December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

Back to Browse Entries

In the Ruins of R'lyeh

by jfroco - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Find all the pages of Necronomicon.

You can't move the Great Old One, but you can rotate the world around him,

Rotate the scene using left and right keys. Press R to reload level, ESC to go to menu. Avoid sacred signs.

Made in: Lua + Love2D
Editor: Notepad ++
Music: Chordpulse + Mixcraft
Audio: human voice + Audacity + Mixcraft
Graphics: Paint.net + Gimp
Levels: Tiled Map Editor

Regarding the theme. When I think of "Alone" + Video games and inmediately think about "Alone in the Dark" (the original one not the new one), an incredible horror video game. Alone in the Dark is based in HP Lovecraft's mythos so I decided to make a video game about Cthulhu (One of the most important gods of the mythos) who is trapped in the ruins of the underwater city of R'lyeh. I can't imagine someone more alone :)

Dec 22nd: replaced executables with new ones created using L��VE automatic distribution script by mes (twitter: @iliveforrevenge) http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2011/12/21/love-automatic-distribution-script/

For Linux please install LOVE2D first.

No newgame features added, of course. but to be brutally honest I corrected a small bug that didn't let you finish the game - altought I don't see anybody trying ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#68Audio3.28
#82Mood3.35
#154Innovation3.00
#186Overall3.00
#207Community2.82
#291Graphics2.78
#299Humor1.92
#312Fun2.44
#334Theme2.67

Comments

FredericRP says ...
Dec 20, 2011 @ 10:34pm

Very nice game ! Well balanced (I didn't make it to the end, but I'm tired so that gives no hint)

jfroco says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 11:31am

@FredericRP thank you for your feedback

gebe says ...
Dec 22, 2011 @ 10:02pm

I liked this one a lot! I enjoyed the labyrinth kind of game play and actually found myself hooked enough to finish this game, something that rarely happens in these circles. The only drawbacks being the somewhat monotone music and the lack of more levels ;)

jeffz says ...
Dec 23, 2011 @ 3:39am

bit of a strain on my eyes to play, otherwise quite inventive!

dr_soda says ...
Dec 27, 2011 @ 2:13am

Your spinning the world mechanic fits nicely with the lovecraftian theme you have for the game. I am particularly impressed with the quality of the music track, but I feel like something without vocals and without an identifiable rhythm or harmony might have better served the setting... maybe something with shifting time signatures?

I did not finish either, but I did quite enjoy the game regardless.

kumber says ...
Dec 27, 2011 @ 4:03pm

of all the games I have played so far, yours is the first that made ​​me want to play again until the end. That is: yesterday I played some levels, got stuck, and closed. And today I found myself thinking how to get past that though level, so reopened and finished. Well done!

summaky says ...
Dec 27, 2011 @ 8:33pm

All I see on my computer is a grey window and I can barely see something behind which resembles a laberinth or something, but I can't see where I can go. The music and the sound effects give a great atmosphere, though.

jfroco says ...
Jan 2, 2012 @ 3:02am

Thank you all for your valuable feedback

@gebe yes.. after a while the music turns monotone. I wanted to have different songs for levels, but I couldn't make it on time ;) It's great to know that you finish it. Thank you

@jeffz thank you.

@dr_soda yeah... I added the vocals at the end, because it sounded a little empty... but it's a great idea the time shifting. Thank you.

@kumber thank you, yours is the best comment a game designer/programmer can receive

@summaky.. yes, after releasing it and tried in a different computer it seems to be too grey for playing in some monitores/computers... thank you

AyCe says ...
Jan 5, 2012 @ 1:17pm

Good game! The idea was well as the mood were nicely done! :D

callidus says ...
Jan 7, 2012 @ 2:45pm

nicley done, the graphics and music build up the mood well. Gameplay is fun as well

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Jan 7, 2012 @ 2:59pm

Interesting idea!

Jan 9, 2012 @ 10:00am

This seems well made, with decent graphics and audio. I just don't think it's that fun, sorry. It was frustrating to try to bounce the boulders off the walls and I quit.

Still, good job making a game in 2 days!

Jan 9, 2012 @ 10:18am

I like the game. However it is frustrating at times, because it is extremely hard to see everything and because I could not really figure out how and when the boulders move, which stopped me in the fourth level or so. But I liked the mood you created and think the mechanic makes for an interesting game.

demonpants says ...
Jan 9, 2012 @ 11:12pm

This was pretty good, but I felt the unique control scheme actually got in the way. It was basically Sokoban with a weird sort of gravity movement that often caused me to overshoot hallways and the like and kept me from doing what I actually wanted to. I found myself wishing the controls were just normal.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]