Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 22

December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

Back to Browse Entries

Minicraft - Notch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Arrow keys to move, C to attack and X to open the inventory and interact with objects in the world.

The goal of the game is to kill the only other sentient being in the world, making sure you'll be alone forever.

View Notch's journal. | View all entries by Notch

Ratings

#49Community3.46
#82Overall3.35
#94Graphics3.57
#99Fun3.11
#250Audio2.51
#274Coolness45%
#324Humor1.86
#335Mood2.33
#473Innovation2.09
#480Theme2.28

Comments

narutoall76 says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 2:47am

Nice!Hope you win Notch SSSsss!!

Doomworks says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 2:50am

Awesome game for something that was coded in 48 hours well done Notch.

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 3:03am

Interesting game. A little too grindy for my tastes, but I haven't gotten through it all the way (my browser crashed, don't think it was because of the game) so I imagine that it gets faster paced. Not sure how this ties in with the theme as the world seems bustling with life, all of which wants to kill you.

Screem says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 3:04am

Amazing game, Notch!

sirgren says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 3:25am

Great job! I watched you most of the stream. The game looks great.

narutoall76 says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 3:30am

The source wont work without doing it this way:
Go to file then import.Select general and then existing project.hit next and then under select root diconary select minicraft_source.it works :D

Rocknlol says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 4:41am

Really nice job!

worff says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 5:03am

Very good job Notch, it was very interesting to have a look during the development of the game. Thanks!

TheBreadCat says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:15am

Hello i see alot of potentail in this game, im a big fan of you too. I watched bearly your whole stream and learned the game api, so when you where sleeping last sunday, i downloaded your jar file, decompiled it and started modding it. Adding simple features such as creepers and explosives. If i may take over the development content will be fitting the theme(for example: things like guns do not belong in the vanilla game). And i'll keep the game balanced. If you want to contact me you can do it at: @marcoaslak or [email protected](im sorry for the gramma and or spelling, but i was in a hurry :) )

Aslai says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:26am

It's just Minecraft... But mini.
Nonetheless, it was still fairly fun and the graphics are downright incredible for the time spent on them.
This is a great quality game.

TheBreadCat says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:26am

Can't edit on my phone but i meant nearly not bearly.

Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:40am

Great job!

I can't give you many points for Innovation considering it's exactly like Minecraft.

Still, I'm very impressed with how much you got done.

Dec 19, 2011 @ 7:00am

Pretty fun game, nice work!

rogberth says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 8:03am

Nice game. But makes me rage when I die after so much time.

Quimby says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 10:16am

Cool game, definitely one of the better entries I've seen so far.
I think mine is way better though as it has explosions AND lasers, whereas yours does not. :)
I may be a little too exhausted to play this properly at the moment (I wondered off and lost my damn workbench), so I'll reserve filling in the ratings until I have a chance to give it a proper go.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 10:27am

I dig the very consistent art throughout this...
And yeah, it is pretty much just Minecraft, but this is still a really solid little game for 48 hours. I really really love the animation of the hit points and item drops.

Alex Gilday says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 10:54am

Disappointed. I was hoping for something deep and meaningful, not just a silly remake of minecraft. I agree it's quite a nice game, but does it feel lonely? No. Is it particularly fun? Nope. Is it innovative at all? Definitely not. The graphics and audio are pretty nice, but they don't make up for the fact that this is a remake of your previous or that it doesn't seem to fit the theme or have a story at all.

Dec 19, 2011 @ 11:32am

Playing to your strengths. Congratulations on completing the Ludum Dare 48, you're now just as good as I am :)

Dec 19, 2011 @ 12:08pm

Well, that was fun. Nice work for 48h, feels very complete :-)

ncannasse says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 12:13pm

Funny, but doesn't really fit the theme

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 12:24pm

Wow, that is one loud death sound. Overall, not too impressed with this idea. Was hoping for something new, not simply a 2D rehash. Still, technically it's impressive and a job well done.

ben1066 says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 12:56pm

Not really something I'd normally play. Strong to the theme although I find the gameplay somewhat confusing. For example I found what appeared to be a staircase into a mine however I couldn't find a way to enter.

binary_girl says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 1:08pm

good for the time but like some other ppl here i was hoping for something different.. i was watching you at the start when the theme was announced and u seemed to really struggle getting an idea for 'alone'so i guess u just went with what you knew.. like i said good for the time tho :)

Static_boy123 says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 1:15pm

This game is truly amazing.

jagttt says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 1:48pm

I have to say this is really cool. Even it is made in 48 hours, the game is incredibly detailed. The crafting system is fully functional and terrain tiles are well implemented. I could never thought so much can be done in 48 hours. Really decent game, it has all the things you can expect from it.

Zed says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 1:50pm

It's... alright, I suppose? I didn't feel particularly 'alone'. The graphics are nice, but nothing new. The sound is minimal and functional. It sort-of feels like that bit in an RPG where you just kinda grind for a few hours before taking on a boss.

Good for 48 hours, though.

AntiBoomz says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 2:29pm

Great game! Enjoyed it, but hell, when you die suddenly...

RRRRRRAAAAAGGGGGEEEEE >:(

xD 'round 45 mins played, just got to mine some gold... It felt more like 15 mins tho, so I can always start new save when im bored ;) 21460 score =D

Nik says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 2:30pm

A pretty decent game, and the fact that you did it in such a short time amazes us minor developers. It seems a bit unfair how you had the the inspiration of your own game from the beginning of the compo, but there's nothing against it, and you put it together really well. This could be quite the good game if more elements were added to it. Nicely done.

Alex Gilday says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 3:33pm

Seriously guys? 44 ratings? I don't even have 1. Most people have less than 5. Only a select handful have between 5 and 20. But 44? Geez. This competition seems a little biased.

Randomasta says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 3:43pm

^ Well, it's Notch after all

roguewombat says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 3:57pm

Excellent game, Notch, and a lotta fun to watch your codesmithing skills in action. Downloaded the source to see what I can learn... maybe it's time I try my hand at a Java game. : P

sufokmpc says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 4:33pm

this game is great and deserve the first spot.

jurasiks says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 4:50pm

How to get this source code to wotk in Eclipse?
Is source corrupted?

RighRok says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 5:55pm

Notch, it would be awesome if you made this into a full game, modified, with saves, respawns, and a huge adventure!

Taugeshtu says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:06pm

Make it 3d! Oh, wait...

7Soul says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:31pm

Too bad you remade Minecraft, so a low innovation score... but the game was coded with perfection

Atomic says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:37pm

Nicely finished, I love the "machine gun" attack. Crafting *again*? IMHO it has nothing to do with the theme.

noogai03 says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:45pm

Very fun, and considering the time it was made in the art + animations are amazing! I can't get the non-source download to work.

increpare says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:55pm

Technically nice, looks pretty, feels nice to walk around : )

I have low grind-tolerance this week, though - wasn't able to get too far in to it.

wackydude1234 says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 8:56pm

Pretty damn awesome game, sort of similar to minecraft but it ISN'T a remake of it, and to be honest I think people are just jealous of how well this game is made. It is quite hard though xD

Dec 19, 2011 @ 10:06pm

thanks notch ;) this kinda taught me how to embed jar files :D, game's pretty much awesome, but you could basically get everything max level basically before even attacking a single enemy, so perhaps difficulty is slightly lower than your LD21 entry? but then again, i kinda failed, shenanigans with zombies, i really like the graphics style, too ;)

leoniskiwi says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 10:39pm

i love this. i downloaded the file. but when i open the index it does not work. when i click on the .jar it does not work either. idk if im supposed to do something with any of that in order to make it work normally or offline. If someone would like to help me with my dilemma it would be much appreciated.

iPruch says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 10:55pm

Love it! I really enjoyed watching you while coding and seeing the game evolve that fast. It was very inspiring!

GDrag14 says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 1:27am

You guys are really gonna have to explain to me why you think this does not stick to the theme, and why would writing 'Alone' on walls or making cute "forever alone meme" jokes be better. Of the games I tried, very few did not shove the theme down your throat.

You're alone in a world filled with baddies; you need to survive. Pretty simple. Herp derp.

Anyways! Awesome job. Loved watching you code it. :D
It was funny to watch you implement the sounds at the last minute. Absolutely impressive, for 48 hours.

Oh, also: my software engineering professor talked about your stream! Epic.

Dec 20, 2011 @ 3:54am

Well programmed as usual, but not very interesting and didn't exactly innovate or follow the theme beyond the fact that you're alone against hordes of zombies.

magnolia_fan says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 5:20am

The theme "alone" can either make you think outside the box and come up with a very cool concept, or go after the most generic single-player experience. So, in a way, any single player game is related to "alone" in one way or another. That's clear.

But why not make something original instead of making a game that is "similar" to your "other" game and conveniently named it exactly the same save for a single character?

Now those defending the game and stating it deserves the first spot have to wonder if they are defending the game because of the game's own merits, or because Notch made it... Just because he made this game doesn't automatically mean this game is the best to come out of ludum dare 22...

If this game was made by 'randomguy' we wouldn't even be having this conversation because you wouldn't care if it follows the theme...

Zonta says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 6:09am

YAY i won XD. Nice Game Notch i hope you win. Thanks for sharing this

Diventurer says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 6:38am

"Press C to lose." made my day xD

galman says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 12:31pm

One Word: Notch!
I love too much this notch style!
AMAZING!!!!

Jawdropgames says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 3:54pm

Too much like minecraft for my liking I was hoping for something original, however its still impressive what you did

Mysticales says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 4:11pm

Nice job. It is indeed like Minecraft. I would say take out that, and make it more an open world rpg for fun with that zelda feel is good. However, I wont complain, Its still awesome and when I saw you coding it live, I knew I HAD to play it!

Bezza says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 4:14pm

Very complete and well-made for a 48 hour game. The live stream was fun to watch too.

midlight97 says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 5:23pm

i played for like a hour and my dad made me get off his comp! why u no save, lol! never the less amazing game as usual.
PS:just so u know, you have made a profound impact on so many people including myself, I really believe you are a amazing individual and I have so much thanks for you [:.

jof220 says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 7:40pm

Great game, but not lonely at all.

7Soul says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 9:16pm

btw theres already a game called minicraft

cadin says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 9:55pm

Impressive accomplishment for just 48 hours. I don't find the game particularly fun or compelling though. It kind of feels like work.
The graphics are great though.

Andrew says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 10:44pm

The fists would sometimes bug out and stop working. Death would be the usual consequence.

Quintinity says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 12:31am

Nice! :)

ladron says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 4:18am

When I click on the web link, I just get a black screen. The downloaded .jar crashes. Other java stuff works fine for me, so I'm not sure what is up.

demonpants says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 4:37am

Well, it's good, but not amazing. I got bored with it after a few minutes because I felt like it wasn't clear what I should be doing. I continued running around and killing things etc. but wasn't really getting anywhere and had no idea where the wizard chap was. So I just eventually quit out of boredom. Lots to like here, though.

lordvashi says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 6:19am

Good Job. Alot more done than i got :( I wished that you didnt get ambushed as much the second you go down stairs. I lost a few playthroughs like this after alot of grinding. Its a shame i can't seem to beat it. :(

felixl says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 1:57pm

Focus doesn't work for me, even when I click, the applet asks me to "click to focus".

EstebanLB says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 2:19pm

A bit jealous of Terraria maybe? Acorns, slime gel torches?

shubshub says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 8:00pm

nice

rawbits says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 9:17pm

Terraria - the other dimension :)

Nice, but I was hoping for something original. And there are stuff that is not good to anything ex. lantens.

I played it some hours and died only once, but I can't find iron or gold. And I don't know how to gt in to the stairs surrounded by something I have 0 hit point on with everything I have... :(

rab236 says ...
Dec 21, 2011 @ 11:26pm

I found this incredible unimaginative. It's basically an orthographic version of Minecraft with fewer features.

Dec 22, 2011 @ 12:13am

This game is AMAZING. I like it a lot better than that other game you did (Minecraft).

F33N1X says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 2:19am

Hey rawbits, did you try crafting a pickaxe or an axe?

Dec 22, 2011 @ 2:37am

Not bad at all. Don't worry about the "unoriginal" naysayers. Being totally innovative under such insane time limits is a very rare trait, especially with "make Minecraft again" echoing beside your live feed every 2 seconds. Nice effort!

shubshub says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 6:58am

One of the Best Games Compared to Minecraft I think you should continue updating it Guys comment about it so he sees

Dec 22, 2011 @ 1:43pm

Well, it's a very competent minecraft demake, sure. It really needs something more/different to work. It all feels kinda flat though; why bother with minicraft when minecraft exists?

ah2190 says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 3:30pm

Well, Minecraft did take over a year to make, so boiling it down to the basic elements and doing it all in just 48 hours is a task in itself. Besides, he DID say that this would be compared to Minecraft in an earlier post...

Dec 23, 2011 @ 3:56am

The ability to save would have made this game better but the game has a solid core gameplay. Great job!

Snuffypot11 says ...
Dec 23, 2011 @ 3:58am

Come and try out my entry:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-22/?action=preview&uid=7276

handuel says ...
Dec 23, 2011 @ 11:59am

Everyone is going on about how "it doesn't fit to the theme"
read his twitter, the idea is that you kill the only SENTIENT BEING apart from you,(the air wizard) so you can be ALONE for ever.

jellonator says ...
Dec 23, 2011 @ 9:53pm

needs saving function. i hate having to retry D:

dixlexxik says ...
Dec 24, 2011 @ 5:46am

This game should be ported to Mobile devices

DiEvAl says ...
Dec 24, 2011 @ 11:00am

When I try to run it from eclipse, I get this error:

Exception in thread "Thread-4" java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: input == null!
at javax.imageio.ImageIO.read(Unknown Source)
at com.mojang.ld22.Game.init(Game.java:118)
at com.mojang.ld22.Game.run(Game.java:136)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

http://i.imgur.com/HTFrq.jpg

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 24, 2011 @ 12:33pm

I think Notch should enter every Ludum Dare with a Minecraft clone just to piss everyone off.

AyCe says ...
Dec 24, 2011 @ 4:28pm

DivAL, I didn't try it, but it's probably because you have to add the res folder as a resource folder in project settings :)

gamerman1352 says ...
Dec 25, 2011 @ 1:56am

I love this game! The only thing is I wish you could save.

summaky says ...
Dec 25, 2011 @ 2:00pm

The game play is solid, but overall the game is not very innovative nor fun.

mibzzer15 says ...
Dec 26, 2011 @ 2:10am

DiEvAl ---

File structure must look like this -->

http://test.cheatfusd.com/minicraft-eclipse.png

btw, i am hosting my own "version" of it at http://test.cheatfusd.com/

MidnightOz says ...
Dec 26, 2011 @ 12:07pm

Doesn't fit the theme, I'm dissapointed

wasabi says ...
Dec 26, 2011 @ 6:14pm

Doesn't work.

Sniperz38 says ...
Dec 27, 2011 @ 8:53am

Hope Notch will win :)

BigDaddyXD says ...
Dec 28, 2011 @ 6:34am

Can't play he game, i get an error:

Ausnahme: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: com.mojang.ld22.GameApplet
Laden: Klasse com.mojang.ld22.GameApplet nicht gefunden
java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: com.mojang.ld22.GameApplet
at sun.plugin2.applet.Applet2ClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.loadClass0(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.loadCode(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2Manager.createApplet(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2Manager$AppletExecutionRunnable.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
Ausnahme: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: com.mojang.ld22.GameApplet

Suese says ...
Dec 28, 2011 @ 3:09pm

I liked the game and it was nice and complete but I couldn't help but think it wasn't really in-theme.

shard123 says ...
Dec 28, 2011 @ 3:47pm

Totally amazing as always notch!

Winterblood says ...
Dec 29, 2011 @ 12:28am

Very polished, but disappointingly derivative :(

4sgcodeboy says ...
Dec 29, 2011 @ 4:37pm

This game is obviously awesome!!! Notch is Java god.

reticle2020 says ...
Dec 29, 2011 @ 6:29pm

So much awesome!

Static_boy123 says ...
Dec 30, 2011 @ 12:06am

I am currently modding this heavily. I have added in a quit button(escape), a sprint button(shift), and I am currently adding a new type of slime!

whilefun says ...
Dec 31, 2011 @ 7:48pm

very fun game to play, but I really wish I could respawn...bawwww. I just got into my first cave, and needed more slimes. Went hunting for slimes, and found zombies. Too many, and no apples = death. heh. Good fun!

jeffz says ...
Jan 2, 2012 @ 11:53am

would have liked to see something more original and true to the theme

mildmojo says ...
Jan 3, 2012 @ 3:04pm

I grew wheat, I baked bread, I swam in the ocean, I crafted tons of weapons, I dug holes, I found a staircase surrounded by impenetrable rock... and that was all I could do. Quite nice implementation, but I wanted it to have a goal or an ending or an indication of progress.

mrfrankism says ...
Jan 4, 2012 @ 2:09am

the game applet is not found error is pissing me off how do i fix because i can play it in my browser but not when i download it fixxxxx please ill throw in the error log if you need it

mildmojo says ...
Jan 5, 2012 @ 6:30pm

Okay, I gave it another shot. Turns out the staircase I found in the first game is the one up to the sky for the final battle, and I just never discovered a staircase down. The object is to progressively go down to the third (?) sublevel and mine enough gemstone to forge a gem pick to crack the stone around the sky stairs so you can battle the air wizard, I think.

I played the god mode mod to see how the game progresses, and I can't imagine spending the time to collect all the sand and iron and wood to build enough lanterns to find both staircases to get to all three sublevels to mine enough gems to get to the end.

Godmode mod: http://justawesome.webs.com/index.html

RedPanda91 says ...
Jan 6, 2012 @ 5:37am

Ohhh someone please adapt this for the nintendo DSI/3DS E-Shop, i will love you forever!!!! BTW AWESOME game Notch!!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Jan 8, 2012 @ 9:29am

If you had made this during the NES era, ........

Anyways, charming art style, though it feels as if "something" is missing from gameplay.

sirGustav says ...
Jan 9, 2012 @ 10:39pm

java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: com.mojang.ld22.GameApplet
at sun.plugin2.applet.Applet2ClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.loadClass0(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.loadCode(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2Manager.createApplet(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2Manager$AppletExecutionRunnable.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

Cleggy says ...
Jan 10, 2012 @ 4:32pm

I'm surprised Notch didn't get into the top ten in the community category (he made a livestream (which cost A LOT)) and essentially gave the competition a lot of publicity.

Jan 10, 2012 @ 11:40pm

when I try to play its just a empty screen do you know what i gatta do?

Kastuk says ...
Jan 13, 2012 @ 11:30pm

Shovel make safety trenches! This is great for sneaking in caves... But iron veins is evil dungeon cactus...

You must sign in to comment.

[cache: storing page]