Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

Back to Browse Entries

One Of A Kind

by DDRKirby(ISQ) - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Update: The soundtrack for One of a Kind is available at my Bandcamp site at http://ddrkirbyisq.bandcamp.com/album/one-of-a-kind-original-soundtrack

Hey everybody!

Here's my entry for LD22, Titled "One Of A Kind". It's a puzzle platformer based around a mechanic of "uniqueness". The style is somewhat similar to that of "The Company of Myself".

Note: the opening screen says "I am not very special." You might miss it if you press buttons and such during load.

=====

OS specific notes:
Windows users: *You should be totally fine.*
If running OneOfAKind.exe doesn't work for you, give OneOfAKind_VS.exe a shot. (You'll need the .NET Framework for that version)

OSX users: *You should be totally fine, as long as you extract OneOfAKind.app from the .dmg file. Do not try to run it within the .dmg.*
Note, however, that the download is ridiculously large (150MB) and the .app is even larger (>400MB), because I had to fit the entire Mono install in there. Just delete it after you play.

Linux users: Tao seems to be broken under 64-bit, so I don't know if you can run if you're using 64-bit. If you're under 32-bit, it runs fine if you install mono. You need to install the following packages:
mono-runtime
gtk-sharp2
libsdl1.2debian-all
libsdl-mixer1.2
libsdl-ttf-2.0-0
libsdl-image1.2

Alternatively, you can run the windows version using wine. Simply use winetricks mono2.8 to install mono and you should be good to go.

If you can't get the game to run, you can just watch a video of me playing through the game here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B6WRB7Vl3dE

(Note: Sorry, there's no "quit" button--just close the application window to exit)

If your keyboard is super-duper-weird, you can use Enter instead of Space or R instead of Escape.

======

I don't think the puzzle difficulty is quite too hard...there's a little more you can do with it, but obviously I don't have time for more than there is right now.

Fun fact: if you want to have a shot at editing the levels, you can edit the images under the /lvl directory. The level[x].png files are the tile maps, while level_backdrop[x].png is the background that gets displayed.

Apologies for any weird glitches or bugs you run into--this was made in less than 48 hours after all (closer to 24, considering how much time I spent flailing around before I actually got started).

Framework/tools used:
-C# with SDL.net and Mono
-Visual Studio 2010 to develop, MonoDevelop for release
-Graphics done in GIMP
-Music in FL Studio
-Sound with FL Studio/bfxr

My first LD, and it was a lot of fun, despite being terribly unprepared for it and freaking out when I couldn't seem to think of any puzzles.

--DDRKirby(ISQ)

=====

Update: the download links now point to v1.01, which adds no content but fixes a bug that causes the game to crash when you reach the ending (yeah...).

If you really want to be strict about the 48 hour guideline (i started late anyhow), you can get v1.00 here:
Windows: http://db.tt/8o9U8Tzz
Linux: http://db.tt/rlrftTaw
OSX: http://db.tt/l85ISncw <- requires Mono + SDL frameworks

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#24Overall3.70
#32Community3.64
#37Innovation3.63
#45Audio3.39
#64Fun3.21
#87Mood3.30
#187Theme3.13
#248Graphics2.92
#258Humor2.07

Comments

DeadlyFugu says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 7:52am

Fun, but the some of the levels were a bit repetitive.

iforce2d says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 4:05pm

The linux download file seems to be invalid, says it's not a gzip format file. Windows works great though.
As suggested already, it could use a bit more variety of level layouts.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 10:17pm

@iforce2d whoops--turns out I made a tar archive and not a tar.gz archive. That problem has been fixed, so the linux download should work now. Thanks!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 11:39am

Update: I've now created a WORKING .app bundle for OSX users. The downside is that it's a ridiculously large download, but it should work perfectly fine without any additional installs.

summaky says ...
Dec 27, 2011 @ 5:58pm

Not going to download 150MiB just for this game, sorry.

shuanDang says ...
Dec 31, 2011 @ 4:29am

The last screen was really intense, so I went back a couple of stages (to catch my breath). When I tried to go back to the last stage to confront my double, the game crashed.

It was really awesome (and short enough), so I went back through the stages to see the ending*. *Kinda disappointed, but good nonetheless.

zairon says ...
Dec 31, 2011 @ 4:34am

Really fun game, had a good time playing this with spectators pitching in hints.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Jan 1, 2012 @ 2:51pm

@shaunDang:
Thanks for the report! I think I know exactly what causes that crash, and will fix it in the next version. Sorry about that! Glad you enjoyed it, regardless!

SonnyBone says ...
Jan 6, 2012 @ 10:58pm

Easily the best puzzle game I've seen come out of this LD. Very good job. The music is great and you keep adding layers to the core gameplay. It starts off 'normal' and 'nothing special' and then WHAM it kicks you in the teeth with innovation. NEEDS MORE PLAYS AND VOTES!!!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Jan 7, 2012 @ 2:37pm

@SonnyBone:
Wow, thanks! That's -extremely- flattering and I'm glad you enjoyed it so much. ^_^

Jan 9, 2012 @ 5:26am

I think this is quite good!

I was afraid it would be yet another 2d platformer with frustrating jumping, but the puzzle mechanic is actually quite original (at least as far as I know), and it worked quite well.

I like the simple music, and the minimalist art style works very well for this game.

Great job!

zazery says ...
Jan 9, 2012 @ 7:56pm

I thought it was absolutely amazing. Clever puzzles and take on the theme. I was about to close the game but then I came across the first puzzle where you have another self and then I played until the end. The ending was quite special, no pun intended. It reminds me of the shift you make at the end of Portal 2 although not as dramatic.

As you said in your postmortem, better puzzle design would have been nice but it's pretty good for 48 hours.

KhaoTom says ...
Jan 9, 2012 @ 8:00pm

Excellent puzzler, fine music and nice atmosphere. High marks!

Jan 10, 2012 @ 12:06am

Excellent puzzler, great job on this!

triplefox says ...
Jan 10, 2012 @ 12:21am

I eventually stopped at one of the later puzzles because it was getting pretty trial-and-error for me. I did like the idea though and had some fun with it.

demonpants says ...
Jan 10, 2012 @ 12:39am

148mb?!?! Is that really necessary? At least your host is fast... When it was finally done, though, it was quite fun. The puzzles were overall pretty good and the mechanic was fairly unique. The style was great. I got bored after a little while but I generally don't like these types of games, so it's not just you.

BlueShaman says ...
Jan 10, 2012 @ 1:17am

Devishly difficult puzzles; fun (although I couldn't finish because I'm not the best at solving this sort of thing :) ). The music provides excellent ambiance, although I wish sound was more immersively incorporated to the game.

The puzzle mechanic was very interesting, with two complaints: a) A clearer color choice. The green and yellow, especially when dimmed, were nearly inseparable to myself. b) The lack of identification of one being picked as opposed to all of that color being lit. This would simply help thinking over the puzzles easier.

Simple graphics which work very well and give a much higher illusion of detail. Very nice storytelling is done in this game.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]