December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

Back to Browse Entries

Alone, in a Maze

by mcatominey - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have to get out of the maze before time is up, was planning on having another character chase you but it got too late.

Note: People are saying that it gets stuck on the loading screen, this is supposed to happen for ten seconds so you can look at the maze, don't press any keys during that time!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#594Audio1.00
#637Theme1.73
#684Graphics1.40
#685Coolness0%
#694Fun1.18
#699Innovation1.20
#699Overall1.36
#702Mood1.00
#758Community1.17

Comments

spiral says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 10:00am

Couldn't get it to run.

Raptor85 says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 3:16pm

game loads but sits at "loading, take a gocd lcok", if i press any key the maze changes to a new one.

mcatominey says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:10pm

It stays on the maze preview screen for 10 seconds so you can have a look, it advances beyond that.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 12:26pm

Same problem. Can't vote.

Raptor85 says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 2:55pm

something must be wrong with the timer then, it sits at the preview screen forever for me, it never advances.

seagaia says ...
Dec 24, 2011 @ 6:28pm

like the maze generation, time limit's a bit too short or the character feels too slow..

summaky says ...
Dec 24, 2011 @ 6:41pm

Why do I have a timer? The mazes are too huge to be able to find the exit with the given time. Also, I was at first confused on the preview screen as it changed the level each time I pressed any key; you should add a label telling me that I have to wait the 10 seconds or something. I am also surprised on the quality difference between the graphics: the player is so detailed, but the walls are so bland. Did you made the player or are you using pre-made assets?

Shigor says ...
Dec 25, 2011 @ 10:16pm

I was able to... "play" it for a while with the hint that I shouldn't press anything.

And same question as Summaky has - character looks suspiciously well drawn compared to the rest of the game. Did you made it? :)

Stargoat says ...
Dec 28, 2011 @ 3:11am

character sprite looks nice. Maze is too huge to memorise on the loading screen, and the timer is too short given said size. Got a game over with the end about 2 seconds away.

Not that satisfying... but the maze generation is quite good. Is this your own algorithm?

caranha says ...
Jan 2, 2012 @ 3:10pm

Interesting concept, but the first time I tried to play it, the game put my character in a 1-cell wide room from which I couldn't get out... you need to check your maze generation function.

SonnyBone says ...
Jan 2, 2012 @ 3:54pm

I even took a screenshot of the maze and cheated... still unable to reach the exit in time.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]