December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

Back to Browse Entries

Josh The Fan-Tastic

by Th3dz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Platform: Windows
Technology: XNA, C#
Resolution: 800x600 only
Requirements: XNA 4.0

Video:http://youtu.be/LW5uo67LXzE
Game Name:Josh The Fan-Tastic
Type:Sidescroller
Description:Josh is alone in a strange place, his only goal is to make it out alive.

If you're having trouble installing please install XNA 4.0 redist before the game: http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/confirmation.aspx?id=20914

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#199Audio2.69
#239Graphics2.94
#278Mood2.54
#290Overall2.81
#299Humor1.92
#342Theme2.65
#347Fun2.35
#506Innovation2.00
#577Community1.88

Comments

Zeshio says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:20am

I got stuck on the level where you have to hit multiple air pipes. Landed on the spikes too much and gave up. It's tough!

Th3dz says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 8:34am

Try not to move to much in the air and it almost works automatically :)

Quimby says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 2:21am

4 stars across the board from me; Swap out the text that says "Space" for "A", shrink the hitbox for the spikes to about 70% (of the height obviously), and slap this puppy up on XBLIG.
Very nice work for such a short amount of time; The only complaint I have is that it really needs checkpoints if you are going to have leaps of faith as it gets really annoying to have to restart the level all the time after cheap deaths.
Good luck in the comp :)

Th3dz says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 7:49am

Thanks Quimby!
I was actually going to have checkpoints but there wasn't enough time to implement.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 23, 2011 @ 12:01am

I was also stuck on the multiple pipes level. Too bad ! Because I really wanted to know the end of the story, I liked the "we are waiting for you" style of dialogs :)

0x64 says ...
Dec 25, 2011 @ 1:15am

Good entry.
Little bit too much of leap of faith and smaller collision rect :), but you know that already. Time well used

Hazard says ...
Dec 29, 2011 @ 1:43am

The music and overall mood are amazing. The collision rectangles need improvement. The leap of faith segments are a bit annoying and the hover-over-spikes-via-multiple-fans-after-an-annoying-jumping-segment part is game breaking for me.

Suese says ...
Dec 31, 2011 @ 11:50am

Sorry, couldn't seem to run it on my computer.

caranha says ...
Jan 3, 2012 @ 12:18am

The graphics were very good. I got a bit tired with the long levels and the "josh, just go a little bit further" eventually got boring. But as a platformer, this is a solid game. I liked the difficulty.

Also, is the moon supposed to be seen through the solid blocks?

Kelly Thomas says ...
Jan 7, 2012 @ 2:24am

Well done, very enjoyable.
btw I found that when landing on a block next to spikes I died sometimes, but not enough to ruin the fun.

wbobeirne says ...
Jan 9, 2012 @ 1:10am

Awesome awesome awesome platformer. My only complaint is that the fan physics were not forgiving enough. 1 pixel would entirely change how far it launched you, which made some levels tough. The small resolution also made it very hard to see what lay beyond your narrow view. Aside from that, excellent game.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]