December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

Back to Browse Entries

The Snubbing of the Squid

by James Paige - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple Minelike featuring a lonely squid-monster. Made with python+pygame. graphics done with Gimp, MyPaint, and Inkscape. Sound made with audacity.

the Windows .exe version is tested on Windows 7. Let me know if you have any troubles with it.

All you should need to run the source code is python and pygame.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#109Humor2.67
#139Audio2.92
#181Innovation2.92
#249Theme2.92
#303Community2.57
#323Graphics2.67
#364Coolness36%
#438Mood2.00
#492Fun2.00
#501Overall2.33

Comments

marudziik says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 9:46pm

Liked the ending song. :P

Erik McClure says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 10:06pm

I kept trying to get into the ceiling but couldn't figure out what you were supposed to do and so had to cheat to see the ending. Apparently you were supposed to get into the ceiling so now I'm just confused.

summaky says ...
Dec 23, 2011 @ 7:18pm

Reached the ceiling! However, I was fustrated. The game is slow on my computer, probably due the fact that you are loaded and converting the PNG files each time something must be rendered; this is slow! The controls were also somewhat frustrating and I didn't know how to move property to an adjacent block. Moreover, sometimes I has "pucking out" a block, but the squid wasn't a a proper position, I lost the block without actually putting it anywhere, which made the game slower still. The theme is spot on.

The ending song was awesome! :-D

James Paige says ...
Dec 25, 2011 @ 1:30am

summaky:, no the PNG files only get loaded and converted once. The slowness comes from somewhere else. I used cProfile and the runsnakerun tool to remove speed bottlenecks, but blitting surfaces with alpha without hardware acceleration of any kind is just going to be dog slow no matter what :)

Sorry about the frustrating controls. In retrospect, I wish I had restricted movement to 1-tile units instead of free movement.

Thank you all for playing! :)

tcstyle says ...
Dec 27, 2011 @ 2:13pm

What is the goal of this game? I found the red guy and tried to follow him but he got lost.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 28, 2011 @ 8:45am

Didn't find any goal. But it was fun!

James Paige says ...
Dec 28, 2011 @ 11:40pm

The red guy is a red herring. I should have left him out. The goal is to follow the one-eyed ghosts. yes, I should have made that clear in the game, but I didn't :)

caranha says ...
Jan 2, 2012 @ 1:53pm

Awesome! Kittens! Squids! Blocks! Ending Music!

Lol :-)

Anyway, cool game. The movement of the squid was a bit glitchy, but I liked the idea.

You should have made a second ending in case the squid dug too deep too :-P

SonnyBone says ...
Jan 4, 2012 @ 1:09pm

HILARIOUS ENDING
The gameplay is pretty much pointles... lol
But I dig the art and the overall idea.
I ended up eating about 89 chunks of sand.

whilefun says ...
Jan 7, 2012 @ 6:57pm

Hah, awesome ending (thanks for the readme tip on it :)). Very funny, and great audio :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]