April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

It's a tiny world

by Endurion - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"It's a tiny world" is a little Rogue like. Try and defeat the mighty beast that threatens your world.

Fight lower monsters to gain strength. Grab chests and arrange monster blood puddles to cast magic spells. Fight until you can finally beat the beast!

For those wondering, the boss is designed for level 20. Be level 23 and you'll be pretty save.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#39Fun3.74
#100Overall3.61
#157Audio3.17
#199Mood3.11
#201Humor2.77
#445Graphics2.86
#511Innovation2.75
#661Theme2.55

Comments

ericdpitts says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:52am

I really liked this one! The style of it was great, and it was pretty fun. Great job!

mattchu says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:53am

Interesting take on the classic RPG formula. A bit difficult, though.

j_peeba says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:31am

A fun mini-sized roguelike. The character movement and randomly spawning monsters brought almost puzzle-like qualities to the gameplay where you try to figure out the best path to proceed through the crowds.

derdragon says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:21am

I'm a little confused how I lost a battle against a box, but I'll go with it. I liked how everything bobbed to the beat of the music.

TenTonToon says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:23am

Very nice! :) I would've liked to have some more information about both the enemies and my character, though, in order to make the most out of every decision. The same goes for the sort of puzzle elements.
It has a cool "Desktop Dungeons" vibe to it, but it should give the player more information. As in a rogue-like, not having the necessary information is the quickest path to doom.

De10ter says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:29am

Pretty cool. Never did manage to beat the boss but strangely addictive :)

SBareS says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:32am

I tried to win this for a reeeeeeeaaaaalllyyy long time, but I had to give up... But still a nice game.

Toast says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:22pm

Nice game although a very simple concept.

Suese says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:23pm

Good job. Very simple and fun entry. The game play progression was nice from easy-to-weak units. Reminds me of the mechanics from some old text-based games.

Thank you for this.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:10pm

I wasn't convinced at the beginning, but then I realised I HAD TO FINISH THIS GAME! It's a great and funny roguelike and the magic spells with blood pudles are a great idea. The boss was beaten easily in the end

artefon says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:49pm

Very fun game. The game mechanics is very cool (I've never seen something like this). The way you play make it look like a puzzle with character evolution.

Great game :)

miharbi says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:26am

Great Game! Couldn't beat it though

Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:39pm

Fun game, nice roguelike like. That cat always killed me lol

Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:25pm

Fantastic! No complaints. Great all around. The music as even catchy! It was even not impossible! Which is what I hate about these games normally :-)

vigrid says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:07pm

Very fun :) It could be a great pastime game for a phone! It reminds me of good times with Diablo, but it's better, because it also spawns chests!

Raptor85 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:45pm

very well done, pretty difficult too. You should make a mobile version of this for android/iphone, i think it would do well.

Topaz says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:08pm

Interesting game... I like it! :D

johnfn says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:51pm

This is absurdly fun for such a simple concept. Downright addictive. Really hard though. Even with 20 minutes of playing I didn't manage to win. It's really really easy to die at pretty much any point. But it hardly matters! This is awesome.

R3ason says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:34am

Jolly good! Great little roguelike; thanks!

orgarus says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:19pm

Hi, good and straight to the point roguelike!
I like specially the music and the sounds, and the references to the classics (Commander Keen like graphics and cacodemon for the win!!).
Cheers!

PS.-John Blobbo was happy when he saw his cousins, the slimes, but he doesn't talk to me since I start to kill them :D

Evil Cult says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:25pm

[Comments and ratings from this account come from various team members]
Good concept. Music was really distracting when reading the opening text. I also found that I seemed to die very randomly. Tried to play through to the end but had to put it down after a few deaths. Still what was there was quite enjoyable and could be great with a bit more work. I did find that the game made me think about how to move around the level which is awesome but I think the random element was a bit too much. Good work getting this done in the 48 hours!

Fenyx says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:19am

There was a bug in the game that caused a few cheap deaths. If a monster spawns next to the player, the player is attacked without being able to react.

Jiggawatt says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 11:45am

Simple but addictive, a good formula for LD. Lacks difficulty once you're past the start though, and you should be able to affect the blood patterns more by pushing enemies around or something.

Moth says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:10am

Really cool! Between the graphics and the music it reminded me of an old genesis/mega drive game or a DOS game. I'd love to see something like this with different levels where the goal is to get to a certain xp level! Or some other kind of use of this simple setup. It's really fun and fast paced and satisfying! Loved the cacodemon shout-out. The blood magic stuff was a pretty interesting concept.

Great presentation, feels nice and concise and complete over all. Really liked it!

moop says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:43am

Really fun game. Loved the graphical style.

dansludumdare says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 5:42am

Very compelling gameplay -- went through it twice. Too hard and luck-based though, especially at the beginning -- there should always be a majority of purple blobs and a healing chest. The trap chests are no fun. Maybe some way to cautiously open a chest. It's also hard to tell when you're ready to face an enemy or not. I'd be killing blue dudes and the next enemy that appeared was a bear, so I tried to kill it and got one-shotted. When I fought the boss, I one-shotted him.

IgnatusZuk says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 10:58pm

Nice game! get's really competive fast, the boss seems impossible to kill!? he got me with one hit for 400 points of damage haha.

robcozzens says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 7:17pm

I would try it if you had a Web or OSX version.

Jeffalisk says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 7:51pm

Thoroughly enjoyed that, from figuring out which enemies were safe to attack at each level to finding the safest path through the melee. Got a bit carried away and got up to level 30 before taking on the boss. Great job!

HybridMind says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 2:45am

Fun little arcade style rogue like. Reminds me a good bit of the casual nature of Desktop Dungeons too. I like how you have to judge the monster levels by their graphics and when they appear. I played about 4 times, but only made it to level 4 or 5 max. Really enjoyed the game though, good fun and funny graphics.

Akunate says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 3:58pm

Very fun game. I couldn't stop until I beat the boss.

Rex Peppers says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 8:34pm

I might have to build a windows PC or something, I'm really wanting to play all these windows only games but don't have a machine that can do it currently...

pighead10 says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 2:39pm

found it very tricky, only managed level 6 in 10 minutes of playing. Thought that there should be more ways of healing, but overall liked it.

May 12, 2012 @ 10:26am

Nice little game! Like it.

Krisjet says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 11:05am

Fun game! Reminds me of a more arcadeish desktop dungeons :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]