April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Planet Master

by Dakota - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Well that was fun.

However anyone that plays this be warned as its not as great as it looks sadly. There is no sound as A) suck at making mods B) MaxMod had a fit with all my poor coding and made all the sound effects crackly.

There is also a graphical glitch which kind ruins the whole game for me and I tried so many things to try and fix it. The planets will suddenly pop out of no where are also become huge squares. This is cause by the way that the GBA handles objects on the screen. Rather than going to -1 in the x it actually wraps round to 511 which I do checks for and have it all set up to cut them out after a set distance but they seem to enjoy ignoring it.

Other Notes Save and Map doesn't work since the planets are always in the incorrect places and I didnt get round to sorting out the memory copy to the SRAM and I dont know how to set the make file to clear the SRAM to what I want on each build.

I think I did the worst thing you can do for this event: go to work, use a low end bit of hardware and try and make a complex game haha.

Any way have fun. emulators included if you wish to use them

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#76Innovation3.79
#247Graphics3.30
#471Overall2.90
#601Mood2.41
#622Fun2.47
#661Theme2.55
#680Audio1.71
#693Humor1.69

Comments

Sanguine says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:46pm

Amazing that you actually made a GBA game! Anyway, I still liked the game, I love spacesims. I think that the game can become really awesome with sound effects and such!

matheus23 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:51pm

Wow... can't believe you made an GBA game... but I cant get the emulator working... :(

bms says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:56pm

Wow I can't believe you actually made a GBA game! I didn't even know you could do that xD though I couldn't really get the game to work.. It stays at the splash screen.

Dakota says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:59pm

O sorry its start to enter the game. It was a title screen totally forgot to mention that.

@matheus23 what platform are you on im not able to check the mac and Linux versions sadly

davidllanos22 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:35pm

A GBA GAME? REALLY? That's so cool maan! I don't like those kind of games, but I wanted to take it a look anyway :D well done :)

mikolalysenko says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:59pm

Haha! This is bad ass! Fantastic work!

Mago says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:56pm

GBA game? Seriously? Amazing!
I love your graphics. Planets looks really neat!

AlwaysGeeky says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:05pm

Great stuff with the GBA game :-D !!

Jacic says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:27pm

Nice idea to do a GBA game! And good job on the game itself!

crazyheckman says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:23pm

Weird game but pretty impressive for a gba rom. I've worked with those before and they are not easy. Aside from a few bugs it was an interesting game.

gormio says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:49pm

Points for making a GBA game. I even got it working with the emulator. The window size of a GBA screen is quite small on a 26" monitor :)

invaderJim says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:27pm

5 Innovation stars for GBA game :D Needs explosions, then it will be AAA.

Madball says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:46pm

Everybody says it, but wow, a GBA game! I found an epic bug: If you select some things to buy, and some not to buy, you can point at thing you didn't choose (so it's 0) and hold left. The price goes down! You can buy 200 large ships for free. The same goes for holding right at a maximum value: you can buy nothing for a price.
And how is that a tiny world?

pighead10 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:46pm

How do I run this!

bms says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:45pm

I got it to work this time! so cool i will certainly mess around with the code when I have time xD 5 stars for Innovation!

Dakota says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:36pm

There are so many bug in this haha thats just one of many. If you fight a enemy and loose a so many ships that it become -1 it actually goes to 65535 as its an unsigned variable and I forgot to bound check.

Dont expect anything amazing from the source code

devwil says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:36pm

***I'm posting this on all non-browser games I bring up in an attempt to encourage folks to make browser games next time around. Do not take it personally.***

When hundreds of people make non-browser games, that means that, to play all of the entries, I would need to download hundreds of games to my computer. I typically use OS X, so Windows-only entries are particularly inconvenient.

Please consider making a browser game next time.

LFleck says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:43am

GBA, really good ideia.

liger13 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:34am

Haha. didn't expect any GBA games. Wish I new a bit more of what was happening. Never did much programming on the GBA, but it might be easier (both with distribution and developing) to use something that can export to the web next time.

Nanofus says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:45pm

Wow, a GBA game. Thumbs up for that alone. Wow. Also, the game is fun.

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 9:26pm

It's a bit buggy and there's not a whole lot to do in terms of a goal, but the fact that you made a game for GBA is pretty amazing, and it's not a bad game, either. For some reason I couldn't access the menu after a while.

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 3:14pm

Impressive, and I've played around a bit, but there isn't really a goal, is there?

robcozzens says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 5:46am

Wow. Having to run a GBA emulator seems like a really high barrier to entry. I didn't know what keys did what and once the menu appeared, I couldn't get rid of it.

Daz says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 4:24pm

There were a couple of typos and some glitches. I bought some more small, med, and large ships and my home planet said I had 65,000 of them. (I think you hit MAX_INT) There were also some problems where planets would show randomly (or was this a feature) and after defeating a planet and mining it sometimes the battle screen showed. Also didn't have any sound effects so didn't hear any corrupt sounds either. Win x64 using the included emulator. Pretty interesting game though over all.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]