December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

Back to Browse Entries

Forever Alone

by QXD-me - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Arrows/WASD to move, mouse to look, space to jump.

I recommend playing fullscreen for the best experience (browser or standalone). Also, the audio is pretty quiet so if you don't hear anything, turn your sound up.

Note: I went for atmosphere rather than fun, so bear in mind that the theme was 'alone' and try to get in the mood and play along.

Made using Unity with MonoDevelop, Audacity, FL Studio and a little bit of Blender.


p.s. Even though I went for atmosphere, there are still a few minor "glitches" (which I prefer to think of as Easter Eggs) that can be quite fun to exploit after you've played it properly.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#100Mood3.25
#165Theme3.21
#275Audio2.43
#387Innovation2.32
#418Humor1.63
#465Graphics2.29
#565Community1.94
#605Overall2.00
#625Fun1.59

Comments

Taugeshtu says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 7:46pm

Quite close to my work!)
www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-22/?action=preview&uid=8746
I wish I had better hardware... 3 FPS after first "hugs" and I leave... Although tension was growing. It's sad(

Jorjon says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 9:39pm

Great conpcept, but the rooms are huge and we move so slow.. That kinda kills the mood when you have no directions of where to go.

AyCe says ...
Dec 23, 2011 @ 3:29pm

If the goal was to die, i've accomplished it :D

But why nobody liked me? :(

binary_girl says ...
Dec 23, 2011 @ 7:34pm

i quite like to mood of it.. unity window was bigger than my 1024x768 screen tho ;(

QXD-me says ...
Dec 23, 2011 @ 11:06pm

@Jorjon A valid complaint, one I'm thinking on how I might improve.

@AyCe I'm not sure if that's the goal, I guess it's as good as any (and you can't actually effect any other sort of end in-game anyway)

@binary_girl Sorry about that. Does it not fit to your screen if you right-click then select fullscreen? You can usually also zoom out on the webpage to see it if you need to.

summaky says ...
Dec 26, 2011 @ 11:56am

It walks rather slowly for such a big environment. Also, I really didn't know what to do. At first I thought they were zombies or something with the arms in that position, until I realized they wanted a hug or something. But then, I hear the thumb-thumb and they leave *very* disappointed. But I can't do anything, can I?

Winterblood says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 3:13am

I liked the "hug" mechanic, but wasn't really sure what was being communicated. Everyone wanted a hug at first but seemed disappointed when they got it. Walk speed painfully slow, especially with such a minimalist enviroment. Creepy atmosphere though...

Raptor85 says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 5:35am

Same issue i've had with most other unity games in this compo, mouse look doesnt work so I cant rate :/

Stargoat says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 1:20pm

Very creepy.

galman says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 1:21pm

Very nice mood but I don't get the point of the game...

wbobeirne says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 9:53pm

Kind of a freaky game, made me feel really uncomfortable, especially when getting hugged.

demonpants says ...
Jan 10, 2012 @ 12:54am

I pretty much feel what everyone else does - too big and too little happening. I got bored rather quickly. Also I wasn't sure really what I was doing, other than walking around and looking at junk.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]