Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 22

December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Man on Earth - h.attila - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the sole survivor of an alien invasion on Earth.
Your sole purpose in life is to avenge your species.
Do you think you have what it takes?

The game turned out to be pretty hard. It requires very precise timing sometimes, so if you easily get frustrated with games, I think you might want to skip this one.
Also, sadly it misses a lot of features that I wanted to add but ran out of time - like animations for the enemies, backgrounds, transitions, more levels, etc.
I appreciate any feedback, but please keep in mind that it's my first LD game, so...

Anyways, thanks for playing!

View h.attila's journal. | View all entries by h.attila

Ratings

Coolness52%
#453Theme2.36
#483Audio1.54
#522Fun1.93
#536Graphics2.07
#572Overall2.14
#602Mood1.55
#609Humor1.20
#662Community1.63
#673Innovation1.36

Comments

helloserve says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 8:56am

Good game - very very frustrating (the timing thing). Maybe a delay in enemy turn-around (they were just shot in the back you know :) ). But good one!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 8:49am

Congrats! Adding a reaction time to the enemies would go a long way...

Stargoat says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 12:20pm

Along with the crazy enemy reaction speed, I think a smaller player hitbox would be nice, too - jumping and visually missing the bullet but getting hurt anyway is very annoying!

Nice work, that aside. The graphics are chunky and fun.

caranha says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 1:33am

Congratz in finishing your game!

I think the levels need some walls. It doesn't feel like a spaceship when the levels are open like that. A background would do wonders for the game as well.

Also... the aliens beat the army of humans, our weapons do nothing against them, and then a punk kid with a gun manages to take them out? lol :-)

h.attila says ...
Dec 23, 2011 @ 5:42am

Thanks for the feedback!

I think the most important thing I've learned is that I should ask people to test my game on IRC/Twitter, or IRL. These things (reaction time, hitbox, level design, etc.) could have been fixed in a matter of minutes if only there were someone to point them out for me.
I will try to work on my graphics "skills" too. This was the first time I've ever used Inkscape, so there is certainly room for improvement.

This was my first LD, and it was great fun, so I hope I will be able to make a better game next year.

I will make sure to rate your entries in return. Thanks for taking the time to try out my game and I hope you didn't break your keyboards in frustration...

@caranha:
Well, I came up with the story in five minutes, so there ought to be some plot holes in it. I guess the army should enlist more punk kids then. :-)

ziomorti says ...
Dec 24, 2011 @ 4:20pm

Good work, even with a few (already pointed out before) flaws. I appreciated the difficulty, though. With a better level design and a bit more variety this could be an interesting game.

xilefian says ...
Jan 3, 2012 @ 4:20pm

The timing needed is frustrating to the point of annoyance and it felt slow. The intro had lots of text which i skipped over, and at the barracks the text was in the way of one of the enemies for me, making it hard to shoot them.

The hit box for the player is too wide, i tried jumping onto a ledge but would hit against the corner and died as the hit box was so wide.

philhassey says ...
Jan 6, 2012 @ 3:33am

Sorry, I can't install those frameworks :(

h.attila says ...
Jan 6, 2012 @ 2:44pm

@philhassey: What OS are you using? .NET and XNA requires Windows XP SP 3 or later. You cannot use XNA under OS X, or Linux, as far as I know. Or are you having some other problem?
Here are the frameworks for reference:
.NET 4.0:
http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=17851
XNA 4.0:
http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=20914

kumber says ...
Jan 9, 2012 @ 9:49pm

It says it couldn't find a graphic card of HiDef profile...

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]