December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

Back to Browse Entries

Alone in Love

by defiantburrito - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a short dating sim where you help a lonely man find love.

I couldn't really finish the game, so it's pretty ridiculously short. But if you squint, you might be able to see the outline of the game I hoped to make. :)

Requires Java.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#85Theme3.52
#236Humor2.17
#248Mood2.63
#270Innovation2.63
#326Community2.50
#395Overall2.59
#402Graphics2.44
#478Fun2.07
#594Audio1.00

Comments

bach says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 10:06pm

Ha, this was fun! :) I quite enjoyed this and you should definitely polish it out a little more. Something charming about this.

I'll probably say this about most entries.. But some audio would have made a great difference :)

namrog84 says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 10:46pm

When Zoe said she liked collecting things and wanted me to walk with her.
I legit thought, she was going to turn out to be some sadistic BDSM mistress kidnapper thing and she was going to put me in her basement as part of her "collection". I guess I just have a twisted thoughts. Add sound! Expand! good potential for more story and more gameplay. Sometimes it was a little slow, increase speed or make a way to accelerates/skip when you are done reading current message.

dcfedor says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 6:15am

Hey, great work! I squinted and saw the game you wanted to make. Cute dialog, and admirable message. I loved the rolling score review at the end. My only complaint is that the dialog was a bit slow to wait for. But otherwise it was good! Just needs some sound and a bit more content!

Hazard says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 5:53am

I like this game a lot. The portrait of the lonely guy's life and thoughts is well done. Very unsual content for a game, which is a good thing.

Shigor says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 11:37pm

It has potential... If you're going to improve on this, PLEASE, add possibility to skip dialogues (to next sentence), it's agonizingly slow.

Dec 23, 2011 @ 1:11am

Really interesting take! I was surprised that I felt quite lonely when talking with Madison.

Cosr says ...
Dec 23, 2011 @ 2:21am

I thought it was a little dull at moments. Just a bit of music would help that greatly I think.

Overall it was neat. I liked how you did the dialog display, but in certain situations the player's dialog could obscure what someone else was saying. Not a huge problem overall though.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 31, 2011 @ 5:23pm

How can a girl dislike rocks ? Rocks are awesome, like Zoe! It's a very unusual way to make a dating sim and I like that. Of course it looks unfinished, but I can see a great potential here!

seagaia says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 5:16pm

Aw the guy's so awkward. Also yeah the dialogue was a bit slow, but cute story.

Kelly Thomas says ...
Jan 9, 2012 @ 5:09am

moody

callidus says ...
Jan 9, 2012 @ 8:08am

wow, nice entry, I liked this one a lot. Good use of the theme but as others have said some sound would have been a big bonus to this ( yeah I know sound is hard hehe ). Oh, and welcome to Ludum Dare :-D

Veralos says ...
Jan 9, 2012 @ 10:37am

What, you can't hook up with Bob? Hmm... Maybe that's what he was going to ask you about.

This kind of game isn't really my style, but I still sort of enjoyed it. The story was nice, yet a bit short, but that's understandable considering the time limit. It's certainly different than most of the games here. The graphics were good too.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]