December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

Back to Browse Entries

Out

by kosinus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a small top-down arcade game. You're all alone, trapped in a building when the security system activates. Progress through floors by disabling sentries using EMP charges. But you have to disable them all in one shot, and stay out of sight!

I'm pretty happy with the result. My aim was something as simple as the original Lode Runner, and in about the same vain. I think I succeeded in simple; the code is less than a thousand lines, but that didn't make it less a challenge to write! ;)

What I personally find most lacking about the result is that I haven't been able to find the time to create some challenging levels. There's a short but adequate tutorial, and one very simple level.

Still, I very much hope you enjoy it!

Browser support:
- Chrome: Tested in Chrome 16, current beta. Should work in any recent version.
- Firefox: Tested in Firefox 9, current beta. Should work in any recent version.
- Opera: Requires (and tested in) Opera 11.60, current stable.
- Safari: Broken on current releases. (Due to HTML Canvas bugs.)
- IE: Broken on current releases. Might just work in IE10 preview, but untested.

Post-deadline updates:
- Dec 19: Browser compatibility update.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#172Innovation2.94
#203Fun2.74
#401Graphics2.45
#424Community2.29
#434Mood2.05
#460Overall2.45
#594Audio1.00
#603Humor1.22
#663Theme1.61

Comments

Aslai says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 5:46am

It was way too short (only 3 levels, 2 of which were tutorials!), it didn't really match the theme well, there was no audio to it, and it ran really slowly on my computer. The graphics were nice and clean, though a tad simple.

kosinus says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 7:15am

Ah, some valid points, so no argument there. :)

I'll have to take a closer look at performance. I was mostly relying on a profiler during dev, rather than real world performance on other machines.

Could you (and others with performance issues) tell me your OS and browser version?

Thanks for giving my humble first try a go! :)

Beerman says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 7:08pm

Short, but fun. With some more levels and sound that could be really good.

Wompus says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 11:57pm

Aww so short? I wanted to play more levels :(
Some sound and more levels and it would be a really fun game!

tnelsond says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 1:52pm

Runs slowly on my computer (XP running Chrome).

jagttt says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 9:43am

Nice to see a HTML5 game here.
The game is short but I think the controls and general feeling is quite great.

I think it has some bug here on my pc. I'm running Chrome 16 on Windows 7. Here's a screenshot.
http://i.minus.com/iP0IoSe7anytz.png

kosinus says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 7:20pm

That's interesting! It looks like just a font size problem, but I'm not sure why it's doing that. I'll see if I can reproduce it; will have access to a Vista machine next week to do some more Windows testing.

kato9 says ...
Dec 23, 2011 @ 9:24pm

Really nice mechanics here. Even though it's short it shows promise for being a pretty good game. Reminded me of Metal Gear Solid :)

cards says ...
Dec 30, 2011 @ 12:07am

First off, I love that this is HTML5, well done. Runs smoothly here, gameplay somewhat reminds me of VR training in MGS, which is good, because I loved those missions.

The programmer art is clean and simple, though it could have benefited from some audio.

The game itself is very short, seems to be more of a demo than a game. I'd love to see this up and running with a full library of levels.

Overall, good job.

summaky says ...
Jan 7, 2012 @ 3:18pm

The concept is interesting and well done, but I don't think it really fits the theme and it was way to short.

Make A Game says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 3:48am

The text was too big and impossible to read in Chrome. Where did the theme fit in?

Kelly Thomas says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 5:36am

nice engine, needs more level.
Its a shame because I would like to play more.

Pierrec says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 9:33am

Aaah! It ended just when it was strating to get interesting. The concept is not bad, but I would like to play more.

Hempuli says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 12:12pm

Really sweet idea! And yeah, way way way WAY too short. I'd LOVE to see this elaborated on!

AyCe says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 12:13pm

Very good idea, if the game would just have more levels :D

Fififox says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 1:30pm

So short! The game is promising, you could make something really fun with that! But it doesn't really match the theme. Too bad there wasn't sound either. The graphics are good though! Try posting more on the blog next time too !

Milo says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 10:15pm

The graphics look very nice, given the simplicity, and the concept is very simple, yet still interesting. I don't know how much time you took to create the levels, but I would gladly have taken 2 tutorials followed by something really difficult over 3 easy levels.

Kitch says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 10:18pm

Just as I was getting into it.. it was over :( (I'm sure you haven't heard that enough :) ) Keep going with it. A few more levels and maybe a bit of audio and this will be great.

Cosr says ...
Jan 9, 2012 @ 9:09am

Not bad. Would have been nice to see it more developed. It's simple, however it never really got to a point where it was all that interesting.

I noticed the game lagged a bit at times while moving (Firefox 8). Seems to be sort of a thing with HTML5 games.

Dan C says ...
Jan 9, 2012 @ 9:38pm

It's a real shame that there aren't more levels because this is great!

kosinus says ...
Jan 9, 2012 @ 10:55pm

Hah, I feel kinda bad now for not putting more effort into level design. I was rather easy going through all of it. I'll try to make sure I have the monday off next time; that could've made a difference.

Will try to be more of a community man next LD, Fififox! Tried to be a somewhat decent judge to compensate. ;)

Terribly sorry about the font bug, I still haven't been able to reproduce it, even on two Vista laptops I had access too. I developed in Chrome, so that makes it even more odd.

Thanks for all the comments and ratings! :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]