Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

Back to Browse Entries

Furever Alone

by Waynetron - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Old Man Smitty has been very lonely ever since Mavis left him for that young car insurance salesman.

There's an empty hole in Smitty's heart, an empty seat
on the couch and Matlock starts in one minute.

Only one thing can fix this. Cats, hundreds of cats.
Go! Smitty deserves no less.

(Oh, by the way - I'd love it if people posted their scores in the comments. Am really curious how high is possible),

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#8Humor3.89
#46Fun3.32
#50Overall3.50
#94Theme3.48
#98Graphics3.55
#146Innovation3.05
#196Audio2.71
#260Mood2.60
#302Coolness42%
#370Community2.40

Comments

Dec 18, 2011 @ 1:33pm

That's cool, clean. Nice gameplay aswell. I like the cat animations :P

Waynetron says ...
Dec 18, 2011 @ 1:34pm

I forgot to include a link to the source. Not sure how to update the entry so here is here:
http://www.paperplayground.com/alone/alone.zip

Acrux says ...
Dec 18, 2011 @ 10:40pm

Haha really cute.

orftz says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 3:13am

Lovely.

CaptainFresh says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:11am

Nice and simple, but not a lot of depth.

GreaseMonkey says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 8:33am

60 friends, woo!

Funwise... I actually enjoyed this. A lot. It's not a complicated game but damn.

Themewise, you pertained to not one but two themes, which is excellent.

As for audio, those meows are music to my ears.

I think I'll stop my usual approach here. The graphics and humour worked quite well. Moodwise it wasn't particularly hardcore but that's where the humourous tone comes in. Overall I give this 5 stars primarily because it's excellently silly and sillilly excellent.

Communitywise... I suggest you post more often. Post screenshots, and post betas where appropriate.

My advice: keep doing this sort of stuff. You could think of extras to do, like for instance you could have more levels where you have more tools and stuff could be more points or could lose you points. But there's really not much to say, to be quite honest.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 10:37am

ahhhhhh. nice.

Fr0sZ says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 1:58pm

91 friends, nice game

iFred_QC says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 3:52pm

Haha, neat game you got there! Got me laughing! I got 31 cats... Uuh I mean friends!

volando says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 9:39pm

Cool presentation!!

Manoloko says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 10:52pm

ha ha, I enjoyed this game, well put together. I've got 45 friends, all in my net!

Dec 19, 2011 @ 11:21pm

Hahahah this game is so funny and fun! :D

daredevildave says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 10:14am

Nice, would have been a little better if there was a clearer signal that you had caught a cat, I mean friend.

Hempuli says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 5:02am

Really funny, though the fish last such a short time that I seemed to need at least 2 to get any cats at all. Maybe I was just bad, though!

Waynetron says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 8:49pm

The fish last until they're eaten and the more cats are on them the faster they go. When you get a LOT of cats on the screen they start eating up your fish like they're candy. I find throwing them out 2 at a time at this point helps.

The real problem (which I'll fix after the comp is over), is that the cats sometimes miss some fish. And when you have a bunch of uneaten fish lying around then you get stuck. I need to fix that bug and also allow the fish to be picked back up by the player.

Dec 24, 2011 @ 1:36pm

ha, fun idea. "Cat herder" would also have been an appriate title.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 29, 2011 @ 4:34pm

That was easier than I thought, Muahahaha!

bentosmile says ...
Jan 9, 2012 @ 9:27pm

Oh my god, this is awesome :D

dock says ...
Jan 9, 2012 @ 9:31pm

This is amazing in every way, and probably my favourite game to day. I especially like the sound effects.

exphautaz says ...
Mar 12, 2012 @ 11:01pm

i made 12 friends

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]