Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Spitoon - Sestren - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare competition. For my first attempt, I'm just glad I finished something. The game is full of minor and moderate bugs, and the game is far too short (7 levels in all). That said, I had a blast participating and it was quite a learning experience.

The game is based around spitting out one of three colored blobs of which the main character is composed. Your size is dependent on how many blobs you possess, and you'll need to be very small to fit through some of the narrow passageways. In levels with pressure plates, the Exit sign won't light up until all of them have been triggered by one of your spitballs landing on them.

View Sestren's journal. | View all entries by Sestren

Ratings

Coolness98%
#23Innovation4.15
#204Overall3.37
#226Fun3.19
#356Humor2.37
#403Graphics2.94
#541Mood2.51
#718Theme2.43
#731Audio1.33

Comments

orgarus says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:33pm

When I read Spitoon I said "This is for me!" :)
Let me tell you despite the bugs, I think that you have an awesome idea (but I don't know exactly what the colors of the player means) and with some improvements you have an excellent game (now is a "very good" game :) ). I like so much the fact that you have to void your self to go on the way.
First game + 48 hours = thumbs up!

uberneen says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:22am

The gameplay mechanics are new and interesting and it's visually appealing. You did a great job, all that's missing is 'ptooi' sounds and the like.

kroltan says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:25am

I really like the concept! You deserve all the stars!
P5 I5 F4 T4 G3 A- H- M2

Sodaware says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:16am

Really cool concept! The only suggestion would be to display the key codes for spitting colours at all times. I forgot which button did which at times and had to spit things at the wall to figure it out. Apart from that I thought it was a really original concept that has a lot of potential.

Peter Cooper says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:16am

Clever idea and a slick implementation. Expect to see this on a Flash game site near us soon! :-)

paslam says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:25am

Very nice concept. I liked this game. A very good puzzle game it is!

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:45am

Cute game! I like the idea of spitting to shrink. It adds a whole new level of creativity on how to solve these puzzles.

Sestren says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:48am

Thank you guys so much for all the feedback! I'm relatively new to this site, and I can already tell this is a wonderful community to be a part of. Ludum Dare all the way! :D

bburbank says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:12pm

cool mechanic!

Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:21pm

Really interesting concept =)

Zamando says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:44pm

Really good concept!

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:12am

Awesome concept!

callidus says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:40pm

nice puzzle game, but I forgot the colours attached to each key quite a lot, some visual guide would be good. Also a way to restart levels if you mess it up ( couldnt find this if it was there )

Sestren says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:33pm

I'm working on a post-compo version of this game that will address a lot of the issues people have been having. I had originally planned on a HUD that would help you keep track of the colors, as well as a level select and restart system, but I didn't have time to implement it in time for the competition. :/

Sestren says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:37pm

If it helps for now, the "Z", "X", and "C" keys are mapped to Red, Green, and Blue, respectively. A useful mnemonic is that RGB is the order that those three colors are often listed in when storing pixel color or "web color" data.

pythong says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:51am

the concept is great, music/sounds would have been nice

HeuGamer says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:01am

Wow very nice for your first game. VERY different game i liked the mechanics of it.

FaBrito says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:35am

Amazing concept and please don't feel bad for "only" 7 levels, because they're awesome! 5 stars from me overall and innovation!

namuol says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:41am

A nice mechanic to play with. You should explore this some more. :) Very satisfying to slurp op globs of color, but it would be more satisfying with slurp/glomp sfx. ;)

desmarkie says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:47am

Really nice game, love the mechanic. Controls felt a bit stiff is all I can add. Nice work.

R3ason says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 6:31am

Great! Liked the color-changing as you spit yourself out. Keep developing this! Thanks for sharing.

Pixelulsar says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:43pm

Intersecting concept, I especially liked that shooting a certain coloured blob changed you colour to have less of the colour you shot(if that makes sense)

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 7:31pm

Very nice concept for a puzzle game! Very original.

kirbytails7 says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 1:44am

Very fun concept and great style! I'd love to see this go somewhere bigger (like the blob guy).

May 2, 2012 @ 3:03pm

Interesting gameplay. I love color puzzlers. The bug that the balls get stuck when you fire them too rapidly is annoying. Overall a good game. The best LD23 game I've played so far.

Jezzamon says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 4:45am

Interesting game. Some things the game needs are:
Music/SoundEffects
A reset button.

Reminds me a bit of a game called Mercury Meltdown

summaky says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 8:04am

Very interesting idea. Not sure how it applies to "tiny world", but was fun nevertheless.

robcozzens says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 4:23am

I don't think I really 'got' it. Cool graphics though.

Make A Game says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 10:06pm

Cool mechanic but it really needed a restart button.

dr_soda says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 6:06am

Finally my knowledge of additive color mixing comes in handy.

I have to say I like the idea behind this game. I only wish there had been a reset button when I got stuck. I was sure I'd discerned the rules by which the blobs accept or reject new additions but I totally failed in that regard.

trylle says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 2:06pm

Unexpectedly clever game. :) Only nitpick I have is no reset button, since I managed to get stuck in one of the later levels (excessive spitting before noticing they flew off to nowhere). Very nice!

Sestren says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 10:38pm

Thank you so much to everyone that has left feedback and rated my game. You have all made my first Ludum Dare an incredible experience. The last week in particular has been very busy, and I apologize if I run out of time and cannot get to rating everyone's game in return, but I will definitely try. :D

Sestren says ...
May 21, 2012 @ 3:53am

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/24565598/Ludum%20Dare/LD23-Spitoon-PostCompo/LD23_Spitoon.html

Here's the link to the Post-Competition version of this game.

You must sign in to comment.

[cache: storing page]