Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

Back to Browse Entries

But You Wake Alone

by wgemigh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

'But You Wake Alone' is an abstract game about being alone and how that's both good and bad. The levels are randomly generated so although there are 8 unique thoughts, you can play as long as you're able!

Controls: WASD or arrows keys to move; space to get some temporary perspective

There is music but no mute button. Sorry, no time!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#85Audio3.16
#89Mood3.29
#139Theme3.31
#148Innovation3.04
#227Community2.79
#238Overall2.92
#316Graphics2.69
#405Fun2.23
#473Humor1.50

Comments

cjke.7777 says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 7:34am

Nice, I liked the graphic style once I got the hang of it. Also I liked the mood that was set, it actually felt tense - good work!

KhaoTom says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 8:40pm

Nice mood here. The thoughts add a lot to what is otherwise a simple game. Good work!

Wompus says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 1:48pm

I liked the atmosphere of the game particularly, that music is great.

Dec 21, 2011 @ 2:46am

Points for mood, audio, and graphics. The game was kind of fun until there were so many crowds I couldn't walk 32 pixels.

John Conrad says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 3:17am

Where is the source code? Source is required for a 48 hour entry... If you don't want to release the source maybe switch it to a jam entry?

That said I like the mood and feel a lot. It starts to get a little frustrating when the difficulty ramps up but over all a pretty neat idea that fits very well with the theme.

Dec 21, 2011 @ 3:18am

Your game is fucking ridiculous.

mcc says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 9:35am

This was interesting and ambitious, I'll say that. The visual style was super cool.

The problems I had with this mostly seemed like byproducts of the 48 hour deadline. A lot of stuff seemed haphazard-- I felt like there was a lot of text and I didn't really get to read any of it, I had to keep my eye on the character at all times so I couldn't look at the bottom of the screen. Except for a couple levels where I got swarmed right at the beginning and there was a bit of strategy in quickly locating an "empty" area, there didn't seem to be much happening, it was basically run dodging yellow things until you get the sound effect saying you can go on. (Since the crowds couldn't hurt you the "now go for the exit" bit, though it looked cool, seemed unnecessary). It was frustrating to not be sure either how close you had to get to a yellow dot to start losing memory, or what it is you even do that causes you to hit the "no need to remember" lose condition. The actual moment-to-moment process of dodging yellow dots was quite fun but since it was the only mechanic it got repetitive kinda quick. It was fun while it lasted tho

Dec 21, 2011 @ 12:09pm

nice man. didnt hook me though

wgemigh says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 2:41pm

Thanks for the comments, everyone! They're very helpful.

Sorry about the source code. I left out an 'http' in the field when I submitted, so it didn't show up at the top.

StarLight says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 7:20pm

Music is awesome. Graphics style is awesome. Mood is awesome. This game is awesome.

Dec 24, 2011 @ 11:44am

Interesting story-concept.

Shigor says ...
Dec 26, 2011 @ 12:35pm

Music and simple, but strangely aesthetically appealing art set nice mood. Gameplay-wise it's pretty standard maze walk / enemy avoid, but with good execution.

Ishisoft says ...
Dec 30, 2011 @ 11:50pm

Took me a while to figure out what was going on in this, had some fun playing it once I had though. Sometimes I was able to sneak into a corner or something to survive, but sometimes it was a bit frustrating being surrounded by dots and feeling a bit powerless to escape.

I liked the idea of remembering the thought/dream/memory to continue, although eventually I started just waiting for the next word to appear in order to progress and I think I stopped taking in any actual meaning. I think I got through about 9-10 rooms before getting game over.

callidus says ...
Jan 9, 2012 @ 7:46pm

nice idea and a good execution, it got a bit dull after a while but was fun uncovering the text at the start. Music was also very good

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]