Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 22

December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

Back to Browse Entries

Lonely Planet - nddrylliog - Jam Entry

Lonely Planet is a platformer where you have to feed a planet with baddies until it lets you escape in your small rocket ship. Levels of increasing difficulty give you excuses to jam at your keyboard in a desperate attempt not to get crunched into bloody pieces by the flock of baddies. You'll have no choice but to ride them if you want to attain the high places where you rocket ship might have hidden!

=============
Game controls
=============

Left/Right arrow = walk
Space = jump
Backspace = try a level again

=====================
Level editor controls
=====================

F12 = switch editor mode on/off

---------------
In idle mode
---------------

F1 = load level (esc to cancel, enter to confirm)
F2 = save level
F3 = rename level
F4 = change minimum kills to win
F5 = change welcome message
F6 = change win message
F7 = change next level (enter "<win>" for last level)

----------------
In drop mode
----------------

Left/right arrow cycle between droppables
Right click also cycles between droppables
Left click drops

Start and end points are unique, you can drag them around as
you want (useful for end point to position the rocket ship right)

Vacuums are oriented, click to position, hold and drag to rotate
it the way you want.

Swarms can be sized however you want, click to position, hold and
drag to change the radius however you want.

In decor mode, use 'F1' to choose your own svg file. There's no way
to move a decor once dropped, sorry (we had to edit json files by hand,
it's pretty cool)

===================
Config file
===================

You can adjust the resolution with screenX/screenY,
and change the initial level (see comments) in alone.config

View nddrylliog's journal. | View all entries by nddrylliog

Ratings

#22Innovation(Jam)3.25
#51Humor(Jam)2.30
#53Graphics(Jam)3.25
#60Community3.38
#75Fun(Jam)2.42
#77Overall(Jam)2.67
#97Mood(Jam)2.00
#141Audio(Jam)1.00
#146Theme(Jam)1.82
#533Coolness22%

Comments

nddrylliog says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 3:37am

Video of full gameplay available here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=66pzi33pzfU

whilefun says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 10:41pm

Linux only? :(

nddrylliog says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 11:19pm

@whilefun Working really hard on a Win32+OSX port :) Come back in a few!

nddrylliog says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 1:34am

@whilefun Windows build is out!

Dec 21, 2011 @ 2:41am

Very nice on the visual side. With some sound and level design this could be very good indeed.

nddrylliog says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 10:46pm

Mac version has been updated with a full .app, should work on everyone's system, thank @_romac!

whilefun says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 1:07am

Score!

Super neat concept, and interesting graphical style :) I played for a bit but kept clipping out of the level and dying on the "first real mission, don't disappoint". Fun though!

nddrylliog says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 5:21am

Aww, sorry to hear that whilefun :( I wish I had more time to tune the ghost collision tiles on the levels but I swear most of them was like "OMG DEADLINE AHEAD" and I just had to rush through them as my artists were giving them to me.

I swear it's possible to play through all levels and win tho :) Several friends of mine did. Thanks for the review!

Urfoex says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 4:41pm

$ ./alone
./alone: error while loading shared libraries: librsvg-2.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

But I have librsvg2-2 installed.

"alone" seems to need a 32Bit version.

Could you please also provide a 64Bit of "alone"?
(Just to lazy to compile by myself :D)


+1 for having a Linux build.

nddrylliog says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 7:15pm

Urfoex: oh right, the first build was 64-bit, and then I built a 32-bit one, and forgot to add alone64 there ;) Will do tonight.

nddrylliog says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 8:07pm

Urfoex: just changed the Linux link to point to alone-0.4.2-linux-universal.tar.bz2, which contains an 'alone64' executable. I've built it on my VPS so haven't tested it, can you report back if it works? Thanks!

philhassey says ...
Dec 23, 2011 @ 3:03am

Didn't work on my OS X.

caranha says ...
Dec 23, 2011 @ 4:38am

Sorry for the delay, I didn't check twitter until now! >.<

I think you have a collection of good ideas in this game: Attracting enemies to traps/player becomes invisible when idle/the general idea of a hungry planet.

I found a few quirks in the game though:
1- in many places, it was possible to glitch through the walls of the levels and fall into "crazyworld"
2- It was a bit hard to tell when you could and when you couldn't go through the green vents.
3- The collision detection is still a bit wonky, it was really hard to navigate the platforms even in the first "true" level.

Add some sounds, animations and balancing, and you will have a great game based on these ideas you have!

ziomorti says ...
Dec 24, 2011 @ 11:14pm

Hmmm.. I had to play the game twice to make up my mind about it. The overall idea is nice and the mission system kind of works. But I think that since you have really nice sprites there, having animations and sfx could have really made this game "something else" (but it already shines from other generic platformers). Still, nice work for me.

nddrylliog says ...
Dec 25, 2011 @ 1:44am

@philhassey The current OSX builds requires you to 'brew install cairo sdl' first. Sorry about that! We've been trying to get a universal version working but without luck so far.

@caranha No problem, thanks a lot for testing! Indeed, collision detection is way glitchy. If you look at the level editor videos, you'll find out pretty quickly why :) (Invisible rectangular platforms). That's one of the thing I had to rush through to get a full game working in 72h. Hopefully better next time! As for 2- it's fun that you tried! I'm pretty sure you're not supposed to go through any of these, but the fact that you tried makes me think that it's an interesting gameplay idea :)

@zlomorti Thanks a lot for testing! I also wish we had time for animation, SFX and music. As it turns out, doing an LD entry in ooc meant testing a whole new software stack I have been creating myself (as opposed to going for Flash/Unity3D/GameMaker/whatever) and that meant less time to spend on the actual game. A decision I do not regret, since I'll have more time to prepare the tech for the next Ludum Dare, now that I know it's possible :) Thanks for the review!

pighead10 says ...
Dec 30, 2011 @ 2:48pm

A few gameplay tweaks could have made it more interesting, but I liked it

SonnyBone says ...
Jan 4, 2012 @ 1:01pm

The collision is very spotty.. and I fell through the floor several times. The graphics are nice, but the lack of animation and the 'cutout' feel of everything really holds it back.

J says ...
Jan 6, 2012 @ 1:48pm

$ ./alone64
[Fri Jan 6 13:46:34 2012] [INFO] [Input] Input system initialized
[Fri Jan 6 13:46:34 2012] [DEBUG] [Sprite] Loaded svg asset assets/svg/health.svg (size 23x23)
[Fri Jan 6 13:46:34 2012] [DEBUG] [Sprite] Loaded svg asset assets/svg/score.svg (size 23x23)
[Fri Jan 6 13:46:34 2012] [DEBUG] [Sprite] Loaded svg asset assets/svg/bloodScreen.svg (size 1920x1080)
[Fri Jan 6 13:46:34 2012] [DEBUG] [Sprite] Loaded svg asset assets/svg/kitten_wShadow.svg (size 784x636)
[Fri Jan 6 13:46:34 2012] [DEBUG] [Sprite] Loaded png asset assets/png/titleScreenBg.png (1920x1080)
[Fri Jan 6 13:46:34 2012] [DEBUG] [LevelLoader] Loading json assets/levels/tutorial1.json!
[LexingError]: Unknown token:
[backtrace]
./alone64[0x428057]
./alone64[0x428471]
./alone64[0x4283bf]
./alone64[0x428502]
./alone64[0x43e2a7]
./alone64[0x43d0ca]
./alone64[0x43d41a]
./alone64[0x43c51d]
./alone64[0x43d505]
./alone64[0x43e75b]
./alone64[0x43be37]
./alone64[0x411f90]
./alone64[0x412b2b]
./alone64[0x411bf5]
./alone64[0x411c64]
./alone64[0x411b04]
./alone64[0x411cc9]
./alone64[0x404266]
/lib/libc.so.6(__libc_start_main+0xed)[0x7fb690e9f38d]
./alone64[0x403f39]
Aborted

...I started compiling 32-bit libraries to try the 32-bit version, but it got really crazy and I ended up at lib32-avahi, which wouldn't install because of some conflict (with my 64-bit Avahi, I guess) and I gave up.

summaky says ...
Jan 7, 2012 @ 5:57pm

Very nice graphics! The theme is somewhat lacking for me, though; have a "lonely" in the title or name of the planet is not enough in my book. Sorry.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]