Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny World - Andrew - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Created as my first Ludum Dare entry, written in c# using xna and .net frameworks. The code is really messy so I wouldn't recommend using much of it but feel free to use whatever you want. ***If the program doesn't work you may need to install xna 4.0 redistributable refresh from microsoft and/or the most recent version of .net framework***

View Andrew's journal. | View all entries by Andrew

Ratings

Coolness53%
#289Graphics3.18
#494Fun2.69
#512Mood2.57
#544Audio2.20
#674Innovation2.42
#697Overall2.54
#764Humor1.47
#888Theme1.58

Comments

Daniel says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:51am

Hi! Sorry I can't play your game. The game does not open when I click the executable.
I'm using windows 7 64 bits

Budda says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:59am

Unable to rate game as it doesn't run on my machine. Something pops up in notification area, then crashes apparantly.

icefox says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:06am

Runs fine for me; using Windows 7 64-bit. Might need the XNA framework installed? I have it installed, along with the most recent version of .NET.

geekygenius says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:11am

Daniel, did you extract the game from the RAR?

icefox says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:13am

Also, my review:
* WOW CRAZY GRAPHICS WOAH
* Gameplay: Meh. I don't care for puzzle games and the hit detection seems a little bit squirrelly. Got to the last level though. It gets the job done.

mattchu says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:40am

The graphics were interesting.

Collision detection felt off at times.

Overall, it felt like your basic platformer experience. Not quite sure how it fit the theme.

Danvil says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:04pm

Game crashes if I press a key ... (Windows 7 / 64 bit)

Polar says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:17pm

Any chance of exporting XNA for Mac - I don't think it's possible, but still... Oh, lovely graphics though!

the8donut says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:04am

There's a lot of trial end error sort of gameplay... Not definitely my cup of tea, but the game is polished and graphics are interesting!

Per says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:55pm

Cool graphics!

MurrayL says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:59pm

This game got really hard, really fast!

edg3 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:03pm

I found the menu graphics a bit painful on my eyes, but the rest of the graphics was nice (and well polished too), I think the fact that there was less contrast between the colours in levels that helped. I enjoyed the idea though.

I can +1 that some of the hit detection seemed a bit punishing for the player, but it wasnt impossible to pull off the jumps needed.

Sestren says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:06pm

I like the death sound effect, but the rest are far too loud and shrill to be enjoyable. The graphics are weird, but enjoyable; the animating squares in the background and the trail effect behind the player are well done and add a lot of visual appeal, even if it is a bit busy. The gameplay is basic, but solid. However, the level design relies a bit too much on trial-and-error and "leaps of faith" in my opinion. Overall, it's okay, but definitely nice for a first entry.

RiamuDiMentis says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:40pm

I love the background, but the collision detection seems somewhat off.

devwil says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:15pm

***I'm posting this on all non-browser games I bring up in an attempt to encourage folks to make browser games next time around. Do not take it personally.***

When hundreds of people make non-browser games, that means that, to play all of the entries, I would need to download hundreds of games to my computer. I typically use OS X, so Windows-only entries are particularly inconvenient.

Please consider making a browser game next time.

hungyg says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:40pm

this was really annoying...

Gabriel says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:01pm

I like the crazy graphics! The major problems for me are the sounds (kinda irritating), and the excessive luck - trial and error component of the gameplay (this is a matter of personal taste, though, but usually players feel it is unfair to them if they don't have some way of avoiding failure because of luck or lack of knowledge of the level design or state). But it IS a finished game, which is definitely something for 48 hours! :)

Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:44pm

Awesome graphics! Found it hard but not frustrating as there's no punishment other than you're losing time. I heard the death boing a lot! Had minor collision issues BUT that didn't detract from the FUN

zorf says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:51pm

Works fine on my Win 7 32 bits. Cool graphics.

blob says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:04pm

Graphics are more trippy than most drugs.
Tough game. I found that you fall so fast its a matter of luck if you land on moving spikes or not. I always enjoy time limit platformers, its stressing but pushes for improvement.
The sounds got a bit annoying however.

Kitch says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:12am

Little loud, graphically, but a nice little concept. Some collision issues, but pretty fun.

realgenius says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:35pm

After reading other comments I was afraid that it wouldn't run, but it does. Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate w/XNA 4.0 installed.l Its a funky game to be sure. Not sure how it fits in exactly with the theme, and I think the timer goes down too fast. It was a good effort!

moop says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:47am

I couldn't complete the second level as once I got above a certain speed I just clipped straight through the platform with the finishing point.
Backdrops were cool. @_@

Raptor85 says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:31pm

can't test, no windows box and XNA4 doesnt work in WINE

May 3, 2012 @ 12:57am

Lots of fun! I liked the kaleidoscope-feel to the visuals and the design of the levels. It's a well-paced game that would be right at home on mobile devices.

davidwparker says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 1:26pm

Sorry, I can't play this as I don't have Windows.

icefallgames says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 12:06am

Trippiest graphics I've seen so far in LD...

JellyFame says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 3:44pm

Unfortunately cannot play, don't have access to windows box.
HTML5 :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]