December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

Back to Browse Entries

Solitude-76

by code_glitch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

About the game:
Its the future, the Soviet Union has just been nuked by the USA and they have bombers patrolling the area to thwart the move of dead hand...

However, dead hand will not activate: a single member of the former USSR survives deep under UVB-76: Kernel Kitten!

You must take control of Dead Hands resources and automated assembly machines that survived, build a defense and offense network to erradicate the american threat and take back the world - will you succeed?



Note: the background 'music' is a record sample of UVB-76 itself and the sounds were made with the aid of sfxr/bfxr... enjoy.

Warning: Fans of Wargames - the movie - I know its similar and its not accurate but hey, this is the soviet version. Cut down to fit inside an LD48!

Controls are ecxplained on the startup screen! Screen resolution > 1024x700 will be needed. Good luck - I will be updating the file to easier gameplay due to some bad early feedback saying it can, at times, be 'unwinneable' Oo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#419Innovation2.23
#471Community2.17
#482Audio1.55
#483Coolness26%
#522Graphics2.08
#565Mood1.70
#587Humor1.25
#605Overall2.00
#646Theme1.67
#670Fun1.38

Comments

bitbof says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 12:31am

I think the game is glitching out for me, especially when I try to switch between the different interfaces. This makes it unplayable/it's confusing as hell. :/
I'm running Win7 if that helps.
Screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/e4lLo.jpg

Also I'm not a fan of unstoppable intros each time I start a game.

bach says ...
Dec 24, 2011 @ 8:13am

Unfortunately doesn't work properly :/ Intro is fine and after that it just doesn't do anything on the main screen..

ACodeGerm says ...
Dec 24, 2011 @ 4:41pm

Same problem bach had, except I don't know if the intro was fine for me, I get a count down and all I see is "Is Waiting"

summaky says ...
Dec 24, 2011 @ 5:25pm

I don't know what to do, frankly. I can place the radars and such, but I can't seem to be able to bring the planes down. Also It is impossible to quit the game, it seems, without using the Task Manager...

Dec 25, 2011 @ 6:12pm

what the???
it ran pretty much fine for me, once the intro finished, i placed a radar, and then seeing as i placed it dead over some aircrafts, a missile thing, at which point enemies started shooting, and basically took out both towers in a few seconds, and every new tower i placed also got killed in 2 seconds flat, how are you supposed to complete this exactly???

ned366 says ...
Jan 3, 2012 @ 10:45pm

I enjoyed the intro and really liked your take on the theme! The game ran fine on my computer but i wasn't able to destroy all of the planes. I noticed some small stuff with the keyboard: Sometimes when I'd hit escape I'd have my finger on the key too long and the menu would pop up again. I liked the dead-hand based theme and the retro graphics too!

CaptainFresh says ...
Jan 6, 2012 @ 6:01pm

The audio killed my ears.

code_glitch says ...
Jan 9, 2012 @ 8:43pm

Guys or whom it works: Thank you very much for any attempt at this game... Anyone who had to try my games last LD saw the problems I had with language packs, and cross library voodoo.

For people whom it did not work: I am not a windows developer for my code. The window management system was crafted hours before the competition based on some hacked together SDL code. It may not have worked for you, sorry, but remember: prometheus library is a work in progress and LD is prime proving ground.

For all those whose games I reviewed (could review - no win32 here that can play games. The game binary was compiled on some really low end specs, virtualized on an atom chip...) I was generous ;)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]