April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

The Two of Us

by scoopsy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WARNING: This is rather unfinished.

HOW TO PLAY: Arrows control movement, spacebar shoots. The game will immediately exit if you get shot, touch a live enemy, or reach the goal. That's incredibly user-unfriendly, but like I said, this is pretty rough around the edges.

I'm submitting it only because BY GOD I AM PROUD OF THIS HEAP.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#678Humor1.73
#755Audio1.20
#779Graphics2.15
#811Mood1.93
#838Fun1.84
#865Innovation1.84
#884Theme1.63
#894Overall1.68

Comments

Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:15am

Not able to run it :(

orgarus says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:16pm

Hi scoopsy, I can't test it properly in a few seconds it closes it self.
I'm sorry :(

jrasmussen24 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:38am

I think the game closes every time the character gets hit by a bullet. DESPITE THIS, I still found it quite hilarious (and both the jump physics and death animation were great). I quit shortly after getting past the first jump and realized that was probably the best I was going to do... it took quite a few attempts.

Apr 28, 2012 @ 11:52am

Can't play it, don't have a mac. Having a mac-only game probably limits people being able to play it quite severely.

Jim Haslett says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:35pm

Sorry, don't have a mac handy, so I can't play.

Jeremias says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:45pm

Visuals look interesting. Sadly, I have no mac :(

someone says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:48pm

Can't run this. No mac.

JonathanG says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:21pm

I can't run this, I don't have a Mac

angrygeometry says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:25pm

i'm afraid i can't play, sorry :(

SpaceToaster says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:29pm

I wish wish wish you had a window$ version :(

Attrition says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:36pm

Sorry, can't play - on Windows!

quickfingers says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:42pm

its a shame you couldn't of spent a bit more time doing a proper restart I thought the gameplay might of been great if I could get round the constant restarting the app :)

RHY3756547 says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 9:04pm

I usually use windows, but I'll probably try when I switch to OSX at one point. Looks nice.

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 9:45pm

Can't play it either. If it were Linux, Windows, or even Mobile I'd give it a shot.

ekunkeo says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 9:51pm

I wanted to try out the game that coincidentally had the same name as ours, but unfortunately I don't have a Mac.

-ekun

PsySal says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:03pm

Looks cool, unfortunately I don't have a mac that will play this. So I won't rate it.

jwolf says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:26pm

Actually, scoopsy, there is a chance that you can play my entry since I made an executable jar. I haven't tested it on a Mac though, so it might not actually run. Just letting you know, in case you're willing to risk it.

I definitely can't play your entry though, since I don't have a Mac.

smvilar says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:45pm

Like you say, it's terribly unfinished. :(

Kvisle says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:52pm

Made an attempt to run this in Linux, to no avail;


tv@apu:~/ld48/the-two-of-us$ ruby bin/main.rb
bin/main.rb:1:in `require': no such file to load -- gosu (LoadError)
from bin/main.rb:1
tv@apu:~/ld48/the-two-of-us$ sudo bundle install
Using rake (0.9.2.2)
Using chipmunk (5.3.4.5)
Using cri (2.1.0)
Using libxml-ruby (2.3.2)
Using faster_xml_simple (0.5.0)
Using gosu (0.7.41)
Using httpclient (2.2.4)
Using json (1.6.6)
Using nokogiri (1.5.2)
Using net-github-upload (0.0.8)
Using ocra (1.3.0)
Using thor (0.14.6)
Using releasy (0.2.2)
Using bundler (1.1.3)
Your bundle is complete! Use `bundle show [gemname]` to see where a bundled gem is installed.

Jhelle says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 12:06am

Screenshot looks fun. Sadly I can't play it cause I don't have a mac :(

Zaxuhe says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 12:18am

Can't play because no mac

Kinokochan says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 12:52am

Hey guys, if you don't have a mac, why comment?

I think this is a good start to a game, but doesn't feel complete. I'm rating it as if it were, but keep at it. My main issue is the sort of randomness of whether I'm going to survive another second or two.

I feel the game could benefit a lot just by slowing the gameplay down a little.

Jezzamon says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 1:13am

Woot I have a mac!

wow I rarely get mac-only games. Still, work on getting a windows version. You're allowed to after the 48 hour period


The game was ok, but it was pretty obvious it wasn't finished.
Having the game close whenever you die is a little annoying... If don't want to spend much time on a losing condition, at least have the game reset, rather than close again. (Still, it didn't bother me too much).

It's a shame this game is so short! I would've like to play it more.

naufr4g0 says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 1:59am

Too bad I can't try your mac-only game... :( Good news is that you can try mine instead, 'cause I've released a more compatible version on my page (it was compiled for me by a friend :))

R3ason says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:30am

Deploying MBP in 3..2..1..Play commences NOW. Heh. Well, it's definitely unpolished (and very cruel in terms of exiting when getting hit). That said, it was pretty entertaining, especially knocking over the enemies. Color scheme is great. Thanks!

davidpeter says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 5:43am

Great colors. Unfortunately, pretty unforgiving :-/

Waynetron says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 7:21am

Took me about 5 tries to not die in the first second... :( Not a very fun game. The scrolling makes it tough because you can't wait until the bad guys kill each other.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 7:25am

Weird movement issues, but surprisingly fun for how rough it is. The persistent bullets/knives/dart things were a nice touch.

Kendja says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:26am

Screens looks interesting. Please, make a video for those who don't have mac.

Vilborg says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 10:32pm

Interesting, but really, really unfinished.

I'm giving you 5 stars for humor because in retrospect, the game closing on me every time I died was pretty hilarious.

Shigor says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 8:05pm

user unfriendly? more like ragequitter unfriendly except it quits before you can start raging. Gave it few tries, gave it up

volando says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 7:13am

It is so cool you have to start the app again. An extra goal!!

Gunmonkey says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 12:38am

Wish you finished it!

Toast says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 3:21pm

This is extremely rough man... surely it wouldn't have taken more than five minutes to make some sort of retry? Interesting physics, good start, but I was hoping for a bit more.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]