April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Bugs Planet

by Cyboot - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first Game for Ludumdare, FUN :)

I created it in less than 24 hours because of some time issues, (one of my cousins got married this weekend ;))


Goal: rule the Planet (with your Bug population)
Theme: guess :P
Programming language: Java

Uses Programs: Eclipse, GIMP

Edit:
uploaded a timelapse, unfortunatly i only captured some parts in the end

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#288Fun3.07
#329Theme3.22
#362Innovation3.09
#392Overall3.04
#647Graphics2.47
#666Humor1.76
#727Mood2.18
#764Audio1.14

Comments

Tulrath says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:41am

This was really fun, I wish there was a way to reset the level or start a new game.

ericdpitts says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:21am

Great job! This game was a lot of fun! I would have liked some smarter AI, but I know that's asking a lot from a LD game (especially one made in half the time!) But, good work!

Evgis says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:28am

I feel it has alot of potentional, and it was very innovative! Good!

thristhart says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:28am

Innovation: 3/5 - Not a rip-off, but not really new ideas.
Fun: 4/5 - Strangely satisfying to eliminate an entire race. Perhaps I should seek help.
Theme: 3/5 - Sure, the world is tiny, but this is more "Tiny" than "World".
Graphics: 3/5 - They get the job done, and are clear and concise. Not pretty, though, with more time it could have been polished.
Audio: N/A - On a machine without audio, so will not rate.
Humor: N/A - Didn't see any attempts at humor, therefore not rating.
Mood: 2/5 - The robotic movement is vaguely immersion-breaking.

bburbank says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:08pm

Cool sim!

Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:37pm

Bug puke the video game! Awesome! And fun. Good job.

nilstastic says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:21pm

Fun! Unfortunately i always got overrun by the reds :(

Eamon says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:14pm

Very nice, addictive and quite hard :D

schizofunky says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 2:28pm

Very nice, after a few deaths tho it was impossible to collect any flowers :(

bms says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 2:54pm

I liked the galcon style strategy feel to it.. I was quite bad at playing it but I had fun :D also really impressive for 24 hours! Maybe you can add levels so it gets more challenging over time and not so hard in the beginning.

scoopsy says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:44pm

I enjoyed it but wasn't exactly sure what I could do to help my bugs thrive versus the others. Once the flowers ran out I definitely had no idea what to do.

moop says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 9:13pm

Fun little game. Quite difficult to survive in a swarm. I noticed up/down movement dominated over left/right movement, so holding left them pressing up changed your movement direction but holding up then pressing left would keep you moving up. Would have been less frustrating to weave through a swarm of bugs if the most recently pressed key always took precedence.

castor says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 9:24pm

I like it and I played it for a while - cool. However, it became so difficult to move around with so many other bugs.

Cyboot says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:00pm

@moop: never thought about that, but definatly a good idea (and not too hard to realize)

@all: Thanks for all your responses, i really appreciate it :)
It't funny to see that most of you say its rather too difficult than too easy. I always thought it was too easy, but thats of course because i played it all the time while i develop it :D
And a good balancing in 48 hours (or in my case 24 hours) is almost impossible.

I also uploaded a timelapse, unfortunatly i forgot to start it in the beginning, so its only some parts of the whole time. Hope you enjoy it anyways.

PsySal says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:11pm

Hey, this was really a lot of fun! I really miss having sound effects, but that's my only real complaint.

One problem I did have, the first time I played there ended up being sooo many bugs on the screen, and not many flowers. I feel like if the other bugs get the upper hand, they should try to destroy your nest, or something along those lines. I.e., a losing condition if you don't make enough headway against the other colonies. As it was I just had to restart the game.

The other thing is it's sometimes hard to spot your own bug when you first (re) spawn.

But, whatever. This was cool and fun!

R3ason says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 2:21am

Crazy! Pretty fun! Liked the core game mechanics here. Thanks!

Andrew says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 7:27pm

I was surprised to find that I had a lot of fun with this. You could consider adding more bug types, maybe upgrades and the like.

armornick says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 6:35am

Pretty cool game. Nice touch that you added a smaller version of your game.

rvmook says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 10:57am

It was a fun game but I would've liked it if the other bugs could shoot flower seeds aswell. This way it was a bit to easy (but winning is fun ;p)

Jonny D says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 12:26am

Reloading doesn't reset the game, so it restarts with enemies all over the place!

uberneen says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 8:37pm

Interesting concept and it was strangely addictive. I think with some added depth it could be quite a time-sink.

Jiddo says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 10:07am

Nice. I like the idea and the game play. I sense that there are a lot of cool things that could be added to a game like this. The applet version runs perfectly on Linux (it is the only version I tried). The only issue is that there are some annoying lag spikes whenever I destroy one of those spawners.

galman says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 12:24pm

Great game!
Really really fun!
You should make a new one with some more "action" and it will be a super cool game :-)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]