Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Lighthouse - gritfish - Jam Entry

W,A,S,D or arrow keys to move around.
Click on the buttons to rotate segments of the level.
You cannot rotate the segment you are in.

Press W / up to open doors and climb ladders /ropes.
Collect all the fireflies to complete a level.
The next playable level is marked with a yellow glow.

If you get stuck, you can reset the level using the
button in the bottom right of the screen.

(The on-screen instructions say A opens doors, it doesn't - that was a typo - Thanks for pointing that out, Darkwater)

View gritfish's journal. | View all entries by gritfish

Ratings

Coolness100%
#9Innovation(Jam)4.00
#28Audio(Jam)3.76
#44Overall(Jam)3.59
#57Fun(Jam)3.27
#67Mood(Jam)3.29
#98Graphics(Jam)3.52
#166Humor(Jam)2.00
#178Theme(Jam)2.56

Comments

Darkwater says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:31pm

I think you jump with W and not with A

Darkwater says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:35pm

You should add a mute button, that's all.

gritfish says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:56pm

Updated the description to fix the W/A typo - thanks Darkwater. You should never write your instuction copy at 3am...

Cambrian_Man says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:11am

The music was great and I loved the idea. I think the levels were randomly generated? I felt like that might've worked against it as I was pressing the reset button fairly often after getting stuck and on occasion I felt like I was just resetting until I got a favorable board rather than solving the puzzles. I'd love to see the concept expanded, though, I think there's enough there for a full game.

gritfish says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:21am

Thanks, Cambrian_Man!
The levels ARE randomly generated, but should be mostly doable. The trick involves getting the piece behind the camera and then bringing it back in a different direction (eg: rotating it out left and bringing it back from the top) - this will bring the piece back in, but rotated differently.

Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:41am

I really liked playing your game. It took me a time to figure out what to do and that one can press the white round buttons. If you add buttons that might make it a bit more intuitive. Apart from that very well done!

Shigor says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:02pm

If not for comments bellow, I probably woulnd't find out that buttons can be pressed by mouse, i thought it's another platform and was getting frustrated how to get to it...

After finding this i found the game usually either easy or unplayable ;) (some levels doesn't seem winable, I had to reset).

Overall: very good

davidwparker says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:06pm

Overall, I really like it. I think the lighthouse thing was great. Like quixotic said below, I had no idea what to do at the level once I started. The buttons didn't really say 'click me' and I had to tab back to this page to figure it out. I'd suggest adding some instructions for that.
Another bug I found was when climbing the island, it didn't follow my character (the first time, I didn't go into any puzzle rooms) and then I couldn't see my character anymore (at all) as he had climbed too high.

Good job though- the music was great.

gritfish says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:35pm

Thanks Shigor and davidwparker. I've added extra instructions to this page, and the page it's sitting on.
The camera not folloing the camera at the start was a concious choice - I thought it'd make the door more obvious (I could only push the background detail so far in the timeframe)

fatSquirrel says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:33pm

I entered the room with the blue door and clicked on the top left button to rotate the room then lamp was teleported to the top left and couldn't move.
Nice music and concept.

Sanguine says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:34pm

Very nice, reminds me of Rubik Cubes!

GranaDa says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:16pm

Lovely and very fun Concept! Great Music, and art direction We love it!

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:40am

What an amazing concept! It took me a few minutes to understand what I was doing, although that's partially due to the fact I didn't completely read the instructions. It'd be cool if the rotations were hotmapped to keys so that i didnt have to use a mouse. Great game though!

Zerot says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:21am

Liked the music and the gameplay. Could use some instructions in game.

orgarus says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:14pm

I like sooooooo much.
In 48 hours you give us a game with: Impressive looking. Impressive sound. Although it take to me a pair of minutes to catch the game mechanics it a challenging game and it push you to go on an on. I'll give you a second try to finish it.

Congratulations.

Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:18pm

I really love the mechanic! It adds a whole new dimension of depth to a 2D game. I didn't actually know that I had to click on the dots to rotate at first but it was pretty awesome after I figured that out!

Throbbery says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:51pm

Really interesting game mechanic. Controls description on the game page still say A to jump. In concept I like the randomly generated levels but could be improved by randomly generating during the authoring process and curating the best ones for inclusion in the game. ~Shaun

Rex Peppers says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:25pm

Nice job! Loved the level selection screen...

Sup Dood says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:51pm

Awesome game! The core game mechanic was really fun and got me hooked enough to play the whole game. It would have been interesting to add more elements to the game mechanic, however, the puzzles were still complex enough. I ran into a bug twice where some of the "lights" would'nt appear at all (I tried rotating all 4 directions all the way through) and I was forced to reset, but it wasn't a huge deal. My only real knock on this game would be that some of the sound effects were a bit too much; like jumping on the bridge and the clanky sounds at the very start of the game. Overall, awesome job! Maybe the best game I've played so far.

Evil Cult says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:57am

[Comments and ratings from this account come from various team members]
Love the concept! As others have said below I think the random element probably works against the game a bit. It also took a little bit to realise the buttons were pressed by mouse. I think this is a cool idea and could be great with a bit of tweaking.

Norgg says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 12:22pm

Awesome artwork and music and enjoyed the core mechanic too.

I don't agree with people saying the buttons were confusing at all, they were really prominent and clearly in the nice and concise instructions.

I found almost all of the levels to be on the easy side and the random generation kind of worked against the level progression, made it feel a little bit grindy. I think a few hand-crafted levels with interesting puzzles to work out would have worked better than the random generation here. Being able to just plunge off the side to get a light without really having any consequences seemed odd too.

Jhelle says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 12:47pm

I liked it!
Loved the transition effect,overall polish, music and idea. Great job you all!

seagaia says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:39am

Nice aesthetics! Cool concept too, I liked the rotating idea...

dokidoki says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:57am

I liked this a lot. It made me think of Continuity a little bit. http://continuitygame.com/playcontinuity.html
It's cool that levels are randomly generated, but for me, the last level was quite easy partly because two pickups (they look like Mickey Mouse ears to me :) were in the same quadrant.

davidpeter says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 5:59am

Encountered a bug on the last level where I kept respawning on a point with x = 0. Sad times. But the rest of the game was really fun and addicting - nice work!

Waynetron says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:16am

It looks and sounds great. I got stuck so didn't really get into it.

nek says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 1:40pm

I really like the game and managed to finish it :)
It's a rare case of arcade puzzle I like to play. The problem is repetitiousness of gameplay. I haven't felt the hardness of levels were going up. And there was no additional gameplay elements introduced.
Otherwise it's a solid gaming experience with the beginning, the end and good gameplay in between.
BTW one time I felt I was stuck but I just had to use my brain more )

Hegemege says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 8:57am

Very polished game, I like it a lot! Although the randomized puzzles made the game really easy at times(and really hard as well, especially with some unbeatable levels o_o) I liked the mechanics, very original, and the "world" view added some story/progression to it as well :) Good work!

Draknek says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 8:23pm

Great idea!

Music is good, sound effects less so.

Main complaint would be that levels are less about smart thinking ahead than I'd like.

onehandclap says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 4:57pm

Great effort, congratulations!

uberneen says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 3:49pm

That's a solid game, great job. I especially enjoyed the music.

gregdevice says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 5:18am

Wow, really nice graphics and interesting gameplay. There were a few times I kept falling and teleporting to the same spot over and over but I recovered!

gavin5564 says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 10:07pm

Seriously fantastic game, I have not played a good puzzler in ages. I suggest expanding and porting to tablets such as the ipad.

You must sign in to comment.

[cache: storing page]