December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

Back to Browse Entries

Volcanox

by leafo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Volcanox: Abandoned alone on a planet, try to find your way out!


Notes
=======

Had some last minute issues with the sound effects on Windows. Seems to work fine on Linux though.

Built using LOVE. If you're not on Windows you must download the game engine in order to play the provided file.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#29Graphics4.00
#35Audio3.46
#129Community3.00
#142Overall3.15
#253Mood2.62
#273Fun2.54
#399Humor1.67
#443Theme2.38
#483Coolness26%
#506Innovation2.00

Comments

JayCFraser says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 1:42pm

I think your fundamental mechanic has two flaws: the rate at which the slimes respawn renders the gun redundant (otherwise it could be a timing challenge), and the random movement of the slimes then makes the game a game of chance. Apart from that, however, this is a very well executed game!

xilefian says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 2:02pm

It was great, nice gameplay, i played it twice which is a good sign, it reminded me of metroid. Hated the respawn rate of the enemies, kill one and another drops on your head.

diux says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 2:25pm

I cannot move to the right, only for the left. This makes the game unplayable =(

leafo says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 8:44pm

Author here, there seems to be a bug in the game for some windows users which prevents movement. Sorry about that.

Gaeel says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 9:25pm

Props to you, Löver ^-^

A good fun shooting flatpormer, enjoyed it.
by the way, you need to do soundsource:rewind() for sounds to play more than the once...

leafo says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 6:44am

Thanks Gaeel. Oddly enough, I do rewind before playing but it didn't fix the issue.

Aaron says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 2:59am

JayCFraser pretty much said my thoughts. Nice work though. :)

Stargoat says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 12:28pm

rate of enemy respawning kind of frustrating - the probably shouldn't respawn at all? I love the graphics, sound and music, but sound seemingly only fires once for each.

Very nice game, anyway, I'd love to see it finished :)

mes says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 5:21am

i really like the music. nice artwork too. i have the same complaint about the respawns. it feels really unfair when the enemy you killed just a second ago respawns right on top of you giving you no chance to avoid it.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 23, 2011 @ 8:29am

There is not point in shooting because the enemies respawn before you can even walk beyond where they were! I just jumped over everyone :P

arkeus says ...
Dec 26, 2011 @ 9:40am

I really like the graphical style and music. And once I learned that I should jump over most the enemies (that are on a lower plane than I), it became really fun. :D

summaky says ...
Dec 27, 2011 @ 8:38pm

The enemies respawn too fast and at the most unfortunate time for me; I always take a hit even if I kill the enemy just for that. The theme is also somewhat lacking (I feel that you are implying that the player is alone in volcanox and so, but I can't *feel* that in the game.) It is a fine platform game.

Randomasta says ...
Jan 7, 2012 @ 10:08am

Does love games required additional library or anything like that? I get graphical glitch on both this game and Felinus.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]