Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 22

December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

Back to Browse Entries

My Own World - Jiggawatt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A tricky puzzle-platformer featuring a kid isolated in a plastic ball - his own world. His special ability is drawing psychokinetic borders, which work as platforms and block lasers.

5 levels crafted with love. Mouse to draw borders, WASD/Arrow keys to move, Esc to quit.

Made with Python+Pygame, used bfxr for sound effects. Start the game from /dist/isolate.exe.

View Jiggawatt's journal. | View all entries by Jiggawatt

Ratings

#32Innovation3.69
#51Community3.44
#56Audio3.33
#142Overall3.15
#159Fun2.85
#264Humor2.00
#268Graphics2.85
#274Mood2.55
#293Theme2.77
#338Coolness37%

Comments

Cell says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 4:15pm

Great game! :D

binary_girl says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 4:17pm

god luv him :( like the music/sfx ,graphics good.. great concept..good stuff man :)

Foil1212 says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 7:01am

Interesting concept, but I don't like how fast and bouncy the guy is.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 11:25am

Yeah, hyper-responsive controls are like my trademark. Keeps you on your toes and makes for good speedrunning.

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 5:52pm

How did you package your game? I used pygame to write my game but I had no luck with py2exe.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 8:34pm

I had no problems with py2exe. Come on IRC and I'll help you out.

caranha says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 8:48pm

Thanks for suggesting the game! I liked it, although it was frustratingly hard. The sounds really worked well together, and you even added kittens!

Two things that I might add to your game:
- A bigger screen - your screen was tiny! For a game that needs fast and precise mouse coordination, tiny screens like that are murder

- Don't make the current platform disappear until you finish drawing the next one.

Thanks for the game

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 10:13pm

-I messed around with the screen size a lot, and this is more likely too small rather than too big. I originally had non-scrolling 800x600 levels that were always completely visible. I changed this because some new mechanics needed you to be near an obstacle before using them. For example, your drawings used to destroy crates at one point (but it wasn't all that fun). Then I nerfed those mechanics, but the screen size stuck, so...

-The part about platforms not disappearing might be a good idea, I hadn't thought of that. Right now I'm instead relying on your ability to jump mid-air. Especially in the last level.

Damn, I almost want to do a post-compo sequel to this now.

jeffz says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 10:36pm

nice sfx and music, physics remind me of bart and the beanstalk, has just the right amount of difficulty :)

triplefox says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 10:53pm

I think the concept shows promise but will need a different iteration for me to really get into it. I don't mind the physics responsiveness and bounce, but the overall speed of play is quite fast and leaves no room to react - repetition until everything is muscle memory seems to be the only way to proceed.

The behavior of block drawing(rules of down-right vs. up-left) is perplexing from a player standpoint, and I don't know if a scrolling camera is appropriate - having the whole level visible might be better.

If there were a concrete reason why the player can draw blocks other than "just because," the theme of the game might gel a little bit better.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 23, 2011 @ 1:14am

>The behavior of block drawing(rules of down-right vs. up-left) is perplexing from a player standpoint
Mm. Rectangles are only "valid" when drawn from the top-left corner to the bottom-right one, otherwise you're only moving the starting point around. This is something I'd do differently in a post-compo edition.

>If there were a concrete reason why the player can draw blocks other than "just because," the theme of the game might gel a little bit better.
Well, my first association with "alone" was "exclusion". I came up with a shield mechanic that was your only way of interacting with the world. After some iterations, it became what you see now. It's a broad theme and the most literal interpretation has to do with mood, so I tried to reflect that with the presentation.

edibletoaster says ...
Dec 23, 2011 @ 3:10am

Gah, this game is tricky! Its a really cool game and concept. Great job. I wasn't the biggest fan of the samples used for the music, but the tune was pretty nice.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 23, 2011 @ 11:32am

For the record, I drew the waveforms myself in MilkyTracker.

Ashkin says ...
Dec 23, 2011 @ 11:46am

The physics were kind of difficult for me to handle, so I didn't get very far in the game. However, you stuck with the theme and the graphics were good, so you get points for that.

summaky says ...
Dec 23, 2011 @ 7:58pm

That ball, so jumpy…… :-) But I guess this is what makes it so funny!

dr_soda says ...
Dec 24, 2011 @ 9:23pm

I really like the premise of this game, but the mechanics behind block drawing make it difficult to get into in the long term.

I think the big issue I had was with the scrolling camera mucking up my attempts to draw blocks as I bounce or fall. It also felt like there was a bug in the drawing algorithm in that the preview would show the block I thought I was drawing but then when I release the mouse button the resulting rectangle was a completely different dimension (I drew wide, but ended up with long).

I'd like to see a future version of this, perhaps with a slightly easier learning curve and a refined block drawing scheme.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]