December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

Back to Browse Entries

Outpost Alone

by kokido - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I hated this theme, and it was really hard to pull something together when I changed my whole base idea with less than 12 hours to go. But isn't that what makes this all fun :D

The alone part of this was supposed to be since you are station on a remote outpost taking shots at alien fleets passing by on the way to the real war zone. Originally there was going to be a resource gathering part of the game between waves of ships, which was going to help drive home the alone thing, but it got cut due to time restraints.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#48Audio3.38
#264Humor2.00
#268Graphics2.85
#368Fun2.31
#448Overall2.46
#491Community2.13
#565Mood1.70
#611Theme1.85
#679Innovation1.31
#685Coolness0%

Comments

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 1:43am

The shots were very slow. I liked the warning signal for the aliens.

Veralos says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 10:05am

The speed of the bullets made the game a lot more difficult than it really should have been, and I feel that there should have been a score counter of some kind.

On a more positive note, The graphics were simple yet effective, I liked the effect of the stars in the background. The sounds were also really good.

Cross says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 3:17pm

Aside from the game over screen, the graphics were pleseant.

I loved the stars as well.

summaky says ...
Dec 24, 2011 @ 6:47pm

The background music is OK, in my opinion, as it is the graphics. The bullets were too slow to be useful and I had a hard time knowing when to shoot. I felt very weird that the silos (?) were destroyed when the UFO's were no longer visible; I guess I expected them to fire me instead of spontaneous explosions :-)

Dec 24, 2011 @ 7:46pm

The graphics in general, and the stars especially, looked really good! Like some of the other comments have said, I found the bullets a bit too slow, but overall a pretty decent game.

seagaia says ...
Dec 24, 2011 @ 7:51pm

Dug the music. Shots went a little slow.

kokido says ...
Dec 24, 2011 @ 8:19pm

Yeah, the shots are too slow. My original plan was to allow you to buy upgrades between waves of aliens to fix that. I was also going to have a counter of waves survived instead of a score, and they were going to shoot at the silos instead of the silos just exploding when the aliens made it off the screen.

The general reception is better than I expected though, thanks for playing everyone :D

KevinZuhn says ...
Dec 28, 2011 @ 5:22am

It's a shame you switched ideas so late, I would have liked to see this more fleshed out, with all of those cut features intact!

Stargoat says ...
Jan 4, 2012 @ 2:27pm

Audio was nice, and i loved the starfield.

Not sure if it fit the theme very well, and the slow shots make for some kind of frustrating gameplay.

MurrayL says ...
Jan 4, 2012 @ 2:27pm

I'd love to see a more fleshed-out release. The gameplay was great although, as others have noted, the shots are a little too slow for my liking.
I really liked the music and how it changed. So much scope for you to build a bigger, better game on this foundation!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]