more like a tech demo than a game. I'd really like to have seen a finished version.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]