December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

Back to Browse Entries

Alone With Your Thoughts

by 3ndo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

OVERVIEW:

The original idea behind this game was that you'd be able to roam around an environment, collecting objects from which you'd gain their letters. You'd then be able to use these as a means to further interact with the environment (opening doors, story elements, etc). Unfortunately, that was slightly out-of-scope, so the concept has been reduced to this platformer.

INSTRUCTIONS:

Collect the letters in the red chests and use them against enemies by which correspond to the 'keyword' above them. Enemies are as strong as the length of their keyword, though you can use the same (if you find several) letters multiple times.

CONTROLS:

UP/LEFT/RIGHT - Move & Jump.
SPACE - Interact.
A-Z - Use letters. (Enemies must be on-screen).

NOTES:

- There's not much visual feedback, sorry.
- I was meaning to implement Scrabble-like scores for each letter, but whilst writing this I realised I'd forgotten.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#217Innovation2.79
#483Coolness26%
#545Humor1.33
#572Overall2.14
#594Audio1.00
#611Fun1.64
#624Mood1.45
#627Graphics1.79
#691Theme1.40

Comments

Wompus says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 3:06am

Fun game, it has a good feeling to it. But I couldn't find out how to use the letters against the enemies. I tried jumping on them or pressing space when nearby, but nothing seemed to work :(

namrog84 says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 3:57am

The jumping was a little spastic at times and I couldnt figure out how to use letters on enemies, I just avoided them for most of the time. Is there an end?

Andrew says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 2:30pm

I keep hitting my had on platforms right above making jumps rather difficult

3ndo says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 3:03pm

Thanks guys. I've updated the instructions with a controls section.

kato9 says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 7:18pm

This is a pretty cool concept for a game. With a bit of polish it could be really solid. As you've mentioned some more visual feedback would help. The platforming is a bit wonky as well. One simple fix would be to have the jump key work on key release rather than press. It seems like it's impossible to get to the highest platforms on the level?

Zemmi says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 6:21am

I like your original concept, too bad the scope was so big :P I think if you highlighted the letters the player had in enemy's trigger word rather than having to check the alphabet at the top of the screen it would have been a lot clearer what had to be done. Oh and Scrabble scoring sounds cool, but maybe that's the Scrabble fan in me talking.

summaky says ...
Dec 25, 2011 @ 3:51pm

Although the original concept sounds good, this implementation doesn't make it justice. The platforms are located in such a way that every time I try to jump I hit my head, making it harder that it should, in my opinion. Also, I tried to use the letters on the enemies, but there was no visible effect. It is also rather difficult to see the theme in this game.

Dec 26, 2011 @ 3:03pm

The concept is somewhat innovative. As you said, there wasn't enough visual feedback, and as has been said, the jumps and collisions are kind of frustrating. I am wondering if I've missed a wallkick or double jump mechanism, because it's easy to get stuck and screw yourself.

Points for fun, and points for innovation. Quite unique, just annoying in the collisions department.

tcstyle says ...
Jan 7, 2012 @ 9:22am

A pity that it's not finished. Looks good so far.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]