December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

Back to Browse Entries

Mission to Mars

by rjgtav - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this game you control Curiosity, the latest Rover from ASAN, and your mission is to go to Mars to explore it, in order to find evidence of life.
Unfortunately, during the landing, some of your tools got damaged and stopped functioning, so your first job is to rendezvous with Spirit (the first rover) in order to get its Radio Transmitter, so you're able to communicate with ASAN and receive further instructions.

Controls:

Movement: Arrow Keys
Use Drill: Z

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#216Theme3.06
#333Overall2.69
#350Mood2.31
#374Graphics2.50
#393Innovation2.31
#422Fun2.19
#560Coolness20%
#582Humor1.27
#594Audio1.00
#604Community1.80

Comments

rjgtav says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 10:21am

Aff... It looks like my website's hoster didn't like me and blocked my website... Oh well, uploaded to dropBox instead, sorry :-)

rjgtav says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 10:59am

[Small Bug Fix]
Forgot to embed the Numbers in the font :-P

ladron says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 9:16pm

The core gameplay worked well, although the collisions detection with the rocks was sometimes frustrating. Driving around got a bit tedious after a while - more variation in the environment would be nice. Good 48hr effort, though!

Veralos says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 6:56am

Really good. The graphics were decent, it was fun driving the rover around (though it got kind of repetitive after a while) and the objective indicator was a nice touch.

Sparrow says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 2:17pm

I like your entry, although I didn't have any sound... (don't know if it's me or just you not adding them) And the rock collisions were weird, sometime I could drive over a few rocks and then suddenly get stuck in one when collision worked again. You might also want to add a way to advance the messages because they stay on screen far to long :P.
Loved the ending. :D

rjgtav says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 5:37pm

Thank you for the comments ^^, this was the first time i entered in Ludum Dare :-P

@Sparrow
Yes, unfortunately i didn't have time to put sounds in the game.
Regarding the collisions, yes they are a little weird because at the beginning the rover moved much slower but at the end i decided to increase its speed, otherwise the game would be super boring, and didn't change the collision system :-)
Yeah i could have made a "Next" button for the messages... But I haven't (can't remember why) :-P

kj654321 says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 10:29pm

Solid game, very complete. I think a little bit of polish on the graphics, maybe just some vignetting or noise / scanlines would have added some atmosphere.

rjgtav says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 10:37pm

@kj654321
Wow, I haven't thought about that, nice idea :-)

idanmiller says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 10:42am

Pretty nice, fun controlling the vehicle, however the game gets repetitive after a while. Although it was nice to find out the drill (even though sometimes it doesn't drill and that was very frustrating...). Good effort :)

Benjamin says ...
Jan 6, 2012 @ 12:34pm

The game is repetitive but the control and scrolling are good. I would love rock particles when I drill those blocks :)

FredericRP says ...
Jan 9, 2012 @ 11:13pm

It was fun at the beginning, then it get boring... then it get fun again, then.. I quit. Good game but you should add something so we know what we're after, what's the objective ?

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]