April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

The Good Ship Higgs Boson

by Jezzamon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

One Man. One Space Ship. One Higgs Boson particle generator.

Manipulate gravity to explore the limits of your world!

Controls:
ArrowKeys - Move
WASD keys - Change gravity
R - Reset Level


The concept behind the game is that you are in a space ship in the far-distant reaches of space, thousands of light years away from any planet. Compared to the 'massive' amount of space around you, your spaceship is indeed tiny! The ship is named after it's most advanced technology: A Higgs boson generator!


The 15 minute later one fixes a little bug at the end, and has a proper ending. Still... rate based on my 48 hour version, please. :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#20Fun3.91
#54Overall3.81
#80Innovation3.78
#95Humor3.21
#109Audio3.33
#137Mood3.26
#301Graphics3.15
#678Theme2.50

Comments

Raptor85 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:06am

first off...
This game is AWESOME, the controls are fluid, the gameplay solid, and the shifting gravity is a neat effect. You should make a extended version of this, it would make a really good full length game.
only issue though..other than saying it's the "higgs boson" doing this i couldn't really connect it with the theme at all.

MrEvilGuy says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:24am

Wow. Those were a few top notch puzzles. You did an excellent job implementing the gravity shifts. If it was longer, I would have kept playing. Nonetheless, the ending was funny in a subtle way.

orgarus says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:07pm

Awesome game and design! You take the most of 48 hours!!
I really like it!
Another one on my "play later" list!!

ratboy2713 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:19pm

Loved it! Little disorienting at first, but once I got used to it it was awesome.

I wish there was a proper ending, I just went to an unwinnable level that says "this is the title screen." Was that intended?

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:04am

<3 i love this!

Jezzamon says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:08am

mmn, the ending is a little annoying. I didn't intend to have it loop back to the title screen. I'll upload the version I made with a proper ending, which was 15 minutes late.

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:15am

Really cool and well done gameplay mechanic! I only wish there were more of it. The puzzles you did have had a very good balance of requiring experimentation without being annoying/repetitive, though.

Very nice work!

TenTonToon says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:30am

A very nice spin on the gravity-control "genre". There are some clever puzzles that take a little time to figure out, the graphics are cute and the controls superbly tight.
Congratulations!

Darkfrost says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:59am

Awesome little game! Simple gameplay, but gets really complex quickly, movement is fluid, feels nice, and is fun! Awesome little puzzle game, good job!

ziomorti says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:03am

Another cool gravity platform :D
Nice level design but I found the game a bit too easy.
Still, the game is awesome! Great job!

Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:06am

LOVED IT!

Very playable and even replayable.

I could easily imagine this being an iphone game where you use phone tilt to change gravity.

Oreganik says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:58pm

Fantastic puzzle design and controls. I can't believe this is a 48 hour game!

nilstastic says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:12pm

As you probably already know this game is great! Liked the puzzles a lot, and the graphics and audio made it all come together very nicely. Good job!

triplefox says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:36pm

Nicely done. Something to shoot for if you do a follow-up or a similar game: More polished graphics. Make an autotiler or something, or use full-screen pixel backgrounds. Bigger, more animated sprites, particles. etc.

Shadow says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:00am

Amazing game! a few glitches with the dialogs but overall a solid entry. Congratulations dude.

sharbelfs says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:49am

Great game, loved it!!

Jigxor says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:56am

Really awesome game! The mechanic was very unique and a lot of fun to play with. I found myself turning my head once or twice! The music was very good and the graphics were nice too.

I really enjoyed this game a lot. Great job! :)

Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:54am

Cool gameplay and overall very nice composition of music, gameplay and graphics. The controls feel very good and was a lot of fun to play!

Do you know VVVVVV by Terry Cavanagh? It reminds me a bit of it.

Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:58pm

Nice and fluid controls, as well as solid puzzles. I like how its really bending conventional control/input methods :)

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:33pm

Fantastic entry - I had to play it through twice just to see the original and new ending. Please make it into a full game!

Rabbits... says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:05am

great gravity game...(Alliteration!)...seriously...good job

Fireblend says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:38am

Awesome entry! Great mood with the dialogue, controls are fantastic and the gravity-modifying mechanic is impressive. Thanks for making this!

schizofunky says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:33pm

Great game mechanics :D

caranha says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:23pm

Although quite simple, this entry has a lot of polish. I like the details on the sprite, like the eyes going up and down during the jump. The level design is also quite clever -- I wanted a few more levels where you influenced the blocks with the gravity.

Thanks for the cool game!

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 7:42pm

Pretty fun. Needs more levels. ;)

What I liked most, however, was the music. Awesome NES-like feel, reminded me of Metroid. Great stuff!

mimshwright says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 1:52am

Nice work! Great level design.

scgrn says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 5:58am

Absolutely great! Tight controls, just the right amount of polish, and my brain likes what this game did to it.

nornagon says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 1:39am

Awesome :) It was kind of hard to tell which levels you could change gravity left/right on. Neat puzzle concept though!

SusanTheCat says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 2:49am

This game is SOOOOO awesome! And I hate jumping games! The story was cute and fun. The music was perfect. The puzzles just the right level for me.

Oye Beto says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 9:18am

- You managed to make a good number of levels.
- I liked the music because it has a space vibe on it.
- I enjoyed playing the whole game.

Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:36pm

It reminded me of VVVVVV, with the ablity to move gravity in four different directions and the puzzlies. Awesome background music too!

Rectifier says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 5:10pm

A nicely executed puzzle-platformer.

My biggest gripe in these kinds of games is where the turn the puzzle level to "super-frustrating", because I'm not very good at those. Thankfully, this didn't have any of that!

jimmypaulin says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 7:31pm

One of the best puzzle entries I've yet come across - excellent controls, how on earth you got all those puzzles in 48h I have no idea, really good job! The text messages add so much to the context and feel. Great stuff

mooosh says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 2:43am

really good work! the gameplay is tight, and the way you introduced the core mechanic is absolutely perfect. the puzzle designs are excellent as well. I can tell this isn't your first puzzle platform game (at least I hope it isn't ;~;)

gritfish says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 12:00pm

God - that ending glitch left me with the biggest "Wait.. What? Did I miss something? Is this a new game+ thing?" reaction...

That said, it's a great VVVVVV-inspired puzzler. I pretty much speed-ran it through a second time JUST to see the real ending.

Others have commented on the lack of connection to the theme. I think you could have pulled it off if you'd just showed the exterior of the ship (or your position in it) at the start, and during some levels.

deejorg says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 12:57pm

Really nice game.
I enjoyed the level design.

JonathanG says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 9:15pm

This is good! I really like the gravity changing mechanic, although for some of the rooms it felt like I was solving puzzles by fluke rather than thinking it through properly. Otherwise it controls nicely, has simple but effective graphics and sound. Shame the ending is a bit of an anticlimax, and comes so soon.

envy3d says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 8:31am

Great art! The movement and gravity felt really well done. I liked that the keys always worked from the player's perspective and not the characters.

May 5, 2012 @ 2:01pm

Nice! I loved the puzzles but the ending didn't really seem to fit. Looks like the entire puzzle you implying it was a robot like from Portal, and it turned out to be just another random dude messing with you. I think you should've fought the thing making the voice at the end.

But otherwise great job!

bompo says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 7:30pm

Nice puzzle mechanic. Needs more levels!

matt says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 7:46pm

Short and sweet. Great job.

KevinWorkman says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 12:26am

This is really well done. It's pretty perfect, and with more levels and variety this could be a really addicting full game. Great job.

recursor says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 12:28am

This is quite the polished game and the puzzles are well done also. Nice!

Keirua says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 11:46am

Awesome. The gameplay reminds me a lot of VVVVVV. It's more difficult (4 directions), but opens the way for many things : more puzzle, finish the level with the smallest amount of movements/time, and so on. Please keep improving it !
Too bad the game is so short !

castor says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 7:11pm

Well done on a great game. I enjoyed it to the end.

tcstyle says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 7:29pm

Great idea! The game mechanics are great. This makes an awesome puzzle game. I liked the retro tune. The graphics could be a little more compelling.

naufr4g0 says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 9:06pm

Nice game here!
Levels are well designed and some puzzles required a bit to figure out how to pass. :)

angelk says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 1:25am

well designed levels, nice controls, the levels are really frustrating :)

azurenimbus says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 12:38am

Fucking awesome game. At first I thought "AGAIN with the gravity mechanics?!" We've seen so many of these in recent years, yet your take on it is very refreshing and nicely crafted. I haven't played it to the end, but saved it for after the voting period.

May 10, 2012 @ 9:13am

I loved VVVVV and your game reminded me of it a lot. The level design is was very good, for a 48h game they weren't all trivial and very good.
I really laughed a lot with the final level, after you beat the game.

May 11, 2012 @ 11:10am

Nice game mechanic, nice music, funny dialogue. A very well rounded entry!

MinerCraftGuy says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 1:30am

Solid gameplay, good choice of music/effects

orangepascal says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 7:34am

loved it!

onehandclap says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 8:44am

This is as devious as it's fun. What a great job you did! =)

Jezzamon says ...
Jun 12, 2012 @ 7:49am

Oh yeah, actually I hadn't played VVVVVV until after the entry, so it's funny (still cool) that people thought my game was like it.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]