December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Adventurer

by Cosmologicon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Requires an HTML5-capable browser. Tested on Firefox and Chrome. Chrome is preferred, it gives better performance and the music loops correctly. The game is designed to be playable even at low framerates, it just might not look as smooth.

This is a game about losing your companions. It's an action RPG with the twist being that you start with a party of five and lose one member at a time until the final quest when you're alone.

You mostly play with the mouse, but use SPACE to cast a spell, and a couple other keys come in handy. There are no in-game instructions, so please read the controls listed on the webpage. If you get stuck, check out the tips.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#36Fun3.43
#59Overall3.48
#80Innovation3.33
#132Audio2.95
#183Graphics3.14
#210Humor2.26
#303Community2.57
#392Mood2.21
#525Theme2.14

Comments

Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:25am

Good job! Sort of like Battlehearts.. I like your cute bouncing head guys.

I have some weird framerate stalls in Firefox, not sure what that's about.

I just made my guys roam around in a pack rather than trying to manage them individually. Then it was kind of frustrating trying to click on them. So that didn't work out too well.

It was frustrating trying to pick up the little orbs.

Not sure how well it fits the theme... I read the comments on your web page and I like that you went for mechanics rather than plot, unfortunately you aren't really "alone" for most of the game so it still doesn't seem to fit for me.

Still, not bad for 2 days :)

Cosmologicon says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 1:35pm

You can press TAB to select one character at a time. Also sometimes pressing LEFT or RIGHT will make it easier to click on what you want to. Thanks for the detailed feedback, and thanks for playing!

deepnight says ...
Dec 19, 2011 @ 3:03pm

Great idea, the progression is nice too. The controls are really awkward though : they would really require more polish, maybe by adding a visual feedback to target (rollovers)

Dec 20, 2011 @ 11:08pm

This game was good fun! I enjoyed the art style how everything moved. I didn't really find the rotating arena useful; I just kept in the default view. It didn't really seem like you were alone for most of the game since you only play the final level solo. But the story behind why your friends left was good, I would have kept it in there even if it is depressing. I had fun playing the game all the way through.

ziomorti says ...
Dec 23, 2011 @ 11:32pm

The game is pretty solid and fresh. I think that you "forced" a bit the theme. Still, great work! (and bonus point for using HTML5)

cards says ...
Dec 29, 2011 @ 11:56pm

Impressive game, it seems quite well thought out.

The visuals and audio worked well together, and set a good mood for the gameplay, which unfortunately didn't really fit the 'Alone' theme. I get the idea, but it just didn't seem 'Alone'.

The gameplay itself was fun, even if a bit tough. I love the ability to rotate the screen, it adds a neat effect while not really changing the way it plays.

Overall, well done. One of my favourites so far.

mildmojo says ...
Jan 4, 2012 @ 11:02pm

Very nice! Definitely gave me that "one more play" feeling, especially on the jelly cube massacre stage. You got a lot of mileage out of the sprite x/y squishing animation--I'll have to "borrow" that technique at some point. =)

Highlighting characters was tricky. I think I would've skipped the isometric circle in favor of a player-facing rectangular lasso. In particular, the circle grew strangely if you started it near the bottom of the screen.

My frenetic clicks to move the party out of harm's way were often interpreted as drags, deselecting the whole group just in time to get nailed by an enemy. I'd suggest increasing the minimum drag distance to start a new lasso, or leave the current highlighting intact until a new lasso touches the first character. Whatever RTS games usually do.

The shadows were immensely helpful in figuring out where a sprite was in relation to the party, but I think the mana/hp/xp balls should have bigger hitboxes or lie on the ground. Sometimes a ball would pass through my entire party even though the sprites touched.

On the whole, this is a great HTML5 example. Congrats for designing & cobbling it together so quickly.

Make A Game says ...
Jan 5, 2012 @ 4:42am

All the animations feel very smooth and I played in Firefox! There is the cute appeal, fitting music. If I had to describe this game in one word it would be cheerful!
The game itself is very complete for a 48hour job, my only complaint was that the theme seemed a little forced. Anyways good job! This game makes me really look forward to play your future entries in LD!

Shigor says ...
Jan 6, 2012 @ 3:56am

Doesn't work (for some strange reason) at all in Chrome (canvas will never fire up) - runs in firefox, but sometime during the second level all texts stopped showing - including buttons in leveling up after second level.

Controls could use some work (I often deselected my char when I tried to move him a bit away), hunting blobs of xp/hp/mp was more annoying then fun in the end.

Very good job, I think it would fit in my "top of ludum dare 22"

Pierrec says ...
Jan 6, 2012 @ 10:45am

It's pretty good (even if it's sometimes a little buggy) I hated loosing my companions, and I think that's why the game is good. Nice graphics, nice music but it stopped after a while I don't know why.
Didn't work on Firefox, worked on Chrome.

tcstyle says ...
Jan 7, 2012 @ 7:59am

I really like this one. Very unique look and feel and the game mechanics work well. This concept could grow into a great combat system for a party based rpg.

Kelly Thomas says ...
Jan 9, 2012 @ 5:07am

Great art style!
I like the selection circle rather than rectangle.

It crashed chrome (twice) when I started using magic so I couldn't see any features past the early game.

Cosmologicon says ...
Jan 9, 2012 @ 3:20pm

If it's not too much trouble, would anyone who sees obvious bugs or crashes post their browser version and OS? Thanks!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]