Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Free Donutia - the8donut - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Free Donutia" is an action/rts game where you have to lead an army of very tiny soldier against the invasion of the evil race of the Tiny Aliens. Of course, they're tiny as well.

Save the donut-shaped planet Donutia by taking back all of the five cities scattered on the very limited planet's surface in large-scale (even though still tiny) battles. Lead your tiny men to victory!

I had SO much fun making this game, and I'm quite happy with the result! Hope you have fun playing it :)

Unfortunately I haven't been able to test the web version on many configurations / OS's, but thanks to the wonderful people on the irc channel i got some great feedback. Even though Chrome seems to be the best choice for running the game, it should work on other browsers as well. If the applet doesn't load, you can download the runnable jar for your OS and hopefully you'll be good to go :)

Here's the link to the time-lapse of my LD weekend:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MB06ndhPjyo

View the8donut's journal. | View all entries by the8donut

Ratings

Coolness100%
#282Graphics3.22
#284Overall3.22
#315Fun3.03
#363Mood2.77
#395Humor2.29
#401Audio2.55
#432Innovation2.92
#565Theme2.75

Comments

stromchin says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:49am

Somehow this game reminded me of herzog zwei

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:17am

Awesome idea, really like the design. Collision with buildings is quit buggy sometimes. And question: How did you get the lwjgl applet to work? i can't get the libraries done. The keytool command works but the other one doesn't :s got any tips/good tutorials?

aaronsnoswell says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:20am

Couldn't master the controls - LWJGL seems to have some issues / glitch out when running in a browser on a mac?

the8donut says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:30am

@jeroenimoo - Take a look at the source code both of the game and the applet's web page. Make sure you include the signed jars for the natives. Hope it helps :) I'm glad you like the idea, unfortunately collision system is the least polished aspect of the game.

@stromchin - haha yes, had to look it up on youtube, looks like a cool game :D

@aaronsnoswell - I've put a runnable jar for each OS, hope that solves the problem!

yanmania says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:31am

I Loved playing this. As mentioned the collisions are a little off and it would be good if the little good guys had better intelligence for walking round buildings. But I loved the way the combat flowed as you gained and lost ground.

Lidfrid says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:01pm

Web link doesn't wwork for me! :O

the8donut says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:09pm

@Lidfrid: yes, unfortunately it may not work on some systems. LWJGL applet loader is quite easy to use but has VERY WEIRD behaviors sometimes. I've put a downloadable jar for each OS though, that should do the trick :)

Evgis says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:39pm

Very fun game, good work. Didnt get the point at first, but when i saw the red guys it all went awesome.

Danvil says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:56pm

Nice idea and i like the design! Didn't got if my guys actually follow me or not.

MarekkPie says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:18pm

Get a fatal error on start; I think its my comp more than your game though.

devwil says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:30pm

i read the How To Play, then clicked Play and it didn't go (macbook pro trying to run it in google chrome)

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:39pm

You obviously put some effort in the audio but... I had to mute it :(
Nice game anyway

Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:39pm

It was pretty boring to be honest. I like the mechanics but it took so long to do anything and the audio made it a bit tedious.

Danik says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:49pm

I like it! The massive amount of units!

I would like to have some more large scale control of the units though. You have to run back and forth and wait for your units to follow.
Maybe just a way to tell units that spawn in each city which city to attack?

For some reason it reminds me of Dune and Cannonfodder.

Sanguine says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:41pm

I like the fact that it combines RTS with shoot em up/bullet hell. Good job :)

Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:39pm

Insane! Lots going on. I like it. Music is good and the graphics are nice. I don't normally like RTS' but I played this one longer than I normally would have. Hats off.

vigrid says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:49pm

I got hooked on your game :) I just wanted to kill them all, red bastards! Played on my laptop so the touch pad wasn't the best for aiming.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:43am

I thought about making an RTS, but decided it'd be too hard in 48 hours. You've proved me wrong, congratulations. I played it to the end (dragged a bit, but that can be fixed if you ever want to expand it).

Lacutis says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:23am

The music was quite loud in the opening screen while you try to read the directions. Then as much as the music was needed it got really repetitive. I like the graphics and how the world wrapped. However, I wish that the little people followed you and helped out more.

Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:27am

The collision with the buildings felt kind of buggish.
And after sometime the gameplay becomes kind of boring :(

Maybe winning some kind of item after conquering each city would make less interesting.

Mago says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:38am

Good game
I find it hard to understand marking your minions at first.
Good that there is so much health, because otherwise it would be insane hard

zkenshin says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:11pm

As others have mentioned, building collision was off sometimes, but otherwise I loved it. I'd like to see this with a couple more weeks of content and stuff added in ;D

johanp says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:13pm

Really nice blend between controlling units and fighting yourself! I felt that the strategy part was lost but it was still fun!

davidllanos22 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:12pm

Cool game! :D I love to destroy that tiny things!

Hume says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:49pm

Sad to say I didn't beat it, but I sure enjoyed playing it.

Yes, there's a control issue playing with the applet. Yes, the OS X jar fixes it.

This was really well put together. Very impressive.

maranas says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:37am

Good work! I especially like the graphics, but the gameplay is very innovative. Awesome how you put up a good balanced strategy aspect in less than 48 hours

Pierrec says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:25am

Mixing RTS and shooter is a great idea! The only problem is that the game si very répetitive and the enemies' town too big. It would have been better with an increasing difficulty (first a small town, then, a medium one, then a big one...)

Looks like the main character was invicible. I think it's better that way (he's too big to be shoot down) but why does he have a lifebar then ?

LukeRissacher says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:56am

Nice, really enjoyed this one. Died on my first playthrough (main character's life ran out) but figured out some strategies on the second (like get enemy zones into "contested" state as quick as possible so they don't keep spawning). Ended up being a pretty epic battle, with territory going back and forth a few times :).

BTW, think I fixed that problem you were running into in the Microbial game - latest download has a "compatibility mode" exe for some graphics cards.

Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:14pm

Collision seems a bit buggy at times, but the game was pretty neat :)

Orni says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:58pm

great concept and art
loved it

chambers says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:07pm

I love the main character design. I played it carelessly because I had plenty of HP, but by the end of the game HP is something REALLY precious. I'd suggest perhaps adding a way of recovering HP, or maybe a way of making the player learn that he should be very careful with his HP. I couldn't finish it, though I think I'd be able to in a second run.

Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:40pm

Nice idea and the story is funny but the gameplay itself is pretty tedious, the little guys move and capture building very slowly and there isn't much you can do exept run and shoot while waiting for little guys to follow you.

Shigor says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:59pm

Great! Wasn't able to win, died once, gave up second time because I had problems to keep cities occupied.

There are just few minor problems, sticky collision, too repetetive short music, maybe some balancing to make game a bit more playable. Any other improvements from my wishlist go beyond the scope of the LD :)

Impossible says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:52am

Cool game. Really like the graphics and the armies of little dudes. Would be great if there was a little more strategy and challenge involved.

Zillix says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:28am

Genocide was never so much fun! Really had a great mood and theme here, and loved commanding the units.

Monkey Armada says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:48am

A good idea, but you could have worked a bit more on playability, it takes too long to gather your forces, and when you lose them it takes too long to go back for more. I think this has a lot of potential though. I didn't really liked the graphics and the audio was annoying ;) I hope to see the idea evolved.

Thotep says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:47pm

Gameplay and graphics are nice, but I'm missing some death feedback. Critters just disappear now. And I won't say a word about the music! ;)

Jezzamon says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:19pm

This game looks kinda cool, although it's kinda annoying when the enemy comes back and starts reclaiming buildings. :C

Still pretty good job. Good for a 48 hour game, definitely. :D

Muu? says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:15pm

Your tiny friends sometimes got stuck on buldings, i hated the audio part, but i loved the graphics style. Overall I think your game is quite impressive for a 48h compo.

ratboy2713 says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 7:33pm

I kept getting stuck on buildings that I thought I could walk around, and it was too hard to control the little guys to follow me once actually in the city. It is very nice looking and I liked the rts idea behind it.

Zoomyzoom says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:38pm

AWESOME

Apr 27, 2012 @ 10:03pm

A bit boring and frustrating.

Dracir says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 12:45am

Kill more aliens !!!

Evil Cult says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:08am

[Comments and ratings from this account come from various team members]
Cool concept but I found the minions to be really slow and couldn't really get over that combined with their collision. However I did enjoy simply going on a rampage killing all the red dudes solo. Audio could use a lot of work but graphics were quite charming. Could be great with a bit more work!

Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:29pm

Love the graphics. It's a quite unique style.

deepnight says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 7:23pm

Very interesting idea here ! Few comments anyway :

- PLEASE support alternative controls for foreign keyboards (WASD / ZQSD / Arrows)
- the movement speed of the troops is maybe a bit to slow to take over 5 cities: it takes a loong time (I gave up after 2 cities)

How did you make the music? Was it generated or did you use a composer?

angrygeometry says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 11:25pm

i'm afraid my wooden pc, for whatever reason, decided to freeze up completely on trying to open your game. 6 year old badly treated laptop so i'm afraid i can't play, sorry!

jwolf says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 12:00am

As a game, it could definitely use more variety to the units and gameplay, but the engine is solid. Very nice entry!

Gunmonkey says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 1:22am

fun game, setup reminds me of zombie smasher for some reason

R3ason says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 3:12am

Great! Really enjoyed this entry! Would love it if you could somehow build defenses (walls, turrets?). Thanks!

angelk says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 3:48am

The concept is pretty nice, and the graphics are cool. I like all the dots flying around on the screen. Sorry to say I too had to mute the music.

netmute says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 8:28pm

Very well executed! Music, graphics, gameplay, all was good.

Datamosh says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 12:04am

Collisions were weird sometimes, but overall I liked it! Really good! The graphics reminded me a little of "Z", that old strategy game...

Hazard says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 7:31pm

Amesome idea and nice graphics. Unfortunately the audio made my ears bleed (seriously, didn't you ever play it with audio on?) and the inabilitiy of units to walk around buildings makes it quite frustrating.

azurenimbus says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 3:11am

Well made and very well-rounded game. It's not my cup of tea, but I even played it for a while!

Make A Game says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 12:48am

Awesome entry! Visuals are charming, loved especially how chaotic the game becomes! Sometimes collisions are a little buggy, but the game played almost flawlessly!

marudziik says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 2:00pm

It's really hard to control the enemy's towns, and the game becomes quickly kinda frustrating. Needs some more polish, but there's quite a lot here for 48hours of work anyway.

castor says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 6:33pm

I died after an epic struggle for the middle city. Cool game.

May 9, 2012 @ 10:13pm

Cool, I liked the music and AI!

May 13, 2012 @ 7:14am

Nice game. Like the idea! I think some blood and gore would be awesome to give a little bit more feedback on how hard the battle is! ;) Simon

BenW says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 7:49pm

I had a hard time putting this game down.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]