April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny Blastoff

by Tange - Jam Entry

Once you take off there is no turning back. The goal is to reach escape velocity and advance to the next level. You will need to smash through asteroids to replenish your fuel so you can keep your speed up.

Use Chrome to get 60 FPS.

The flag on the rocket is chosen based on your IP address so if it doesn't correctly show your countries flag then either don't worry about it, or visit hostip.info to find out why.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#120Fun(Jam)2.81
#175Graphics(Jam)2.77
#182Audio(Jam)1.96
#186Humor(Jam)1.89
#192Innovation(Jam)2.42
#196Theme(Jam)2.46
#208Overall(Jam)2.46
#209Mood(Jam)2.10
#723Coolness44%

Comments

netguy204 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:51am

Very nice graphics, particle effects, and sounds.

Fun too! But, it really needed a bit more explanation. I had just written an review complaining about gravity only being down and not getting my reward for landing on the moon.... then it occurred to me that I may have missed the point. I played again and realized the goal.

Good work.

I have an HTML5 game as well.

havchr says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:54am

For me it felt mostly random luck if I hit some gas on my way. Maybe there was a strategy in it, but I did not detect it.

nilstastic says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:52pm

More fun then one would think at first glance!
Good: Liked the bar on the left that displayed my best height, but it should have stayed there when pressing R. =)
Bad: Should have had a minimap in the corner so that i could target large asteroids more easely (or,at all).

spooks says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:41am

Nice! and very nice for HTML5! Nice graphics, and the rocket moved the way I would think. thumbs up for Canada as well ;)

Rex Peppers says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:07pm

Took me a minute to figure the game out, but lots of fun once I did!

demonpants says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 11:13pm

Pretty cool, but got old fast. Also, the sounds did not work for me.

ericdpitts says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 11:21pm

Not bad, a pretty fun little game! I would have liked some different sound effects though, the mario ones didn't really fit, in my opinion.

Hume says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 11:25pm

I leveled up :)

I got into this. It took a minute, but you have to keep the speed down and get over quickly when you see a rock that's big enough to possibly hold fuel. Yeah, it was good stuff.

I had no issues with physics or collisions until the very end, when I was trying to fall back down to the Black Box of Hope at the bottom of the level but I got wedged between the side of the level and a few rocks. I should have just pressed R to get fresh asteroids too.

My wife recognized the sound effects, but this is a Jam entry so I guess that's not a big deal, and they were kind of funny in a new context.

Good entry!

Jonny D says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 12:14am

Canada?!

galman says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 12:15pm

Nice game.
At the begging I found it kinda weird that I have to pass trough the asterdoids :-)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]